A Street: A Street was designated as mill housing for one of the Nashua mills.
Abbott Street: Abbott Street was named after Daniel Abbott, who moved to the upper community of Dunstable in 1802. He was a Harvard graduate and opened up a law practice in the area. After he became a civic leader, Abbott proceeded to rename Dunstable as “Nashua Village” during a speech on July 4, 1803. He is often regarded as the “Father of Nashua.”
Aberdeen Lane: Aberdeen Lane was named after the city Aberdeen in northeastern Scotland, on the North Sea. It is Scotland's third largest city. Aberdeen is a major fishing port and granite-quarrying center. It is also the financial and administrative center for Britain's North Sea oil industry. Aberdeen became a royal burgh in 1176 and was a leading port for trade with England and the Low Countries as early as the 14th cent. The English burned the town in 1336. It was a stronghold of royalist and Episcopal sentiment in the religious wars of the 17th cent. Aberdeen is noted for its granite Cathedral of St. Machar. The Univ. of Aberdeen includes King's College (founded 1493) and Marischal College (founded 1593).
Academy Drive: Located in the college district in North Nashua, Academy Drive was named because of its close proximity to the school streets.
Acacia Street: Acacia Street, located in the tree street district is named for Acacia, a spiny tree or shrub of the genus Acacia. It is a member of the pea family foreign to the United States.
Adams Street: Sherman Adams, for whom Adams Street is named, was the governor of New Hampshire in the 1940s. After graduating from Dartmouth College, he became a major political figure, mainly because of his support for President Dwight D. Eisenhower. He was a progressive governor, evidenced when he pressed for conservation of the state’s woodlands. Adams is also known for reorganizing much of New Hampshire’s state government.
Aetna Court: Aetna Court was named after Aetna Incorporated. The company is a provider of health insurance and related benefits to various customers in the United States and one of their locations is in Nashua.
Airport Road: Airport Road is a small street located in North Nashua that leads into Boire Field Airport, which has been in operation for about 67 years. The area known as Nashua Municipal Airport and Boire Field is located west of the city of Nashua in Hillsborough County, New Hampshire and the total acreage within the boundaries of the airport study area is approximately 355 acres. The airport is roughly bounded on the north by the Boston and Maine railroad track, east by Charron Avenue, south by Pine Hill Road, University Drive and Perimeter Road and northwest by Deerwood Drive. The airport is southwest of Route 101A, the historic east-west route through the region, and west of the F.E. Everett Turnpike and the Merrimack River. Historically, the area was used for farming and historic photographs show that the area was predominantly open grazing land. The airport property is on sandy soil, with a scrub pine growth undesirable for farming, which may have contributed to the decision to locate the airport in the area.
Alder Drive: This street is named after any of the various deciduous shrubs or trees of the Alnus, native chiefly to northern temperate regions and having alternate simple toothed leaves and tiny fruits in woody, cone-like catkins.
Aldgate Drive: This street is named after Aldgate, a gateway through London Wall from the City of London to Whitechapel and the East End.
Algonquin Lane: One of the Indian tribe streets, Algonquin Lane, is named for the Algonquin Tribe, which includes such natives as the Souhegans, Penacooks, and Abenaki. Algonquin Lane is in North Nashua, next to Lincoln Park.
Alice Drive: This street was named after Nashua’s first elected female Alderman, Alice Dube (1969).
Allds Street: Allds Street is named after Miss Allds’ house, which was located on the street before it was torn down in 1816.
Alpine Street: Alpine Street was named for the Alps and/or their inhabitants. The Alps are a mountain system of south-central Europe, about 805 km (500 mi) long and 161 km (100 mi) wide, curving in an arc from the Riviera on the Mediterranean Sea through northern Italy and southeast France, Switzerland, southern Germany, and Austria and into the northwest part of the Balkan Peninsula. The highest peak is Mont Blanc, 4,810.2 m (15,771 ft), on the French-Italian border.
Alstead Street: Alstead Street was named for a New Hampshire town. Alstead is a town located in Cheshire County, New Hampshire. As of the 2000 census, the town had a total population of 1,944.
Amalia Drive: Amalia Steet is one of many name streets. The name is of Latin origin with the meaning of “hardworking”.
Amble Road: The developer for Amble Road liked the name and its definition, which fit with a general theme. The word amble means a short, leisurely stroll and relates to the curvy road.
Amherst Park/Terrace/Street These three streets were named after Lord Jeffrey Amherst, commander-in-chief of the colonials during the French and Indian War. The town of Amherst, NH was also bears his name. Many large farms operated off of Amherst St. in the 18th and 19th centuries because Dunstable was once a farming community. Amherst St. is also the location of the Greeley house.
Amory Street: Amory Street was named after Amory, Mississippi, a city of about 7,000 people in Monroe County, Mississippi. Amory is the first planned city in Mississippi. The Kansas City, Memphis & Birmingham Railroad needed a mid-point between Memphis, Tennessee and Birmingham, Alabama for their locomotives, and they laid out the new town of Amory in 1887. People from nearby Cotton Gin Port on the Tombigbee River abandoned their town and moved to Amory.
Anders Lane: Anders Lane is one of the many name streets. The name is Scandinavian, the equivalent of Greek , "manly".
Andover Down: Andover Down is named for Andover Down in Hampshire, England. The terrain of Hampshire is undulating and is crossed by two chalk downs, rising in places to more than 800 ft (244 m). The principal rivers are the Test, the Itchen, and the Avon. Hampshire is an agricultural county, devoted to corn production and dairy farming. Market gardening is also significant. There is oil refining at Fawley and aircraft engineering at Farnborough. Gosport, Southampton, and Portsmouth are three of Britain's leading ports. Evidence of prehistoric and Roman settlement is found in the county. Hampshire was once part of the Anglo-Saxon kingdom of Wessex and has numerous historical and literary associations.
Antrim Street: Antrim Street was named for the Antrim Borough in Northern Ireland. It is an area of Ireland that many Irish immigrants came from before settling in Nashua.
Anvil Drive: Anvil Drive is named for an anvil, a manufacturing tool consisting of a hard and massive block of stone or metal used as a support for hammering or chiseling other objects. Anvils have been used since late Neolithic times by smiths of all kinds for metal work, although the tool was also used in much earlier epochs for stone and flint work.
Apache Road: Apache Road is part of the Indian Street district and is located in North Nashua next to Indian Rock Road. The Apache are a Native American people inhabiting the southwest United States and northern Mexico. Various Apache tribes offered strong resistance to encroachment on their territory in the latter half of the 19th century. Present-day Apache populations are located in Arizona, New Mexico, and Oklahoma.
Appaloosa Place: Appaloosa Place is in the Horse street district and was named after the Appaloosa horses. The Appaloosa horse are a breed of light horse developed in the United States by the Nez Percé of Idaho from a horse that originated in Asia and was popular in Europe during the Middle Ages. Lewis and Clark found the breed in the possession of the Nez Percé in 1805. The Appaloosa is characterized by a spotted pattern of markings; it most commonly has solid-colored foreparts and small, dark, round or oval spots over the loin and hips. Famed for its intelligence, speed, stamina, and endurance, it is an outstanding stock and show horse of great popularity.
Apple Tree Green: Apple Tree Green includes the Sky Meadow Country Club and runs along the Apple Tree Green on Sky Meadow’s 18-hole championship golf course. Apple trees are nearby the course and it was named for the many orchards in and around the Nashua area.
April Drive: April Drive was named after the month of April and is also located next to the other month streets of March and June. The name is derived from the Latin aprilis, either from the Latin word aperire which means "to open", probably referring to growing plants in spring, or from the Etruscan name Apru for Aphrodite. April is often associated with the end to winter.
Archery Lane: This street was named after the sport of archery which involves shooting with a bow and arrow. This was an important military and hunting skill before the introduction of gunpowder. England's Charles II fostered archery as sport, establishing in 1673 the world's oldest continuous archery tournament, the Ancient Scorton Arrow Contest. Clubs mushroomed throughout Europe from the late 17th cent. A revived interest in the United States led to the formation of the National Archery Association in 1879. Though field archery (using bows without sights), flight shooting (for distance), and crossbow are competitive sports, the primary international contests involve target shooting, the object of which is to score points with a specified number of arrows aimed at the target's center—a “pinhole” dot surrounded by nine concentric colored circles. The value of hits decreases from the pinhole to the outermost circle. Although archery competitions were occasional Olympic events until 1920, they took an official place on the program only in 1972. The Fédération Internationale de Tir à l'Arc (FITA; est. 1930) governs international competition. In recent decades, the bow and arrow has also regained popularity as a hunting weapon.
Arrow Lane: Arrow Lane is named after arrows which are missiles having straight thin shafts with a pointed heads at one end and often flight-stabilizing vanes at the other. They are meant to be shot from a bow.
Arthurs Lane: Arthurs Lane was named after the grandfather of the developer contracted to create a small development of three cul-de-sacs.
Ascot Park: This street is named after Ascot, a town in Windsor and Maidenhead, South central England. The famous horse races instituted by Queen Anne in 1711 are held annually in June on Ascot Heath. Ascot remains an important social and fashion event, attended by the royal family.
Ash Street/Court: Ash Street and Ash Court are located in the tree street development in downtown Nashua and were named after the abundance of Ash trees that were found in and around the Nashua Area. The ashes are usually medium to large trees, mostly deciduous though a few subtropical species are evergreen. The leaves are opposite (rarely in whorls of three), and mostly pinnately-compound, simple in a few species.
Ashby Circle: Ashby Circle was named for a Massachusetts town located in Middlesex County, Massachusetts. As of the 2000 census, the town of Ashby had a total population of 2,845. Ashby was first settled in 1676 and was officially incorporated in 1767.
Ashland Street: Ashland Street was named for a New Hampshire town located in Grafton County, New Hampshire. As of the 2000 census, the town of Ashland had a total population of 1,955.
Aspen Court: Aspen Court was one of the tree streets in Nashua that is not downtown. Aspens are trees of the willow family and comprise a section of the poplar genus Populus sect. Populus. There are six species in the section, one of them atypical, and one hybrid. The five typical aspens are all native to cold regions with cool summers, in the far north of the Northern Hemisphere, extending south only at high altitudes in mountains. The White Poplar by contrast is native to much warmer regions, with hot, dry summers. They are all medium-sized deciduous trees reaching 15-25 m tall, exceptionally to 30 m.
Aster Court: Aster court is located in the flower district in Nashua. The Aster genus is most valuable for its well known and numerous cultivated ornamentals such as asters, daisies, chrysanthemums, marigolds, and zinnias.
Located in North Nashua on the border of Hollis, this street is named
after Aston, a district of Birmingham in England. During the Old
English period, as the population in a village grew then some folk left
to make clearings in forests, woods and heathland and start new
settlements. Aston was one such place. In the Domesday Book of 1086 it
was recorded as Estone, meaning the east farmstead, village, manor or
Atherton Avenue: Atherton Avenue was named for Dr. Ella Blaylock Atherton, Nashua’s most famous female doctor, and her husband, Capt. Henry B. Atherton. They married during the Civil War while Ella was still in medical school and their house stands on nearby Main St. Captain Atherton moved it from Spring St. to Main St. to preserve it.
Auburn Street: Auburn Street was named for Auburn University in Auburn, Alabama. Auburn University opened 1859 as East Alabama Male College, reorganized 1872 as the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Alabama; became coeducational 1892; renamed Alabama Polytechnic Institute 1899, Auburn Univ. 1960. It has technical, engineering, and architectural schools as well as a liberal arts college and a graduate school.
Autumn Glen Circle: Autumn Glen Circle was named after a new development in Nashua off of Conant Road and next to the Maplewood developments. It was named for the beautiful foliage in the fall.
Autumn Leaf Drive: Autumn Leaf Drive was named for the autumn leaves that change many colors in Nashua during the fall. Nashua, as well as New Hampshire, is renowned for its autumn foliage.
Avon Drive: Avon Drive was named for Avon, a former county in Southwest England, bordering the Severn estuary and the Bristol Channel. It was created in 1974 from S Gloucestershire, Bristol, and N Somerset and was dissolved in 1996 into four unitary authorities: South Gloucestershire, Bristol, North Somerset, and Bath and North East Somerset.
Azalea Lane: Azalea Lane is in the flower street development in Nashua and its name comes from the Azalea flower, a moderately poisonous rhododendron. Azaleas are flowering shrubs making up part of the genus Rhododendron. Originally azaleas were classed as a different genus of plant, but now they are recognised as two of the eight sub-genera of rhododendrons - subgenus typified by Rhododendron nudiflorum and subgenus typified by Rhododendron tsutsusi. There are deciduous azaleas, and evergreen azaleas. One of the major differences between azaleas and the rest of the rhododendron family is their size. Another is their flower growth. Rhododendrons grow their flowers in clusters, while most azaleas have terminal blooms (one flower per flower stem). However, they have so many stems that during the flowering season they are a solid mass of colour. Azaleas are recognised by these flowers blooming all at once, in a showy display for a month or two in spring. The exception to this rule is a small group of azaleas which grow their flowers in tight terminal clusters that look like little balls of colour.
Aztec Road: Aztec Road is located in the Indian Tribe street district of North Nashua, next to Lincoln Park. It was named after one the Mexican indigenous tribes. The Aztecs were members of a people of central Mexico whose civilization was at its height at the time of the Spanish conquest in the early 16th century. They arrived in the Valley of Mexico from the north toward the end of the 12th cent. and until the founding of their capital, Tenochtitlán (c.1325) were a poor, nomadic tribe absorbing the culture of nearby states. For the next century they maintained a precarious political autonomy while paying tribute to neighboring tribes, but by alliance, treachery, and conquest during the 15th and early 16th cent. they became a powerful political and cultural group. To the north they established hegemony over the Huastec, to the south over the Mixtec and Zapotec and even ventured as far as Guatemala. Their subjugation of the people of Tlaxcala in the mountains to the east was bloody but only intermittent, and the Tlaxcala people later became allies of the Spanish against the Aztec. Only in the west, where the Tarascan Indians severely defeated them, did the Aztec completely fail to conquer.
B Street: B Street was designated as housing for one of the Nashua mills.
Bailey Street: Bailey Street was named for the Nashuan lawyer William W. Bailey.
Balcom Street: This street was named after the Balcom Ice Company, prominent in Nashua for years. George E. Balcom took sole proprietorship from upon his father’s retirement in 1881. The Balcom Ice Co. and ice house was located on the shores of Sandy Pond but could only hold five thousand tons. He also purchased the plant of A. T. Laton at Tarnic Pond, in 1883, where more ice houses were built to hold fifteen thousand tons.
Baldwin Street: Nashua’s very first mayor, Josephus Baldwin held the mayoral seat from 1853 to 1854. His house was across the street from what is now City Hall.
Baltimore Road: Located in the Tressel Brook development, this street was named for the Baltimore Railway. It was the subject of a poem and is historical.
Bancroft Street: The Bancroft family was prominent in Nashua during the early years. Lt. Timothy Bancroft was born in 1709 and moved to Dunstable in 1730 before purchasing a large farm that was right on the state line of Massachusetts and New Hampshire. After serving in Colonel Tyng’s company in 1754, he earned his rank as a lieutentant. The Willow Spring House, owned by the Bancroft family was torn down before the Pheasant Lane Mall was built.
Bangor Street: This street was named after Bangor, a town (1991 pop. 70,750) in the North Downtown district of east Northern Ireland, on Belfast Lough. It is a seaport, resort, and yachting center (site of an annual regatta), with some light industry. The Elizabethan Bangor Castle is in the town along with the remains of an abbey founded c.555 by St. Comgall and destroyed by the Danes in the 9th cent. Rebuilt in 1120, it was taken over by Franciscans in 1469. The missionary abbey was dissolved in 1542.
Barley Place: Barley Street was named after grains that were once a staple of the region. Barley is a grass in the genus Hordeum, native to temperate regions, having flowers in terminal, often long-awned spikes.
Barnesdale Road: Barnesdale Road is located with streets based on the legend of Robin Hood. It was named for the town that Robin Hood hails from and is also outlawed from in the Tale of Robin Hood.
Barrington Avenue: This street is named for a New Hampshire town located in Strafford County, New Hampshire. As of the 2000 census, the town had a total population of 7,475.
Bartlett Avenue: Bartlett Avenue was named for a New Hampshire lawyer Ichabod Bartlett. He was a leader in the Whig Party and participated in a convention that adopted a new state constitution in 1850.
Batchelder Street: D. H. Batchelder, for whom Batchelder Street was named, was a leader of one of the opposing parties to the Democratic Party in the 1850s.
Bates Drive: One of the streets in the College District in North Nashua is Bates Drive. This street was named after Bates College, at Lewiston, Maine, which is coeducational. It was founded in 1855 as Maine State Seminary and chartered as a college 1864. It was the first Eastern college to admit women students and is the location of the Edmund S. Muskie Archives.
Bridle Path- Bridle Path was named after a bridle, which is the head harness used to guide a horse. Horse barns were commonly found on this street, and the name mirrors the community at the time.
Briggs St- Briggs Field is located in Massachusetts. Massachusetts was a state of the northeast United States. It was admitted as one of the original Thirteen Colonies in 1788. The first European settlement was made by the Pilgrims of the Mayflower in 1620. Governed by the Massachusetts Bay Company from 1629 until 1684, the colony was a leader in the move for independence from Great Britain and the site of the first battles of the Revolutionary War in 1775. Boston is the capital and the largest city.
Brigham St- Brigham Women’s Hospital is located in Massachusetts. The Peter Bent Brigham hospital was established in 1911 before the Boston Hospital for Women was established through a merger of the Boston Lying-in Hospital and the Free Hospital for Women in 1966. The state-of-the-art facility opened its doors in 1980.
Bright Court- Bright Court was named for the best-selling novel Bright Court.
Briley Path- The name for Briley path was chosen by the developer and it was the name of a relative.
Brinton Dr- Brinton Drive was a development area during the building of Nashua. The developer used Brinton, which was the name of one of his relatives, to show that he was a good family man.
Bristol St- The University of Bristol was founded in 1876 as the University College, Bristol. It was the first UK university to admit women on the same basis as men and is one of the largest employers in the area. It is a member of the Russell Group of Universities as well as the Coimbra Group of leading European universities.
Brittany Way- Brittany was the name of a café that once existed in Nashua. Brittany Way was named in its honor.
Broad St- The name Broad Street came from the street’s width. White Mountain Freezer Co. was one famous business which moved onto the street in 1930 before burning down. Broadcrest Lane-This street’s name was chosen by the developer as a combination of the words broad and crest. The street’s width might have inspired the word broad, while crest might represent the top of a hill.
Broadview Ave- This street was named for numerous businesses, such as Broadview Software and Broadview Animal Hospital.
Brook Drive- A brook nearby sparked the name Brook Drive. As they began to build on the street, the developers decided to name it after the brook.
Brookvillage Road- The name Brookvillage came from the brook that once was on this road. The developer, in order to preserve the history, chose this name and added village on the end to represent the building that would be done on the street.
Brook St- Brook Street was named for a small little brook near the street, not unlike Brook Drive.
Brookfield St- The man who founded Brookfield village later moved to Dunstable in 1680, and Brookfield Street bears his name.
Brookside Terrace- Brookside Terrace was named after a house abutting a brook on the street. The house was later torn down.
Bruce St- Bruce Technologies was once located on Amherst Street and the company’s name inspired the developer to name this street. Bruce was probably the first name of the owner of the business or someone related to him.
Brussels Drive- Brussels is the name of a hotel located in Nashua but was probably named for the capital and largest city of Belgium, in the central part of the country. Once the chief town of Brabant, it was made (1530) the capital of the Netherlands under the Hapsburgs. Officially bilingual (Flemish and French), it became capital of Belgium in 1830.
Bryant Road- Bryant is the name of a small park located in Nashua, the inspiration for Bryant Road.
Buchanan St- Buchanan Street was named after one of the presidents, James Buchanan. James Buchanan, the 15th president of the United States (1857-1861), served during the beginning of the secession crisis that led to the Civil War. Of Scotch-Irish descent, he was born on Apr. 23, 1791, in Cove Gap, near Mercersburg, Pa., the son of James Buchanan, a prosperous storekeeper, and his wife, Elizabeth Speer.
Buck St- Buck Street is located in a district with other streets having the same root name, Buck. Wildlife in New Hampshire included deer, moose, and perhaps even bucks. Thus, the name probably came because it was a hunting term.
Bud Way- The Budweiser bottling company was founded on this street in 1972 and as a result, the developers named it Bud Way.
Buker St- Buker Street is named for the Buker Financial Company located in Nashua.
Bulova Drive- This street is named for the watch company once was located in this area. This company still exists today and has become known for its affordable, good quality watches.
Bungalow Ave- A bungalow is a dwelling built in a style developed from that of a form of rural house in India. This style of house has been built in Nashua. The original bungalow typically has one story, few rooms, and a maximum of cross drafts, with high ceilings, unusually large window and door openings, and verandas on all sides to shade the rooms from the intense light and tropical heat. Dwellings of this general type became popular in S California, with numerous differences in plan and materials, and were termed bungalows. The word thus came to be used for a cottage or for any small house with verandas covered by low, wide eaves.
Burgess St- Burgess Street is named for one man who flew a burgess-style airplane built by the Wright Brothers.
Burgundy Drive- Burgundy Drive is named after Burgundy Wine and is located in a district of wine streets. It is any of various red or white wines produced in Burgundy, France, a historical region and former province of eastern France. The Burgundii, a Germanic people, first organized the area into a kingdom in the 5th century A.D. At the height of its later power in the 14th and 15th centuries, Burgundy controlled vast territories in present-day Netherlands, Belgium, and northeast France. Louis XI incorporated it into the French crown lands in 1477.
Burke St- Burke Street is named for Charles Burke who was the mayor of Nashua from 1884-1890.
Burlington Road- Burlington Road is named for Burlington, a town in the nearby area. The town (1990 pop. 23,302) located in Middlesex co., E Mass. is a residential suburb of Boston; settled 1641 and incorporated in 1799. Manufactures include electronic components, precision instruments, and computer and communications software. Its pre-Revolutionary meetinghouse, remodeled, still stands.
Burnett St- Burnett was a former governor of New Hampshire and Massachusetts. This street was named in his honor because of his work. The Burnett family -- or Burnet, as it has been frequently spelled -- is one of the oldest and most honorable in the United States. More than one of its representatives have occupied positions of eminence and usefulness in the history of the country. One of the first of the name who attained distinction was William Burnet, colonial governor of New York and New Jersey from 1720 to 1728, and afterward governor of the Colonies of Massachusetts and New Hampshire. Governor Burnet is the director ancestor of the branch of the family from which General Henry L. Burnett is descended.
Burnham Ave- Lester Burnham was the mayor of Nashua during the centennial year and he oversaw many of the festivities throughout the year. Burnham Avenue pays tribute to his work in making the celebration a success.
Burnham Road- Dave Burnham, for whom Burnham Road is named, came to Nashua to become a reporter.
Burns St- Robert Burns who was born in Nashua, composed two different tunes that are famous in Nashua: Over the Water to Charlie and Auld Lang Syne. He is a Scottish poet considered the major poetic voice of his nation. His lyrics, written in dialect and infused with humor, celebrate love, patriotism, and rustic life.
Burnside St- Burnside Street is located in a sector of Nashua with street names of prominent civil war figures. Burnside became famous for getting lost during the Battle of Bull Run. He saw brief service in the Mexican War and remained in the army until 1853, when he entered business in Rhode Island. In the Civil War, Burnside commanded a brigade at the first battle of Bull Run and was made (Aug., 1861) a brigadier general of volunteers. His expedition to the North Carolina coast (1862), resulting in the capture of Roanoke Island, New Bern, Beaufort, and Fort Macon, won him a major generalcy and much prestige. He commanded under G. B. McClellan in the Antietam campaign and shortly afterward succeeded that general in command of the Army of the Potomac. After a costly defeat at the battle of Fredericksburg (see Fredericksburg, battle of) in Dec., 1862, Burnside asked President Lincoln either to sustain him in dismissing Joseph Hooker and several other generals who opposed his plans, or to remove Burnside himself. Lincoln relieved him in favor of Joseph Hooker. As commander of the Dept. of the Ohio (Mar.–Dec., 1863), he occupied E Tennessee, took Knoxville, and repulsed James Longstreet's attempt to recapture the town. In 1864 he commanded under generals Meade and Grant in Virginia. Held partially responsible for the fiasco at Petersburg, he was relieved. Burnside was elected governor of Rhode Island in 1866 and was reelected in 1867 and 1868. From 1875 to his death he was a U.S. Senator. He originated the fashion of wearing long side whiskers, thus the term burnsides or sideburns.
Burrit St- Burrit Funeral Home is located on Burrit Street, and was the inspiration for the name.
Burton Drive/Street- The Burton Funeral Home provided the inspiration for the names of these streets.
Buswell St- James Oliver Buswell was a famous violinist from Nashua.
Butternut Drive- The Butternut (Juglans cinerea), also occasionally known as the White Walnut, is a species of walnut native to the eastern United States and southeast Canada, from southern Quebec west to Minnesota, south to northern Alabama and southwest to northern Arkansas. It is a deciduous tree growing to 20 m tall, rarely 30 m, and 40-80 cm stem diameter, with light gray bark. The leaves are pinnate, 40-70 cm long, with 11-17 leaflets, each leaflet 5-10 cm long and 3-5 cm broad. The whole leaf is downy-pubescent, and a somewhat brighter, yellower green than many other tree leaves. The flowers are inconspicuous yellow-green catkins produced in spring at the same time as the new leaves appear. The fruit is a nut, produced in bunches of 2-6 together; the nut is oblong-ovoid, 3-6 cm long and 2-4 cm broad, surrounded by a green husk before maturity in mid autumn.
Byfield St- Byfield is a small city in Massachusetts, part of a district in Nashua with nearby city names.
C St- C Street was designated mill housing for the Maine Manufacturing Company, which was once located in the area.
Cabernet Court- Cabernet Court, like Burgundy Street, was given its name because it was located in the wine district. Cabernet Sauvignon is often regarded as the "king" of red wine grapes. It is the primary grape of the great wines of the Bordeaux region and has been cultivated world wide. It is known for its high level of tannins, dense ruby color and medium to full body.
Cabot Drive- Cabot Drive was named after John Cabot, a famous explorer in the “new world” (Newfoundland). By all accounts, Cabot was not English; he was born Giovanni Caboto, probably in Genoa, Italy around 1450. He later moved to Venice and became a naturalized citizen there around 1476, working as a mariner and trader in the eastern Mediterranean. Sometime in the 1490s he ended up in England, where he was given permission from King Henry VII to seek a northern route to Asia across the Atlantic. In 1497 Cabot sailed from Bristol in the Matthew to what is now western Canada. Precisely where he landed is a matter of some controversy, and the possibilities include Newfoundland, Cape Breton Island, Labrador and Nova Scotia. He made a second voyage in 1498, but never returned. Cabot's son, Sebastian, was a famous explorer and cartographer in his own right, and may have accompanied his father on the 1497 voyage.
Cadogan Way- Cadogan Way was named for Cadogan Business Company that once existed in Nashua.
Caitlyn Circle- Caitlyn was a relative of the developer who built the street.
Calais St- Calais Street was named after the Pas-de-Calais area in France. The Pas-de-Calais became famous during World War II when Hitler thought that the Allies would land their forces in the area. This street is also located near Verdun Street, which was named for an area in France where a famous World War I battle was fought.
Calawa St- Leon Calawa was a representative of New Hampshire and this street was named in her honor.
Caldwell Road- Caldwell Vineyard supplied Martha’s Vineyard with some of its best wine.
Calico Circle- Calico was the name for one of the businesses on the street that made this type of cloth. It is a plain weave cotton fabric in one or more colors. Calico, named for Calicut, India, where the fabric originated, was mentioned by historians before the Christian era and praised by early travelers for its fine texture and beautiful colors. Block-printed cottons from Calicut imported into England c.1630 were called calicuts. The name calico was soon applied to all Indian cottons having an equal number of warp and weft threads, then to all plain weave cottons.
California Dr- California is a state in the western United States on the Pacific Ocean. It was admitted as the 31st state in 1850. The area was colonized by the Spanish and formally ceded to the United States by the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo (1848). California is often called the Golden State because of its sunny climate and the discovery of gold during its pioneering days. Sacramento is the capital and Los Angeles the largest city.
Cambridge St/Road- Cambridge Massachusetts, which is one of the neighboring towns of Nashua, was the name given to Cambridge Street. It is a city of eastern Massachusetts on the Charles River opposite Boston. Settled in 1630 as New Towne, it is known for its research and educational facilities, including Harvard University (founded in 1636), the Radcliffe Institute for Higher Learning (formerly Radcliffe College, founded 1879), and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1861).
Cameron Drive- Cameron was a friend of the developer who named the street.
Camp Sergeant Road- Camp Sergeant is a YMCA camp located in Nashua, which inspired the developer to name this street in its honor.
Campanello Street- This street was named for the first black person to break the color barrier in the minor league baseball. It occurred in Nashua the same year that Jackie Robinson did it in the major league.
Canal St- The National Guard Armory was once located on Canal Street. Its name comes from the canal that ran parallel to it.
Candlewood Park- Candlewood was the name for a lake in New Hampshire that was a popular tourist destination.
Candy Lane- Candy Lane was named for the businesses in the area that sold chocolates. Candy is defined as any of a number of various confections--soft and hard-- composed mainly of sugar with the addition of flavoring ingredients and fillings such as chocolate, nuts, peanut butter, nougat, fruits and so on.
Cannon Drive- The developer chose the name for Cannon Drive because of its sound. A cannon is any large tubular firearm designed to fire a heavy projectile over a considerable distance. The term can apply to a modern day rifled machine gun with a calibre of 20 mm or more. Cannon also refers to a large, smooth-bored, muzzle-loading gun used before the advent of breech-loading, rifled guns firing explosive shells. "Cannon" derives from the Latin canna (a tube). Bombard was early used for "cannon", but from the early 15th century came to refer only to the largest weapons. "Cannon" can serve both as the singular and plural of the noun.
Cannongate Road- Cannongate Road was named after a condominium located on the street, Cannongate.
Cape Avenue/Street- These are both named for a variety of house, the cape house, commonly built near water.
Capitol St- Capitol Street, which is near state street, was named for the capitol of New Hampshire, Concord. The state legislature meets in the capitol to discuss certain issues.
Cardiff Road- Cardiff Management Company provided the inspiration for Cardiff Road.
Cardinal Circle/Drive/Lane- Cardinal Circle is part of a district of Nashua with a religious background. In the Christian faith, a cardinal is ….
Carlene Drive- Carlene Drive was in a development area named after the developer’s sister.
Carlisle Road/Drive- Carlisle is a town located in Middlesex County, Massachusetts. As of the 2000 census, the town had a total population of 4,717. Carlisle was first settled in 1650 and was officially incorporated in 1780.
Carmine Road- Carmine was a tailor shop that once existed on this street.
Carolina Drive- A friend named Carolina, who the developer knew, influenced the decision to name this street.
Caron Avenue- Caron Avenue was named after a relative of the developer, whose last name was Santerre.
Carriage Lane- The classic definition of a carriage is a four-wheeled horse-drawn private passenger vehicle with leaf springs (elliptical springs in the 19th century) or leather strapping for suspension, whether light, smart and fast or large and comfortable. Before cars were invented, the carriage provided transportation for residents of Nashua.
Caroll St- Caroll Street was named for a nearby town that failed because of a poor economy.
Carson Circle- The capital of Nevada, Carson City, was the inspiration for the name Carson Circle. Carson is a city located in Los Angeles County, California, United States. As of the 2000 census, the city had a total population of 89,730. The city's economy is based primarily on manufacturing. About half of Carson's land area is occupied by factories, petroleum refineries, and other industrial buildings and structures.
Carter Circle- Carter Circle was named after the Carter Rice Company that was located in Nashua. Edith and Eliot Carter contributed about $1,100,000 to the building of the Nashua library.
Carver St- Jonathan Carver was an American explorer. He served in the French and Indian War and in 1766 was hired by Robert Rogers to undertake a journey to some of the Western tribes. He journeyed to the Mississippi and up that river to a point several days' journey above the present site of Minneapolis. In the spring of 1767 he returned to Prairie du Chien, in what is now Wisconsin, where by Rogers's orders he joined the expedition to search out the “Western Ocean.” When their journey northwestward was prevented by war between the Sioux and Chippewa, they ascended the Chippewa River and crossed to Lake Superior, the coast of which they followed to Grand Portage. Carver went to London in 1769 with the intention of publishing a narrative of his travels and of pressing claims for compensation for his services, for Rogers, having exceeded his authority in employing Carver, could not pay him. After nine years of struggle and poverty, Carver published the first edition of his Travels through the Interior Parts of North America in the Years 1766, 1767, and 1768 (1778). The popularity of this book, the first English account of the upper Great Lakes and Mississippi region, is attested by the 32 editions, or more, through which it passed.
Cassandra Lane- Cassandra Lane was named for a relative of the developer.
Castlegate Way- The developer chose the name for this street based on its sound. The inspiration for it came from castles, which were large fortified buildings or group of buildings with thick walls, usually dominating the surrounding country and a gate, which was often a portcullis on these ancient castles.
Cathedral Circle/Lane- Two other streets located in Nashua, Cathedral Circle and Cathedral Lane, are part of the religious streets in Nashua. A cathedral is the church in which a bishop presides. The designation is not dependent on the size or magnificence of a church edifice, but is entirely a matter of its assignment as the church in which the bishop shall officiate.
Cedar Street- The tree street district in Nashua includes Cedar Street, which was named for the tree belonging to the small genus Cedrus of the family Pinaceae (pine family). All are native to the Old World from the Mediterranean to the Himalayas, although several are cultivated elsewhere as ornamentals, especially the cedar of Lebanon (C. libani), which appears in the Lebanese flag. This tree, native to Asia Minor and North Africa, is famous for the historic groves of the Lebanon Mts., frequently mentioned in the Bible. The wood used in building the Temple and the house of Solomon (1 Kings 5, 6, and 7) may, however, have been that of the deodar cedar (C. deodara), native to the Himalayas. It has fragrant wood, durable and fine grained, and is venerated by the Hindus, who call it Tree of God. The name cedar is used (particularly in North America, where no cedars are native) for other conifers, e.g., the juniper (red cedar), arborvitae (white cedar), and others of the family Cupressaceae (cypress family). Several tropical American trees of the genus Cedrela of the mahogany family are also called cedars. True cedars are classified in the division Pinophyta, class Pinopsida, order Coniferales, family Pinaceae.
Celeste Street- Celeste Street was named for the daughter of David Santerre who owned a large plot of Nashua land in the mid to late 1800’s. He later gave it to his daughter Celeste. The family, which still primarily presides within present-day Nashua, continues to upkeep and still owns the land they acquired years ago.
Celina Avenue – The daughter of the contractor for Celina Avenue named the street in her honor. At one point, she owned part of her father’s Nashua estate. The Smith family, which originally moved to Nashua in the late 1800's, played a large role in the commercial development of the downtown region and owned one of the first convenience stores within that area. Many members of the Smith family continue to reside in Nashua.
Central Street- Central Street was the site of a historic hotel developed by the Nashua Manufacturing Company in 1824 and in 1825. A third story was added to provide more housing for single men working in the mill. In 1831, the Nashua Manufacturing Company renamed Central House and the street was given the name instead. In December 1945, the town bought the land and the hotel was moved in the following spring to the site of the present Laton House.
Century Road- In commemoration of the beginning of the twentieth century, the contractor named it Century Road. Historically, it was a prosperous period for the Nashua region. The New Year parties, which lasted for three over days, brought together bands and other such entertainment in front of the City Hall in part from the preparation of the formation of Nashua, which had occurred in 1903. Other events in the early part of the century include the construction of a city trolley and streetcars.
Chablis Court- This street was positioned in the wine district and was named after the Chablis brand, which originally was a white Burgundy blend from east-central France. This wine, popular on the West Coast, was also a white table wine of California. Other streets in the area include Burgundy Street, Beaujolias, Riesling, and Vineyard.
Chadwick Circle- Chadwick Circle was named for James Chadwick, an English native in the late 1800's, whose contributions to world of physics gained him the Nobel Peace Prize in 1935. After graduating from the Honors School of Physics in 1911, he contributed to the nuclear science efforts during World War I and made a fundamental discovery about neurons within the atomic structure. He also discovered many elements that were used by the military, including Uranium.
Champagne Drive- Another street in the wine district is Champagne Drive, named for the beverage that has become popular worldwide. Champagne, a former historic region and providence of Northeast France, influenced the French who later moved to the Nashua region, which still comprises much of the culture in the city.
Chandler Street- Chandler Street was named for Mabel Chandler, a Nashua worker and resident, who left her home to the city for use as a branch library. Aside from her home, she also donated the majority of her estate so the library could purchase books. This contributed to the Chandler Library's success during its beginning years in the mid 1940's.
Chapel Hill Drive- In the religious district, Chapel Hill Drive exists, along with other streets such as Clergy Street, Divinity Street, and Lutheran Road. Historically, it existed as a region influenced primarily by the Christian faith, but has diminished over time. Today, only one church still exists in the district. Typically, a chapel is smaller and a subordinate to the church.
Chapman Street- Chapman Street is located in a district of named with college based names and was named for Chapman University in California, a college known for its law program. It was founded in 1995 as the only school of law in Orange County on a university campus, and had greatly influenced the development of many Massachusetts-based law institutes.
Charlotte Avenue- One of Nashua's oldest schools was built on Charlotte Avenue. It was built in 1911 and was first used as a primary and middle school. Today, the school still exists and continues to operate.
Charron Avenue – Charron is an area within northern Nashua named after French Philosopher and theologian Pierre Charron (1541-1603) whose literary contributions included the study of human skepticism and ideas of religious existence. He also played a large role in the religious culture of Paris by becoming a priest in the 1560's.
Chase Street- Chase Street was named after Thomas Chase, a popular innkeeper who built the Washington House in 1830. It became a popular hotel and entertainment spot for the citizens of Nashua during the mid 1800's. Mr. Chase sold it to John Gray before he died.
Chatham Street- The name for Chatham Street came from the Cape Cod Town of Chatham, which is alongside other Massachusetts-based street names. As of the 2000 census, the town had a total population of 6,625. Chatham was first settled in 1665 and was officially incorporated in 1712. Chatham is the birthplace of six-time U.S. champion and 1996 world champion figure skater Todd Eldredge, considered by many to be one of the finest male figure skaters ever. While Todd now resides outside of Detroit, Michigan, his family still lives in Chatham.
Chaucer Road – Geoffrey Chaucer (c. 1343 – October 25, 1400) was an English author, poet, philosopher, bureaucrat (courtier), and diplomat. Chaucer is best known as the author of The Canterbury Tales. He is sometimes credited with being the first author to demonstrate the artistic legitimacy of the vernacular English language, rather than French or Latin. Chaucer wrote poetry as a diversion from his job as Comptroller of the Customs for the port of London, and also translated such important works as The Romance of the Rose by Guillaume de Lorris (extended by Jean de Meun), and Boethius' Consolation of Philosophy. However, while many scholars maintain that Chaucer did indeed translate part of the text of The Romance of the Rose, others claim that this has been effectively disproved. He also wrote the Parlement of Foules, the , and Chanticleer and the Fox, the latter based on a story by Marie de France. However, he is best known as the writer of Troilus and Criseyde and of The Canterbury Tales, a collection of stories (told by fictional pilgrims on the road to the cathedral at Canterbury) that would help to shape English literature. In the history of English literature, he is considered the introducer of continental accentual-syllabic metre as an alternative to the alliterative Anglo-Saxon metre. He also helped to standardise the southern accent (London area) of the Middle English language. In 1556 his remains were transferred to a more ornate tomb, making Chaucer the first writer interred in the area now known as Poets' Corner.
Chautauqua Avenue- This street was named after the Chautauqua Indian tribes. It is an Iroquois word, meaning either "two moccasins tied together" or "jumping fish".
Cherokee Avenue – Cherokee Avenue was named for the Cherokee Indians, the largest Native American group in the United States. Formerly the largest and most important tribe in the Southeast, they occupied mountain areas of North and South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, and Tennessee. The Cherokee language belongs to the Iroquoian branch of the Hokan-Siouan linguistic stock. The Cherokee were removed to Indian Territory in the 1830s after conflict with American settlers over rights to traditional lands.
Cherry Hollow Road – In the newly developed Sky Meadow Estates, Cherry Hollow Road was named for the surrounding area covered with Cherry trees. The street was an original name created by the contractor and is the furthest developed point within the school meadowland area.
Cherry Street – Cherry Street was named by the contractor for the abundance of cherry trees. Cherry is the name for several species of trees or shrubs of the genus Prunus (a few are sometimes classed as Padus) of the family Rosaceae (rose family) and for their fruits. The small, round red to black fruits are botanically designated drupes, or stone fruits, as are those of the closely related peach, apricot, and plum. The cherry is one of the most commonly grown home-orchard fruits. About 600 varieties are cultivated, practically all derived from two species—P. avium (sweet cherries) and P. cerasus (sour cherries). Both are believed to be native to Asia Minor and have long been cultivated; they were mentioned in the writings of the ancients. Wild Cherries are grown today in the United States.
Cherryfield Drive- Cherryfield Drive was the historical site of cherry tree farming in the late 1890’s.
Chesapeake Road- British settlers formed the colonial Chesapeake region of Massachusetts in the mid 1600's. This region's influence expanded into southern New Hampshire region and remains of its influence continues to exist.
Cheshire Street – Cheshire Street was named after a former New Hampshire county, which was the largest and most militarily important in the 1750's, during the American Revolutionary War. By 1775, its population numbered about 10,569, 376 of which were in the army. Originally a British name and territory, the street coincides with other streets in this British district of Nashua.
Chester Street- This Massachusetts town was originally named for the city in England. In the 1720s, Dunstable was a frontier town where many Indian colonial attacks occurred. Chester, was part of the region, as were Merrimack, Pelham, and Litchfield. It was the most violent site of Native colonial feuding.
Chestnut Street- Chestnut Street is located in the tree street district. During the late 1800's, John Blunt owned a store on the street, making it the outskirts of trading in Nashua. John Blunt, a former Amherst resident, had moved to Nashua in 1836, hoping that his business would be more profitable.
Cheyenne Drive – Cheyenne Drive is part of a capital development in Nashua. The capital of Wyoming, Cheyenne is in the southeast part of the state near the Nebraska and Colorado borders. It was founded in 1867 as a division point for the Union Pacific Railroad. Its current population is 54,300. It is a market for sheep and cattle ranches and a shipping center with good transportation facilities. Manufactures include dairy, wood, petroleum, and metal products; feeds, lumber, machinery, and construction materials. The city was established after the Union Pacific RR selected the site for a division point in 1867. It was made territorial capital in 1869. In the 1870s the development of cattle ranching and the opening of the Black Hills gold fields stimulated the city's growth. Cheyenne revives its past annually with a Frontier Days celebration, first held in 1897. Landmarks include the state capitol and the supreme court building, which houses the state historical museum and library. Nearby is Francis E. Warren Air Force Base.
Chinook Drive – Chinook Drive was named for the Chinook tribes, North American Indians who sold canoes, shells, and slaves to settlers. During the Lewis and Clark expeditions, they were the first documented people on the expedition. This street follows a Native America theme that is the basis of about ten other Nashua names.
Church Street- Located in the religious district of Nashua, Church Street was the site of one of the first churches in Nashua. The church, in Christianity, is a community of believers, gathering to worship Christ.
Churchill Street- Winston Churchill was the British prime minister who was often recognized as the "greatest statesman" of the 20th century. As prime minister (1940–1945 and 1951–1955) he led Great Britain through World War II. Churchill published several works, including The Second World War (1948–1953), and won the 1953 Nobel Prize for literature. This street is located with others in the British section of town.
Cider Street –Nashua Manufacturing Company named Cider Street in 1935 to commemorate this area, which was the center of Nashua cider production in the late 1880’s.
Circle Avenue – The contractor decided to name Circle Avenue for its circular shape. Positioned in north Nashua, it is a new street, created in the 1990's.
Clairmoor Drive – Clairmoor Drive was once the site of the Clairmoor Hotel. It was one of Nashua’s first and oldest sites, but was later torn down.
Clark Road- Clark Road was named for Fred C. Clark, a city engineer and member of the Board of Public Works in 1940.
Clement Street- Mr. Raymond Clement of Tyngsboro contributed to the hydroelectric project at Pawtucket falls in 1986. His generosity inspired developers to name the street in his honor.
Clergy Street- Clergy Street is in the religious district of Nashua. In the Christian religion, it is a body of people ordained for service in the church.
Cleveland Street- Cleveland Street was named after the 22nd and 24th president of the United States. A Democrat, Cleveland is the only U.S. president to serve two non-consecutive terms. He was elected in 1884, succeeding Chester A. Arthur, and served one term, but in the elections of 1888 he was unseated by Republican Benjamin Harrison. In 1892 Cleveland returned the favor by unseating Harrison and returning to office for another four-year term. Cleveland did not pursue a third term and was replaced in 1897 by William McKinley. Cleveland became the first and only president to wed in the White House by marrying Frances Folsom in 1886. (He was 49, she 21.) And he successfully hid a serious medical condition: his cancerous upper jawbone was removed and replaced with a vulcanized rubber implant in a secret 1893 operation.
Cliff Road – John Cliff, for whom Cliff Road was named, was a resident of Nashua in 1920’s and a contractor.
Clinton Street – Clinton Street was developed when Nashville and Nashua merged in 1847. Clinton Street was originally laid out forty feet wide and extended five hundred and eighty-seven feet to the Nashua river bridge. It remains one of Nashua oldest and most historic streets.
Clocktower Place- This street was named for the recent apartments created in the clock mill building. Developments began in 1995 and continue within other Nashua mill spaces.
Clydesdale Circle – Clydesdale Circle was named for the horse farm that existed in the area during the late 1880's. It is a large powerful draft horse of a breed developed in the Clyde valley of Scotland, having white-feathered hair on its fetlocks.
Coburn Avenue- Deacon Thomas Colburn was a resident of Nashua who died at 96 during the 1800’s. His age and prominence in the community led to the naming of the street.
Colburn Street- Sergeant Colburn, was an early political figure and forefather of Nashua. He is famous for redefining the meeting house where legislation and town planning took place. In 1720, he voted to erect pews in the meeting house, the beginning of luxury and ambition within Nashua's local government.
Colby Road – Colby road was named for Doctor B. Colby, an early physician in Nashua during the 1840s. After graduating from Harvard, he came to Nashua, along with many other Boston doctor, who also set up medical practices. In the decade that followed, Dr. E.B Hammond, Dr. S. A Toothaker, H.W Buxton, and Dr. J.H Graves came to the region.
Coleridge Road- Samuel Coleridge was an English Poet who lived 1772-1834. Coleridge was famous for dreamy and somewhat creepy poems like The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, Christabel and Kubla Khan (the last of which he allegedly wrote subconsciously during a fever dream). Coleridge and poet William Wordsworth were close pals and their work led to what became known as poetry's Romantic movement. Coleridge is also remembered for his turbulent personal life, especially his decades-long addiction to opium.Opium addiction was not a novelty among writers of the era. Others who indulged included Thomas de Quincey and Elizabeth Barrett Browning.
Colgate Road- Colgate is in the college district of northern Nashua. Colgate University is an elite, private liberal arts college located in the Town of Hamilton in Madison County, New York. Colgate offers 51 majors leading to a B.A., all of which are registered officially with the New York . These include several languages, most sciences, a strong geology department, an equally strong economics dept., as well as , Political Science and other usual majors.
Colleen Road- Colleen was the daughter of one of the developers.
Colonial Avenue- Colonial Avenue was the site of the Nashua colonial theater, an entertainment center and movie house from 1911 to 1954. It had an arcade and other small shops and stores near its entrance. At its height within the 1950's, it was one of only five movie theaters in the region.
Columbia Drive- Columbia Drive is part of the college street district of Nashua and is named for Columbia University, New York, New York. This college, formally known as the Kings College of New York, is among one of the oldest Universities within the United States and continues to be acknowledged as one of the most prestigious. This street district, developed within the mid 1900's, included schools that many surrounding citizens had attended.
Columbine Drive- Columbine Drive is in the Boire Airfield area of Nashua and is relatively new. The Columbine shootings in Colorado, which the street was named for, greatly affected Nashua’s decision to construct two separate High School’s amongst many nationally appointed educational regulations.
Comanche Street – One Southern Plains Indian tribe originally from Wyoming is the Comanche. They developed the lands along the Texas panhandle and in New Mexico.
Commercial Street –The contractor decided to name Commercial Street for the Nashua historic business region. During the 1990's, it developed into a location of many large corporations and companies including the Nashua Telegraph and BAE. It has become a prime business location in Nashua.
Conant Road- Conant Road was developed in 1845 and named for Andrew Conant, an esteemed Nashua mill owner and contractor. The construction of this street occurred when the towns of Nashville and Nashua were being joined under one charter. High Street and modern day Broad Street were also created during this time.
Concord Street- One of Nashua’s oldest roads, Concord Street originally provided a direct route to Concord New Hampshire. Years ago, Manchester Street was also a direct route to Manchester New Hampshire. These two streets, in colonial times, were two of the most traveled roads in New Hampshire.
Congress Street – Congress Street was named for the legislative body in American government. A congress is different from a parliament (Westminster System of Government) in that legislative initiative is vested into it. In a congressional system the executive and legislative branches of government are clearly differentiated. The office as Head of State (president) and Head of Government (prime minister) are typically merged, and the members of cabinet are only rarely taken from the congress.
Connecticut Avenue-One of the streets named for states by the contractor was Connecticut Avenue. It was admitted as one of the original Thirteen Colonies in 1788. Connecticut's coastline was explored by Dutch navigators after 1614, and in 1635 colonists from Massachusetts Bay began to settle in the Connecticut River valley. The Fundamental Orders, a constitution based on the consent of the governed, was adopted by the colony in 1639. Hartford is the capital and Bridgeport the largest city. Its current population is 3,500,000.
Copp Street- Henry Copp operated one of the first city bookstores in 1850 and began a business trend in Nashua. He was the uncle of Eldridge J. Copp, who wrote a book about his Civil War experiences from his perspective. The Civil War book became famous and is still considered one of the best New Hampshire-based accounts of the war.
Cornell Road: Cornell Road, named for Cornell University, is part of the college and university development. Cornell University is an ivy-league school in Ithaca, New York. It was named for Ezra Cornell, who donated $500,000 and a tract of land. With the help of state senator Andrew D. White, who became Cornell's first president, it was made the state land-grant institution. The university has 13 colleges and schools throughout the state. Cornell Univ. Medical College, affiliated with New York Hospital, the Hospital for Special Surgery, and Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, is in New York City. The university operates the Center for Radiophysics and Space Research and the National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center, as well as two agricultural experiment stations and a laboratory for ornithology. It is affiliated with the Brookhaven National Laboratory (Long Island). Of note on Cornell's campus are the U.S. plant, soil, and nutrition laboratory, the school of nutrition, and the laboratory of nuclear physics, which includes a reactor and a synchotron. The schools of agriculture and life sciences, veterinary medicine, human ecology, and industrial and labor relations are divisions of the State Univ. of New York.
Cornwall Lane: Cornwall Lane, located in the British-named district, is named for Cornwall, a region of extreme southwest England on a peninsula bounded by the Atlantic Ocean and English Channel. Its tin and copper mines were known to ancient Greek traders and sparked relations between countries at the time.
Cortez Drive: Cortez Drive is one of the streets in the Spanish explorer district. Cortez was a Spanish conquistador who defeated the Aztecs and conquered Mexico (1485-1547). Cortés went (1504) first to Hispaniola and later (1511) accompanied Diego de Velázquez to Cuba. In 1518 he was chosen to lead an expedition to Mexico. Although Velázquez later sought to recall his commission, Cortés sailed in Feb., 1519. In Yucatán he rescued a Spaniard who had learned the Mayan language; after a victory over the native people of Tabasco, Cortés acquired the services of a female slave Malinche—baptized Marina—who knew both Maya and Aztec. Having proceeded up the coast, Cortés founded Villa Rica de la Vera Cruz and was chosen captain general by the cabildo; thus he discarded Velázquez's authority and became responsible only to Charles V.
Cote Avenue: Nashua is home to a large French-Canadian population, and Cote Avenue comes from the word “côté,” which means side or next to in French.
Cotton Road: Cotton Road was named after John E. Cotton, a prominent Nashua citizen who contributed land and funds to Greeley Park. He lived on Concord Street (near Greeley Park) and was a co-owner of the Maine Manufacturing Company.
Cottonwood Road: Cottonwood was named for several North American poplar trees, especially Populus deltoides, which has triangular leaves and a tuft of cottony hairs on the seeds.
Court Street: The original home of Nashua’s courthouse was on Court Street. It was also the site of Nashua’s first police station in 1891, a new post office in 1906, and is now the location of Nashua’s public library, built in 1970.
Cox Street: Cox Street was named for William Cox, an area resident who fought in the Revolutionary War.
Cranberry Lane: Cranberry Lane is named for one of the few native fruits in the area, cranberries. The cranberry is a mat-forming, evergreen shrub (Vaccinium macrocarpum) of eastern North America, having pink flowers and tart, red, edible berries.
Crescent Street: Crescent Street is named for its curving shape, in contrast to the straight streets surrounding it.
Crest View Terrace: Crest View Terrace was named for aesthetic purposes. The view
Cross Street: Cross was a resident of Dunstable who was captured by Indians and held for two years until he escaped.
Crowley Avenue: Crowley Avenue was named for James B. Crowley, who was a prominent citizen around the turn of the century. His involvement in Nashua’s semi-centennial celebration helped ensure its success. Crowley was also a member of the board of directors for Second National Bank and was part of the insurance firm Buxton & Crowley.
Crown Street: Crown Hill development, which includes Crown Street, grew rapidly during the 1870s. George Underhill is nicknamed the “father of Crown Hill” because he bought the tract of land in the 1840s, which later became a residential area.
Curtis Drive: Curtis Drive was named for Elder Silas Curtis, who headed the First Free-Will Baptist Church after its organization in 1838.
Cutler Road: Cutler Road was named for Dr. Nathan Cutler, the only physician in town until after the Revolutionary War.
Custer Circle: Custer Circle was part of a development with a mid-Western theme. George A. Custer was an American general who graduated at the bottom of his class at West Point military academy, but saw extensive action as a Union cavalry officer in the Civil War and reached the wartime rank of major general. After the war he was made lieutenant-colonel of the Seventh Cavalry on America's western frontier. Custer is best remembered for losing the battle of Little Big Horn, in which his troops faced combined bands of Lakota Sioux, Cheyenne, and Arapaho Indians led by the chief Sitting Bull. The battle ended with Custer's troops on a knoll encircled by Indians, a moment which became known as Custer's Last Stand; Custer and his entire force of over 200 men were killed. The battle made Custer a popular American hero and martyr for nearly a century, but by the late 1900s his stardom faded a bit as his tactics were more closely examined and as popular attitudes toward Native Americans changed. The site of the battle, in what is now Montana, was designated as a national monument in 1946.Custer's body was buried on the battlefield, but later exhumed and reburied at West Point.
Cypress Lane: Cypress Lane is part of the tree street district, and is named after the cypress tree. The cypress tree is any of various evergreen trees or shrubs of the genus Cupressus, native to Eurasia and North America and having opposite, scalelike leaves and globose woody cones.
D Street: D Street was designated as mill housing for the Maine Manufacturing Company.
Damper Circle: Damper Circle is located in a section of the city with names related to parts of a fireplace. It is an adjustable plate, as in the flue of a furnace or stove, for controlling the draft.
Dan Chan: Dan Chan was the well-known owner of Singapore Restaurant on Daniel Webster highway, and eventually had a side street off the highway named in his honor.
Danforth Road: Danforth Road is named after Danforth’s Meadow, owned by John Blanchard, or George E. Danforth, a prominent citizen and member of Nashua’s semi-centennial observance committee.
Daniel Webster Highway: Daniel Webster Highway was originally a trail followed by Samuel Whiting from Billerica to Dunstable to start his homestead. On May 16, 1922, the 200-mile was dedicated with a ceremony including a parade, concerts, and two granite markers. Daniel Webster, the namesake of the road, formed a coalition with Daniel Abbot and the Greeley brothers to create the first textile mills in Dunstable.
Dartmouth Road: Dartmouth Road, which is part of the college and university district, is named for Dartmouth College in Hanover, New Hampshire. Dartmouth College is a private university in Hanover, New Hampshire, and a member of the Ivy League. Founded in 1769, it is the ninth-oldest college in the United States. In addition to its liberal arts undergraduate program, Dartmouth has medical, engineering, and business schools, as well as 18 graduate programs in the arts and sciences. For reasons of tradition the institution as a whole is officially called "Dartmouth College" and not "Dartmouth University." With a total enrollment of about 5,700, Dartmouth is the smallest university in the Ivy League.
Davis Court: Davis Court was named for Henry H. Davis, a well-known Nashua businessman.
Daytona Street: Daytona Street is part of a development named for cities in Florida. Daytona Beach is a popular vacation spot in eastern Florida. Center of a rapidly urbanizing area, in a region settled by Spanish Franciscans in the 17th cent., Daytona Beach is a popular year-round resort, now noted as a spring-break mecca for collegians. Its economy has diversified to include aerospace industries. Noted for its hard, white beach, the city has been the scene of automobile racing since 1902; the annual Daytona 500 is an important event. Daytona USA, an interactive motor-sports museum, opened in 1996. Institutions of higher education include Bethune-Cookman College and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical Univ.
Deacon Drive: The Christian-named district, located near Broad Street, includes Deacon Drive. The title of deacon designates a cleric ranking just below a priest in the Anglican, Eastern Orthodox, and Roman Catholic churches.
Dearborn Street: Dearborn Street is named for Samuel Dearborn, who built Dearborn House in 1886 on Concord Street..
Dedham Street: Dedham Street was part of a development named for cities and towns in Massachusetts. Dedham is a suburban town southwest of Boston. Primarily residential, the town has some light manufacturing. America's oldest frame house, the Fairbanks house (1636), is in Dedham, which is said to have had the first public school in America (1649). The county courthouse was the scene of the Sacco-Vanzetti trial (1921). Horace Mann practiced law in Dedham, and Fisher Ames was born there.
Deerhaven Drive: Deerhaven Drive was named for aesthetic purposes and part of the name comes from deer, which was plentiful in early Nashua.
Deerwood Drive: Deerwood Drive was named as a combination of deer and wood, two features of early Dunstable. Forests were plentiful, and deer was among the wildlife located in the area.
Delaware Road: Delaware Road was part of a movement in the early twentieth century to name streets after states. Deleware is a state on the east coast of the United States. It was admitted as the first of the original Thirteen Colonies in 1787. Settled by the Dutch in 1631 and by Swedes in 1638, the region passed to England in 1664. It was part of William Penn's Pennsylvania grant from 1682 until 1776. Dover is the capital and Wilmington the largest city. Population: 830,000.
Delude Street: Delude Street was named after Victor Delude and his family, who built their home on this road.
Denver Drive: Denver Colorado provided the inspiration for Denver Drive’s name. The largest Colorado city, it is a processing, shipping, and distribution point for an extensive agricultural area. It is also the financial, business, administrative, and transportation center of the Rocky Mt. region (the “Inland West”), and home to numerous federal agencies. The Denver area has many electronics plants and is a major livestock market and headquarters to mining companies; leading manufactures include aeronautical, telecommunications, and other high-technology products. With ski and mountain resorts, national parks, and frontier historical sites nearby, Denver is also an important tourist center. Among the city's educational institutions are the Univ. of Denver, Loretto Heights College, Regis College, Colorado Women's College, and the Univ. of Colorado medical school. Points of interest include a park system incorporating many mountain areas; the Denver Art Museum; the Colorado State Historical Museum; the Denver Museum of Natural History; the Black American West Museum; the Denver Performing Arts Complex; the state capitol; a U.S. Mint; Mile High Stadium, home of the Broncos (football); Coors Field, home of the Colorado Rockies (baseball); the Pepsi Center, home of the Nuggets (basketball) and Avalanche (hockey); and zoological gardens. Part of the former Rocky Mountain Arsenal has become a national wildlife refuge.
Depot Road: Depot Road, close to Hollis’s South Depot Road, leads to the Hollis Depot. A depot can be a railroad, bus station, warehouse or storehouse.
Derby Circle:Derry Street: Derry Street was in a development named for towns in New Hampshire and is a town in southeastern New Hampshire. Although it is a town and not a city, Derry is the fourth most-populous community in New Hampshire, with more people than the state capital of Concord. Derry has two famous sons: poet Robert Frost and astronaut Alan Shepard, the first American in space. It is home to two of America's oldest private schools, Pinkerton Academy, which was founded in 1814 and is still in operation, and the defunct Adams Female Seminary. Derry is also the former home of murderess Pamela Smart.
Dickens Street: Part of poet district.
Dinsmore Street: Dinsmore Street is named for Thomas Dinsmore, an early resident of the Dunstable area.
Divinity Circle: One of the streets in the Christian-named district. Divinity is the quality or state of being heavenly or sacred.
Dixville Street: Dixville Street is part of a development named for towns in New Hampshire. Dixville Notch is an unincorporated small village in the Dixville township of Coos County, New Hampshire which is known for being one of the first places to declare the results in Presidential elections. It is located in the far north of the state, approximately 20 miles (30 km), by the best road route to a border-crossing between Vermont and Quebec, from Canada. The village is named for the mountain pass (or "notch," in White Mountains terminology) about a hundred feet (30 m) uphill from it, that lies between Dixville Peak and Sanguinary Mountain, and separates the Connecticut River's watershed from that of the Androscoggin. Dixville Notch is also the location, in dramatic mountains about 1800 feet above sea level, of The Balsams resort hotel; one of a handful of surviving New Hampshire grand hotels, it is situated on a 15,000 acre (61 km²) plot, accommodating golfing in the summer and skiing in the winter. Dixville Notch is a small town in northern New Hampshire that has received national attention for being the site of the first voting in the primary elections for the USA.
Dogwood Drive: Dogwood Drive is in the flower street district and is named for the dogwood, a tree (Cornus florida) of eastern North America, having small greenish flowers surrounded by four large, showy white or pink bracts that resemble petals.
Doncaster Drive- Doncaster Drive, named after the city of Doncaster located in the United Kingdom, commemorates the development of cities in Europe. Doncaster is a communications center, located on important rail lines and roads, and a market for fruits, vegetables, and livestock. There are slaughterhouses, railroad shops, steel mills, and food-processing plants. Other manufactures include metal products, electrical equipment, agricultural implements, clothing, and nylon. Doncaster is the site of the Roman camp Danum, on an ancient highway. An old racecourse is near the city; the St. Leger classic is run there every September. Noteworthy are the Mansion House (18th cent.) and the parish church of St. George, with a 170-ft (52-m) tower, designed in 1854 by George Gilbert Scott. Doncaster has a technical college and an art gallery.
Donovan Drive- The renowned Donovan family was the origin for the name of Donovan Drive.
Dorchester Way- Dorchester Way, named after the metropolis of Dorchester in the United Kingdom, is part of a district in Nashua with European street names. Dorchester is a busy agricultural market, especially for sheep and lambs. Printing, leatherworking, brewing, and the manufacture of agricultural machinery are important industries. Nearby is Maiden Castle, a fortification originally built in prehistoric times. In Roman times, Dorchester was called Durnovaria; Maumbury Rings, another pre-Roman site, was used by the Romans as an amphitheater. Baron Jeffreys of Wem held his Bloody Assizes in the town in 1685. It was also the site of the 1834 trial of the “Tolpuddle Martyrs,” important in the history of British trade unionism. Thomas Hardy lived in Dorchester, which is the “Casterbridge” of his Wessex novels.
Dover Street- The city of Dover, located in New Hampshire as well as the United Kingdom, was the foundation for Dover Street’s name. This street serves as a fraction of the borough of streets named after cities in New Hampshire and Europe. The first permanent settlement in New Hampshire, Dover was organized in 1633 but grew slowly. Lord Saye and Sele and his group had large holdings there from 1633 to 1641. A massacre by Native Americans occurred in 1689. In 1812 the first cotton factory was established and the town thrived as a textile center. Dover's historic attractions include the garrison house (late 1600s); the Hale house (1806), where Lafayette and James Monroe stayed; and a library that was organized in 1792.
Dow Street- Dow Street, named after the prominent figure of Charles Dow, memorializes the foundation of the Dow Jones Average. The Dow Jones Industrial Average is a price-weighted average of 30 significant stocks traded on the New York Stock Exchange and the Nasdaq. The DJIA was invented by Charles Dow back in 1896. Often referred to as "the Dow," the DJIA is the oldest and single most watched index in the world. The DJIA includes companies like General Electric, Disney, Exxon, and Microsoft.
Dryden Avenue- John Dryden, a poet who lived during the late 1700s, was the basis for the street named Dryden Avenue. This particular street is located in the vicinity of a development of streets named for poets. John Dryden was an English writer and poet laureate. The outstanding literary figure of the Restoration, he wrote critical essays, poems, such as Absalom and Achitophel (1681), and dramas, including All for Love (1678).
Dublin Avenue- Dublin Avenue was named after the city of Dublin, New Hampshire as well as Dublin Ireland. Dublin Avenue is part of the quarter of streets named after cities in New Hampshire and Europe. The capital and largest city of Ireland, Dublin is located in the east-central part of the country on the Irish Sea. A Danish stronghold until 1014, Dublin was later captured by the English (1170) and made the center of the Pale. It was the scene of the Black Monday massacre of English residents in 1209 and the bloody Easter Rebellion of April 24, 1916. The Sinn Fein movement began here in the early 20th century. The population totals roughly 1,020,000 people.
Dubonnet Drive- Dubonnet Drive, part of the district of streets named after the rich history and production of wine, celebrates the manufacturing of wine and the artistry used to create original flavors of wine. A bittersweet, fortified wine-based Apéritif flavored with herbs and quinine, signifies the characteristics of Dubonnet. Dubonnet comes in red and white versions, the white being the drier of the two. It is a trademark used for apéritif wines.
Duchess Road- A Duchess, the wife or widow of a Duke, is the inspiration for the name Duchess Road. A Duchess is the wife of a duke or a woman holding ducal title in her own right. The word is used as the title for such a noblewoman.
Dunbarton Drive- Dunbarton Drive, named after Dunbarton Scotland and Dunbarton, New Hampshire, is part of the district of streets named after cities in New Hampshire and Europe. Dunbarton is a town in Scotland, lying on the north bank of the River Clyde. , sitting on top of Dunbarton Rock, dominates the area. Dunbarton functioned as the capital of the ancient Kingdom of Strathclyde, and later as the county town of the traditional county of Dunbartonshire (formerly known as "Dunbartonshire"). In more recent times, the town became a centre for shipbuilding at Denny's yard, which closed in the 1960s. It is the birthplace of David Byrne from the Talking Heads, and of the motor-racing driver Jackie Stewart.
East Dunstable Road- Previously a major road, East Dunstable Road leads to Dunstable, Massachusetts. Nashua was formerly a part of Dunstable, Massachusetts until 1740 when the city of Nashua branched off from Dunstable. Dunstable is a town located in Middlesex County, Massachusetts. As of the 2000 census, the town had a total population of 2,829. Dunstable was first settled in 1656 and was officially incorporated in 1673. According to the United States Census Bureau, the town has a total area of 43.4 km² (16.7 mi²). 42.9 km² (16.5 mi²) of it is land and 0.5 km² (0.2 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 1.13% water.
Durham Street- Durham Street is named after the district of streets that encompass the names of cities in New Hampshire and Europe. Durham Street was specifically named after the city of Durham, New Hampshire and the province of Durham in the United Kingdom. Durham is a city of north-central North Carolina east of Greensboro as well. Settled in 1750, it is the seat of Duke University (founded 1838). Durham is a small city in the north east of England. The county town of County Durham is well known for its Norman Cathedral and Castle and is home to the University of Durham, England's third oldest.
E Street- The mill housing that rose in Nashua during the time of the Industrial Revolution designates the name of E street.
Earley Street- Earley Street was named after the Earley family that inhabited the town of Nashua in the past.
Eaton Place- Eaton and Ayre, successful entrepreneurs and business associates that created a partnership together, ran a flourishing bobbin business in the late 1800s. The factory created by both businessmen employed nearly 250 workers and sold bobbins as far away as England. A bobbin, an implement on which thread is wound, is often used in sewing, spinning, weaving, and lace making. Sometimes the wooden spools of sewing thread are called bobbins. The bobbin of a sewing machine is a metal cylinder, with a flange at each end, on which the lower thread is wound to be carried through the shuttle to the seam. In some primitive handweaving the weft, or woof, was wound on a bobbin flanged at one end and passed or carried by it through the warp. In tapestry weaving, bobbin looms are essential, as weft strands of different colors must go back and forth for the distance required by the design, somewhat in the manner of an embroidery needle darning in a pattern. In making pillow lace, bobbins form an important part of the equipment, as each thread of the pattern requires a different bobbin; intricate patterns call for hundreds of bobbins to hold the fine thread in order. Bobbins for lace making are made in various shapes and sizes, from a variety of materials, as walnut, rosewood, boxwood, and olive wood, glass, metal, ivory, coral, malachite, and bamboo, and are ornamented with carving, painting, or engraving.
Echo Avenue- Echo Avenue is located beside Twilight Drive. An echo, a reflection of a sound wave back to its source in sufficient strength and with a sufficient time lag to be separately distinguished, signifies the origin of this particular street name. If a sound wave returns within 1/10 sec, the human ear is incapable of distinguishing it from the orginal one. Thus, since the velocity of sound is c.344 m (1,130 ft) per sec at a normal room temperature of about 20°C (68°F), a reflecting wall must be more than 16.2 m (561/2 ft) from the sound source at this temperature for an echo to be heard by a person at the source. In this case the sound requires 1/20 sec to reach the reflecting surface and the same time to return. Bats navigate by listening for the echo of their high-frequency cry. Sonar and depth sounders work by analyzing electronically the echo time lag of sound waves, generally between 10 and 50 kilohertz, produced by underwater transducers. Radar sets broadcast radio waves, usually between 100 and 10,000 megahertz, pick up the portion reflected back by objects, and electronically determine the distance and direction of the objects. A sound echo that is reflected again and again from different surfaces, as by parallel walls in a tunnel, is called reverberation. When a surface reflects sound it partially absorbs and partially reflects the energy. As the process is repeated the sound becomes weaker and weaker and eventually ceases.
Edgewood Avenue- Edgewood Avenue, named for aesthetic purposes, originates from the location of the avenue beside woodland.
Edmatteric Drive- Edmatteric Drive is a combination of three names of the developer’s sons, Edward, Matthew, and Eric.
Edson Street- Edson Hill was a state and national legislator from New Hampshire and Edson Street was named in his honor. Edson Hill was the eighth child in his family. He went to "common school" in Northwood, then went to live in the household of Judge Harvey, a prominent local citizen. With Harvey's help Hill began to rise in local politics. He served as town clerk, moderator and town agent for Northwood, before becoming a town selectman (1836/7). He became a State Representative for Northwood (1839/40), and also served as postmaster for some years. In 1864 Manchester's Amoskeag Bank was merged into the Amoskeag National Bank; Hill was named director of the new bank. In 1867 Hill moved back to Manchester, and he lived in Manchester the rest of his life. He served a one year term as State Representative (1870), and he was an elector on the 1876 (Republican) Tilden-Hendricks presidential ticket; but most of Hill's time was given to the Amoskeag National Bank. He was also a trustee of Amoskeag Savings Bank, and People's Savings Bank. Hill was also a director of the Concord Railroad, and an associate of the international financier and Newport (NH) millionaire Austin Corbin.
Edwards Avenue - Edwards Avenue was named after Edward Tyng, who owned considerable tracts of land in the area. His son inherited 3000 acres in 1668 which was later named Dunstable. Edward Tyng may have been involved in the battle at Moore’s Brook in Scarborough, Maine on June 29, 1677.
Edwards Street - Edwards Avenue was named after Edward Tyng, who owned considerable tracts of land in the area. His son inherited 3000 acres in 1668 which was later named Dunstable. Edward Tyng may have been involved in the battle at Moore’s Brook in Scarborough, Maine on June 29, 1677.
Edwin Street- Edwin Street was named for Edwin and Joseph Baldwin, who started making bobbins in a small shop behind their father’s farm house. The business was sold to Eaton and Ayre who were also successful in the bobbin business.
Eldorado Circle- Eldorado Circle is named for Eldorado, which is “an imaginary place of great wealth and opportunity”. The street is also near Silverton Drive, and both relate to prosperity and assets. It is also in a district of Nashua with Western-influenced names.
Elm Court - Elm Court is located in a development in Nashua with names of streets. Elm trees were abundant in the area. The elm tree, the common name for the Ulmaceae, a family of trees and shrubs chiefly of the Northern Hemisphere, is the origin of the name of this street. Elm trees (genus Ulmus) have a limited use as hardwoods for timber, especially the rock or cork elm (U. thomasi). Tall and graceful, with fan-shaped crowns of finely subdividing branches and twigs, elms are widely planted as ornamental and shade trees, chiefly the American, or white, elm (U. americana) and the English, or Wych, elm (U. campestris) of N and central Europe and W Asia. Tolerant of urban conditions, both species are among those plants attacked by the fungus known as Dutch elm disease, but disease-tolerant varieties have been propagated. The mucilaginous inner bark of the slippery elm (U. fulva) is used medicinally in cough drops. Some species of the genus Celtis (the hackberries of America and the nettle trees of the Old World) are cultivated for their edible fruit. False sandalwood (Planera aquatica) is a member of the elm family; its fragrant wood is used in cabinetmaking. The elm family is classified in the division Magnoliophyta, class Magnoliopsida, order Urticales.
Elm Street - Elm Court is located in a development in Nashua with names of streets. Elm trees were abundant in the area. The elm tree, the common name for the Ulmaceae, a family of trees and shrubs chiefly of the Northern Hemisphere, is the origin of the name of this street. Elm trees (genus Ulmus) have a limited use as hardwoods for timber, especially the rock or cork elm (U. thomasi). Tall and graceful, with fan-shaped crowns of finely subdividing branches and twigs, elms are widely planted as ornamental and shade trees, chiefly the American, or white, elm (U. americana) and the English, or Wych, elm (U. campestris) of N and central Europe and W Asia. Tolerant of urban conditions, both species are among those plants attacked by the fungus known as Dutch elm disease, but disease-tolerant varieties have been propagated. The mucilaginous inner bark of the slippery elm (U. fulva) is used medicinally in cough drops. Some species of the genus Celtis (the hackberries of America and the nettle trees of the Old World) are cultivated for their edible fruit. False sandalwood (Planera aquatica) is a member of the elm family; its fragrant wood is used in cabinetmaking. The elm family is classified in the division Magnoliophyta, class Magnoliopsida, order Urticales.
Emerson Road- Ralph Waldo Emerson, a poet of the 1800s was the inspiration for Emerson Road. It is part of a district of poet streets. Emerson's father was the seventh in an unbroken line of ministers dating back to Puritan days, and after attending Harvard Emerson himself became a Unitarian minister. After the death of his young wife and two elder brothers, Emerson began to doubt his faith and in 1832 resigned his ministry. Eventually he settled in Concord, Massachusetts, where he lived most of the rest of his life thinking, writing and speaking. Emerson remains important in American history as a founder of the school of thought known as Transcendentalism. Its chief features were a reliance on intuition over cold scientific reason, a belief that the natural world held spiritual truths, and an optimistic view of the human spirit. Emerson was known as a stirring speaker, eventually earning the sobriquet "the Sage of Concord."
Epping Street- Epping, NH, for which Epping Street is named, is also a city in the United Kingdom. It is part of a development with names of New Hampshire and European cities. Epping is a place in the Epping Forest district of the county of Essex near London, England. On census day 2001, the district of Epping Forest had a population of approximately 120,900. Epping is home to the Epping Forest. The city of Epping is widely popular in Germany for being the home of Peter, David, Betty and Helga, protagonists of many textbooks used to teach English to German children.
Erie Circle- Erie Circle is named for a battle during the War of 1812 and is located in a district of streets including Chesapeake, Baltimore and Delaware Roads, all of which played an important part in the outcome of the war. The Siege of Fort Erie was the last engagement between British and American forces during the Niagara campaign of 1814, in which the Americans made a successful defense of the fort against the British before abandoning it on November 5, 1814. After the bloody Battle of Lundy's Lane, the American forces now under the command of (Brown had been severely wounded at Lundy's Lane), withdrew to their base at Fort Erie. Once the American army reached the fort, command was given to Brigadier General Edmund P. Gaines. The British under the command of Gordon Drummond followed slowly behind but reached the fort on August 4. The Americans had captured Fort Erie on July 3, 1814 and had made significant improvements to the defenses since then.
Essex Street- Essex Street, is named for Essex, UK, famous for its thriving industries. It is located in a development with names from European cities. Essex county, a county with an area of 1,520 sq mi (3,938 sq km) and located in SE England, is found on the Thames River and the North Sea. It is one of the “Home Counties” of London. Chelmsford is the county seat. The land rises from the low, irregular coastline to undulating pastoral country. Streams and salt marshes are plentiful. The chief crops of Essex are wheat, barley, sugar beets, potatoes, fruits, and vegetables. There is market gardening for London and some dairy and sheep farming. Oyster fisheries are also important. Industries include petroleum refining, chemicals, machinery, textiles, cement, processed foods, electrical goods, and nuclear power generation. Essex was once part of the kingdom of the East Saxons; Roman and Saxon remains are at Colchester and Maldon. Popular resorts line the coast.
Euclid Lane- Euclid of Alexandria was a mathematician for whom Euclid Lane was named. Euclid Lane is in a district of Nashua with streets named after mathematicians. Euclid of Alexandria was a well-known Greek mathematician. Little is known of his life other than the fact that he taught at Alexandria, being associated with the school that grew up there in the late 4th cent. B.C. He is famous for his Elements, a presentation in thirteen books of the geometry and other mathematics known in his day. The first six books cover elementary plane geometry and have served since as the basis for most beginning courses on this subject. The other books of the Elements treat the theory of numbers and certain problems in arithmetic (on a geometric basis) and solid geometry, including the five regular polyhedra, or Platonic solids. The great contribution of Euclid was his use of a deductive system for the presentation of mathematics. Primary terms, such as point and line, are defined; unproved assumptions, or postulates, regarding these terms are stated; and a series of statements are then deduced logically from the definitions and postulates. Although Euclid's system no longer satisfies modern requirements of logical rigor, its importance in influencing the direction and method of the development of mathematics is undisputed. One consequence of the critical examination of Euclid's system was the discovery in the early 19th cent. that his fifth postulate, equivalent to the statement that one and only one line parallel to a given line can be drawn through a point external to the line, can not be proved from the other postulates; on the contrary, by substituting a different postulate for this parallel postulate two different self-consistent forms of non-Euclidean geometry were deduced, one by Nikolai I. Lobachevsky (1826) and independently by János Bolyai (1832) and another by Bernhard Riemann (1854). A few modern historians have questioned Euclid's authorship of the Elements, but he is definitely known to have written other works, most notably the Optics.
Everett Street- Everett Street was named for Fredrick E. Everett and his family in Nashua.
Factory Street- Factory Street, named because of the close proximity of the mills, was the site of a 1922 factory strike. Workers protested the lengthening of work hours with a twenty percent wage cut. The factories rose due to the Industrial Revolution when it struck Nashua. The Industrial Revolution was a complex system of radical socioeconomic changes, such as the ones that took place in England in the late 18th century, that are brought about when extensive mechanization of production systems results in a shift from home-based hand manufacturing to large-scale factory production.
Fairhaven Road – Fairhaven Road, which is located near the Nashua Country Club derives its name from the city of Fairhaven located in Massachusetts. Fairhaven, a residential town (1990 pop. 16,132), located in SE Massachusetts, is found at the mouth of the Acushnet River on Buzzards Bay, opposite New Bedford; the town was settled in 1670 and was set off from New Bedford and incorporated in 1812. A former whaling center, from which Herman Melville sailed in 1841, Fairhaven has commercial fishing industries, boatyards, and plants making machinery, tires, mattresses, and nails. It is also a summer resort.
Fairland Avenue –Fairland Avenue, named for aesthetic purposes, was titled according to the rich farmland or sod that was present in the area.
Fairmont Street- Fairmont Street, named for aesthetic purposes, originated from various cities across the United States named Fairmont. These cities are located in Indiana, West Virginia, North Carolina, and Minnesota.
Fairview Avenue- The Fair grounds were once located on Fairview Avenue, and the name came from the fair that took place in the general vicinity. A fair is a market exhibition at which producers, traders, and consumers meet either to barter or to buy and sell goods and services. Before the development of transportation and marketing, fairs furnished the primary opportunity for the exchange of merchandise, and served as centers of community social life. Among the ancient Greeks and Romans the days of the public market were also used to announce new public laws. In early Christian times special occasions for marketing were frequently attached to religious gatherings, notably those of pilgrims coming to a town to celebrate a special feast. In the Middle Ages fairs were the major means of exchanging commodities not produced for subsistence. Fairs were incorporated by royal charter and had their own officials, laws, and courts. Major trade routes affected the growth of individual fairs; among the most prominent were those of Geneva, Antwerp, Leipzig, Madrid, Burgundy, Lyons, Bordeaux, Novgorod, and Sturbridge and Bartholomew Fair in England. Of the variety of goods traded at such fairs, cloth was probably the most important. The volume of trade was so great that by the 15th cent. some fair towns became banking centers and were subjected to special regulations. With the breaking of the manorial system, commerce became an expanding and regular part of economic life. Trade fairs declined and to a large extent were replaced by outdoor and indoor general markets. In the 17th cent. pleasure fairs, dominated by entertainments such as plays, became popular. The exposition, combining entertainment and commerce, flourishes today. A variety of advanced industrial wares (such as computers) are exhibited, and important technological innovations are displayed. International trade fairs, devoted solely to commercial display and directed toward businessmen, have also become popular since World War II. Agricultural fairs—held to improve farming methods, stocks, and crops—have been particularly important in the history of the United States. Many states and counties still maintain annual fairs, though some have been discontinued. In recent years, specialized fairs, such as the Frankfurt Book Fair, have taken on international significance.
Fairway Street- Fairway Street, which leads to the Nashua Country Club was named after a fairway or channel either from offshore, in a river, or in a harbor that has enough depth to accommodate the draft of large vessels. In Nautical terms, it is a navigable deep-water channel in a river or harbor or along a coastline. It can also be described as the usual course taken by vessels through a harbor or coastal waters.
Fall Grove Road- Fall Grove Road, named for aesthetic purposes, represents the groves of different fruit trees that were once grown in the area that were cultivated during the fall.
Farley Road- The Farley family, for whom Farley Street is named, had much to do with the history of Nashua and Hollis, NH.
Farmers Trail- Farmers Trail, named for aesthetic purposes, represents the vocation of many citizens of Nashua in the past.
Farmington Road- Farmington Road, located near the Nashua Country Club, gets its name from the city of Farmington located in New Hampshire. Farmington is a town located in Strafford County, New Hampshire. As of the 2000 census, the town had a total population of 5,774. According to the United States Census Bureau, the town has a total area of 97.1 km² (37.5 mi²). 96.2 km² (37.2 mi²) of it is land and 0.9 km² (0.3 mi²) of it is water. The total area is 0.88% water. In the town the population is spread out with 28.1% under the age of 18, 7.2% from 18 to 24, 31.0% from 25 to 44, 23.4% from 45 to 64, and 10.3% who are 65 years of age or older. The median age is 36 years. For every 100 females there are 98.6 males. For every 100 females age 18 and over, there are 96.1 males. The median income for a household in the town is $40,971, and the median income for a family is $44,788. Males have a median income of $32,320 versus $24,527 for females. The per capita income for the town is $16,574. 9.5% of the population and 6.3% of families are below the poverty line. Out of the total people living in poverty, 8.1% are under the age of 18 and 11.2% are 65 or older.
Farmwood Drive- Farmwood Drive was named for aesthetic purposes and indicates the rich farmland that once was present in the vicinity of the street.
Fawn Lane- Fawn Lane was named for aesthetic purposes stemming from a young deer named a fawn which is usually less than a year old or a grayish yellow-brown to moderate reddish brown. The color is found in the scenery on this particular streets and fawns used to reside in the area.
Federal Hill Road- Federal Hill Road is new in the city of Nashua and is parallel to Governor’s Lane. Federal, for which it is named, means of, relating to, or being a form of government in which a union of states recognizes the sovereignty of a central authority while retaining certain residual powers of government.
Fenwick Street- Fenwick Street is located off of Country Hill Road as indicated by records from 1985 but is now located off of Falls Grove Road. The street named after the first owner of the property, Fenwick.
Ferncroft Drive- Ferncroft Drive, located off Watersedge Drive, is parallel to Baymeadow. The name comes from Ferncroft, which is defined as a small meadow or farm full of ferns. It is similar to Watersedge Drive and Baymeadow, all of which are very close to the South of Pennichuck Brook, historically proving the connection between the definition and street name.
Fernwood Street- Located close to Zellwood and Winwood, Fernwood is part of the “wood” development. “Fernwood” means a tract of land filled with ferns, which existed in Nashua before the land was converted into a settlement.
Ferry Avenue- A small avenue off of Ferry Street, Ferry Avenue inherited its name from Ferry Street, which “ferried” people from one side of the river to the other. Ferry Street extends over the Merrimack River and was named for a “ferry,” which carries people or things over a river or body of water.
Ferry Road- Ferry Road is not located over any stretch of water, making the history of the name a mystery. However, the name is most likely related to a street Southeast named Old Mills Drive, which is not located on the water either. None of the other names of the streets near Ferry Road seem to be related to it.
Ferry Street- Ferry Street extends over the Merrimack River and is named after “ferries,” which carry people or things over a river or body of water. Before the bridge on Ferry Street was constructed, there were probably ferries transporting people across the Merrimack River by boat, which led to Ferry Street’s name.
Field Street- The name for Field Street comes from Field’s Grove, a recreational spot where hundreds of Nashua children took swimming lessons from the Red Cross. It was named after the owner of the property, Mr. Field, who allowed children to cut through his property to get to Field’s Grove, by way of Field’s Street.
Fifield Lane/Street- E.O. Fifield, for whom Fifield Lane is named, moved his box-making firm from Tyngsboro to Nashua in 1920. The firm was set up as a large shop on the corner of Taylor and Fifield. The firm later to moved to Milford.
Fir Street- Located off of Dunbarton Drive, Fir Street is new to the city. Its name comes from the tree of the genus Abies, typically large and attractive in appearance, and valued for its wood or resin.
Fireside Drive- Fireside Drive is located in a development with names related to a fireplace and fire. A fireside is defined as the area immediately surrounding a fireplace or hearth. The street runs close to Hearthstone (stone used in the construction of a hearth) and Damper (to extinguish a fire by cutting off air).
Fitzpatrick Circle- Located near McTavish Road, Fitzpatrick Circle also has an Irish name. Fitzpatrick was the name of the family that once owned the small property.
Flagstone Drive- Flagstone Drive extends from High Pine Avenue to Cypress Lane. A “flagstone” can be defined as a slice of Earth turned over by the plow and the street name originated from a prominent family or as a good descriptive title of the land along the road.
Fletcher Way/Street- The names of Fletcher Way and Fletcher Street are rooted in the history of Nashua. A “fletcher” is defined as a maker of arrows, and the streets were named for the arrow remnants of the Pennacook people who resided in the Nashua region before the settlers arrived. The owners of the land or Benjamin Fletcher Jr., the mayor of Nashua from 1881-1882 might have also influenced developers naming the streets.
Flintlocke Drive- Flintlocke Drive is located off of Rocky Hill Drive and is named for a “Flintlock,” an old-fashioned gun or pistol used chiefly in the 17th and 18th centuries. It had a flint fixed in the hammer that on striking the battery of the pan ignited the priming which communicated its fire to the charge through the touchhole. It is noteworthy that Pyrite is located right off of Flintlocke, because both of the two streets relate to stones.
Forest Hills Drive- Before the Everette Turnpike existed; Forest Hills Drive only led to half a block of road, houses, and open land. The name itself suggests that the land was dense with trees growing along rolling hills.
Forest Park Drive- Forest Park Drive is located along Fairlane Avenue and Wildwood Lane. The drive is surrounded by open land, which was a park at one time.
Forest Road/Street- Forest Road is a new road, located near forested land. Forest Street extends from Charlotte Avenue into the Edgewood Cemetary and like Forest Road; it was named for the dense area of trees. Forest Street is located in the Civil War region, but also runs parallel to Nutting Street.
Forge Drive- Forge Drive is parallel to Anvil Drive and comes from the word “forge,” which means to form (metal, for example) by heating in a forge and beating or hammering into shape. An “anvil” is a heavy block of iron or steel with a smooth, flat top on which metals are shaped by hammering.
Fossa Avenue- This street was named after the family in possession of the property, as the name Fossa means a small cavity or depression, as in a bone. This definition has no relation to any of the surrounding streets, so it is presumable that the street was named after the property owners.
Foster Court- Foster Court was named for General John G. Foster, an officer from Nashua, NH who took part in the battle on Fort Sumter. After the Civil War ended, Foster returned to his home in Nashua where he was viewed as a hero.
Fotene Street- Fotene Street and surrounding streets were named after the members of the Greek family that bought the property in 1963. Fotene’s Market, located at 717 West Hollis Street near Settlement Way, was also named after the Fotene family.
Foundation Street- Foundation Street is located parallel to Ledge Street and extends from Simon Street to Whipple Street. A foundation is the basis on which something stands or is supported or a base. In this case, house foundations being created on the street might have influenced the developer’s name choice.
Foundry Street- The Nashua Foundry, which provided the inspiration for the name of Foundry Street, is an establishment where metal is melted and poured into molds. On historical documents from 1873, the street was named Hall Street; but by 1883, it was renamed as Foundry Street.
Fountain Lane- Fountain Lane is located in a development based on the legend of Robin Hood. Near the forest, a location that relates to the theme, Fountain Lane is named for Tuck who comes from Fountains Abbey in Yorkshire or Fountaindale in Nottinghamshire.
Fox Meadow Road- Fox Meadow Road, located near Archery Street, Arrow Lane, and Alder Drive (Alder is any of various deciduous shrubs or trees of the genus Alnus, native chiefly to northern temperate regions and having alternate simple toothed leaves and tiny fruits in woody, conelike catkins) was named as part of a development related to nature and hunting.
Fox Street- Fox Street was named for the large fox population in Nashua and extends from Broad Street to Broadview Avenue. There are no streets surrounding Fox Street because it extends out towards the Springfield Terminal and the open land might have once been a prime fox hunting spot of the city.
Foxboro Street- Foxboro Street is surrounded by Aston Street, Woodgate Street, Rowley Street, and Natick Street. All of these streets are named after cities in the United Kingdom.
Foxglove Court- Foxglove Court is located in the plant development. It is with streets such as Heather, Lilac, Rosemary, and Laurel. Foxglove is the common name for about 20 to 30 species of summer-flowering biennial or short-lived perennial herbs in the genus Digitalis, family Scrophulariaceae. They are native to Europe and northwest Africa to central Asia. The common foxglove, D. purpurea, grows to a height of 150 cm (5 ft). Its leaves are alternate, lance-shaped, up to 30 cm (1 ft) long, and hairy above with soft white hairs below. Leaves are tapered at the base to form winged stalks. The flowers droop and are arranged on erect racemes, and its fruit are capsules containing numerous seeds. Common foxglove is found in clearings, in burned areas, and in hilly dry pastures, and it is often grown as an ornamental. Many varieties have been originated through breeding, with flowers varying from white to a deep rose color. The dried leaves, the source of the drug digitalis used for heart trouble, have been used medicinally since as early as the 13th century. Because a single hectare can yield hundreds of kilograms of dried leaves, only a few hundred hectares of land are required to meet the demand for digitalis in medicine.
Foxmoor Circle- Foxmoor Circle is located near in the United Kingdom with Lochmere Lane and Glastonbury Drive. Foxmoor field is located north of Ebley in the county of Gloucester in the United Kingdom.
Franconia Drive- Franconia Drive is located in the NH city and townships development. Franconia Franconia is on the Gale River and rumor has it that the community was named after Sir Francis Bernard an early landholder. Another tale says it was named for the region's resemblance to the Franconian Alps of Germany. Other community names include Indian Head and Morristown .The region once produced pig iron and bar iron for farm tools and cast-iron ware
Franklin Street- Franklin Street extends from Main Street, west to the Springfield Terminal. Franklin Hall was an auditorium built in 1848 on the second floor of the Old City Station on Main and Canal Street and was originally used as a town hall, but later became a popular gathering place. Eventually, Franklin Hall became the Franklin Opera House, a stage show theatre where many famous actors and actresses of the late 1800’s performed, including Denman Thompson and Julia Marlowe. The opera also hosted sporting events like basketball, wrestling, rollerskating, and sometimes even took out the seats for dancing. On April 19, 1931 the building burned down, the same weekend Nashua Theatre on Elm Street destroyed by the fire.
Frederick E. Everett Tpke - Frederick E. Everett Turnpike was named for the first commissioner of the New Hampshire State Highway Department, and connects Nashua, Manchester and Concord to Massachusetts and beyond.
Freedom Street- Freedom Street is located in the NH city development, named for the city, which was incorporated in 1831 following an influx of new settlers from Maine into Effingham. There was a conflict of culture and religion between the new groups and the residents in the seacoast area of Effingham. As a result, a section of that town known as North Effingham was separated to form its own town. The newly incorporated town was appropriately named Freedom. Fremont, Dublin, and Franconia are in the same development.
Fremont Street- Located in the NH city development, Fremont Street is named for the town incorporated in 1764. Fremont was once a part of Exeter known as Poplin, named for an English mill town. The town was renamed Fremont in 1854 for General John C. Fremont, who was the first candidate of the Republican Party in the presidential election of 1856. Benton, in Grafton County, bears the name of Fremont's father-in-law, Senator Thomas Hart Benton.
French Street- By the late 1800’s the region previously called “Indian Head”, located North of the Nashua River, was renamed “French Hill”. The French population was mainly clustered on French Hill and French Village, the area extending from Hollis Street west to Ledge Street. French Street is located in the region that once was French Hill.
Freshwater Court- Freshwater Court is a new road located near to Hassells Brook in a development of nature names. Freshwater refers to the type of water in Hassells Brook and was chosen because of its pleasing name.
Friar Tuck Lane- Friar Tuck Lane is located in the Robin Hood and Sherwood Forest district with other street named for people and places in the legends of Robin Hood. Friar Tuck is described as a rotund and jolly Friar who became an indispensable member of Robin's band. In the ballads, Robin made Friar Tuck carry him across a stream but on the return trip, Tuck drops Robin in the water and the pair began to fight. Eventually, the skirmish reaches a peaceful conclusion and Friar Tuck is asked to join the Merry Men.
Friel Golf Road- Friel Golf Road was named after Phil Friel, a notable amateur golfer. Friel is a New England PGA Hall-of-Famer who recently designed 36 holes of golf at the Green Meadow Gold Club.
Front Street- Front Street is located off Locust Street in 1883 between the Nashua River and the Railroad. Front Street is a residential circle with a view of the river, named Front Street because its close proximity to the waterfront.
Frost Drive- Frost Drive is located near Hampton Drive and Belfast Street and was named for Robert Frost, an American poet from Derry, NH whose deceptively simple works, often set in rural New England, explore the relationships between individuals and between people and nature. His collections include A Boy's Will (1913) and In the Clearing (1962). He won a Pulitzer Prize in 1924, 1931, 1937, and 1943.
Gagnon Circle- The Gagnon family owned a considerable amount of property in the region, so Gagnon Circle was named in their honor.
Gail Road- Gail Road is located in yet another development of people’s first names. Gail Road is located near Peter Road, Nora Road, Jay Road, Curt Road, and Joey Road. It is very likely that Gail Road was named after a member of the family that owned the property or a member of the family of the developer.
Galway Road- Galway is a port city in the region of west-central Ireland, bordering on Galway Bay, an inlet of the Atlantic Ocean. The city of Galway (population, 37,835) was incorporated in the late 14th century and is today an important industrial and tourist center. Galway Road is near Kerry Lane and Raleigh Drive, other cities in Ireland.
Garden Street-Garden Street runs perpendicular to West Pearl Street and the railroad. On either side of Garden Street, there are large plots of land, which used to have fields of flowers and a few houses.
Garnet Lane- Garnet Lane is located is the jewel development and was named for a garnet, any of several common, widespread aluminum or calcium silicate minerals occurring in two internally isomorphic series, (Mg, Mn, Fe)3Al2Si3O12 and Ca3(Cr, Al, Fe)2Si3O12. They are generally crystallized, often embedded in igneous and metamorphic rocks, and colored red, brown, black, green, yellow, or white and used both as gemstones and as abrasives. Garnet Lane is located near Pearl Court, Emerald Drive, and Ruby Way.
Garrison Farm Road- A garrison farm is a farm converted into a military post for which Garrison Farm Road, a new road, was named. It is located next to Federal Street.
Gary Street- Gary Street is located next to Mark Street, Leann Street, Bonny Street, Brenda Street, and Keith Street. It is likely that Gary Street was named after a member of the family that owned the property or a member of the family of the developer.
George Street- George Street is located in a development with other “developer’s choice” names. Other streets nearby include Will Street, Simon Street, Joffre Street, Donna Street, Gaffney Street, Dale Street, and Edwards Street.
Gettysburg Drive- Named after a town of southern Pennsylvania east-southeast of Chambersburg, Gettysburg Drive is near other civil war streets. It was the site of a major Union victory in the Civil War (July 1-3, 1863), which checked Robert E. Lee's invasion of the North. The battle and Abraham Lincoln's famous Gettysburg Address (delivered at the dedication of a cemetery here on November 19, 1863) are commemorated by a national park. President Dwight D. Eisenhower's farm, a national historic site, is also in Gettysburg. Today, its population is 7,025.
Gilboa Lane- Gilboa Lane was named for Gilboa Hill, a piece of land referred to as “Mount Gilboa” by Blanchard, the owner who left the property to one of his 9 children after his death in 1694. Mount Gilboa is a Biblical name, referring to in 1 Samuel when “Saul gathered all of Israel together and the pitched in Gilboa”
Gillis Street- Gillis Street was named for Thomas Gillis, the third mayor of the Gate City in 1857.
Gilman Street- Virgil C. Gilman (1827-1903) contributed to the growth and improvement of the city and this street was named in his honor. He was not only a member of the group that started what is now the Nashua Corporation, but was also a director in banking and industrial enterprises. He aided in the development if the Plymouth Rock fowl, and started the first hatchery. He became the mayor in 1865, and served on both the Board of Education and the Library Board of Trustees.
Gilson Road- Located on Gilson Road, Gilson Cemetary is where the Gilson family is buried. Betty and John Gilson, John’s second wife Rebecca, Jurasha and Jason Gilson, Ruth Gilson and their three baby Gilsons, Joseph Gilson, and Walter Gilson were all buried in the cemetary.
Girouard Drive- Girouard Drive is located very close to French Hill and is named for a French family that probably lived in the area. The Girouard family came to North America in the 1700’s and some of the ancestors probably ended up in Nashua.
Glacier Drive- Glacier Drive’s name was chosen in relation to the glaciers that melted in New Hampshire and left behind many rocks that became some of the stonewalls still seen in the state. A glacier is a huge mass of ice slowly flowing over a land mass, formed from compacted snow in an area where snow accumulation exceeds melting and sublimation.
Glasgow Road- Glasgow Road is named for a city of southwest Scotland on the Clyde River. Founded in the late sixth century, Glasgow is a major port, an industrial center, and the largest city in Scotland. Glasgow Road is in the Scottish city development and runs from Aberdeen Lane (Aberdeen is a city of northeast Scotland on the North Sea at the mouth of the Dee River) to Edinburgh Drive (Edinburgh is the capital of Scotland, in the eastern part of the country on the Firth of Forth).
Glastonbury Drive- Glastonbury is located in the United Kingdom development and is a municipal borough of southwest England south-southwest of Bristol. There are remains of an Iron Age village nearby and it is also the traditional site of King Arthur's Isle of Avalon.
Glen Drive- A glen is a narrow or small, secluded valley and Glen Drive is located in the development with streets named for people and places of the Robin Hood legends and ballads. In one ballad, Robin Hood runs through the glen, suggesting a parallel between the street name and the legend.
Glencliff Way- Glencliff is a town in New Hampshire, and Glencliff Way is located near Stratham, which is also a town in New Hampshire.
Gleneagle Drive- Gleneagle is a region in the United Kingdom, famous for its history. Gleneagle Drive is located in the United Kingdom development, which includes Glastonbury Street.
Gloucester Lane- Located in a development with European city names, Gloucester Lane is named for Gloucester, a borough of southwest-central England on the Severn River west-northwest of London. Built on the site of the Roman city Glevum, it was the Saxon capital of Mercia and is today a market town and industrial center. The city's industries manufacture airplanes, boats, insulating material, and lumber. Gloucester's magnificent cathedral, built mostly in the 11th century (the 68.6-m/225-ft tower was completed c.1450), contains the tomb of Edward II. Other landmarks include the churches of Saint Mary-de-Lode, with its Norman tower, located on a Roman site, and Saint Mary-de-Crypt (12th century). There are church schools and inns dating from the 15th to the 17th century and a notable folk museum. The Britons established a settlement on the site, but the founding date is generally considered to be AD 97, when the Romans built Glevum where they bridged the Severn. As England became united, the city became a royal residence, and it was incorporated in 1483.Brittany Way(A historical region and former province of northwest France on a peninsula between the English Channel and the Bay of Biscay. It was settled c. 500 by Britons driven out of their homeland by the Anglo-Saxons. The region was formally incorporated into France in 1532) and Grimsby Lane A borough of eastern England near the mouth of the Humber River southeast of Hull. It is a major fishing port and has varied industries) are located next to Gloucester Lane.
Goldfinch Lane- Goldfinch Lane is located south of Green Heron Lane named for any of several small American finches of the genus Carduelis, especially C. tristis, of which the male has yellow plumage with a black forehead, wings, and tail.
Gordon Street- Gordon Street is located in the Civil War development, named for the story of General and Mrs. Gordon, well known in the North. Mrs. Gordon was the only woman known to follow her husband onto every battlefield of the war. After the Battle of Antietam she found him wounded and saved his life by getting him immediate medical attention. The story of the General and Mrs. Gordon was in books and magazines across the country.
Gosselin Road- Gosselin Road seems to have been named for Arthur G. Gosselin by a family member or in his honor. Arthus G. Gosselin was a hardworking man who rose to prominence in his native Manchester, NH. He was born in 1897 of French descent and was in the Union Army during the Civil War, before becoming very successful in businesses.
Governors Lane- Located near Federal Hill Road, Governor’s Lane is a new road, named for the governor’s position in New Hampshire. A governor is defined as the chief executive of a state in the United States, or an official appointed to govern a colony or territory.
Grace Drive- Grace Drive is a loop off of Conant Road meaning seemingly effortless beauty or charm of movement, form, or proportion. Its shape may have inspired the developer to name it Grace Drive.
Grand Avenue- The name grand was utilized to express the meaning large and impressive in size, scope, or extent; magnificent. Grand Avenue is located South of the Nashua River and Mines Falls Park and its size inspired the developer to choose that name.
Granite Street - In Spring of 1825, flooding washed away a piece of the bank of a new canal. To repair it, granite slabs were transported from a recently found ledge to help shore up the bank. The granite needed to be transported by a railroad built to haul the loaded sledges. As a result, the railroad is located very close to Granite Street.
Grasmere Lane - Grasmere is a village right in the heart of Lake District National Park in Cumbria England near the honey pot towns of Ableside, Keswick, Hawkshead, Coniston, Bowness, and Windermere. Grasmere Lake lies to the south of the village, where there are gentler walks low to the ground as well as peaks including Scafell Pikes, Helvellyn, Skiddaw, and Langdale. Once the home of the famous poet William Wordworth, Grasmere is now the site of two of his former homes, Dove Cottage and Rydal Mount. In the center of Grasmere is St. Oswalds Church, the churchyard of which contains the Wordsworth family graves.
Gray’s Avenue - Earnest Gray, for whom Gray’s Avenue was named, joined Nashua Corporation in 1892. Gray wrote a memoir, and was the purchasing agent of the Nashua Corporation.
Greatstone Drive - Located in a development, Greatstone Drive was named for asthetic purposes. Many towns in New England had rocky soil and many of the stones were used to create fences.
Greeley Street - This street was named for Joseph Thornton Greeley, the same man for whom Greeley Park is named. When Greeley died in 1881, he donated his farmland to the city of Nashua. This land, in addition to later donations – both land and monetary – helped to make Greeley Park what it is today.
Green Street - One of the more recent streets in Nashua history, it was named for aesthetic purposes, probably for the color green.
Greenfield Drive - After the American Revolution, residents of the Northwestern sector of Lyndeborough petitioned to become their own town. Their efforts proved successful, and shortly thereafter, they separated and became the town of Greenfield.
Greenock Lane - Greenock is a city located in England and is in a district of Nashua with the names of old English cities. The state and region even took their names from the old world – Hampshire (for which New Hampshire was named) is a county in England, and the regiong around New Hampshire is named New England.
Greenwood Drive - During the mid 1860s in Nashua, the Young Men’s Christian Association first began to take root. This organization was first recognized under the state legislature in 1891, with a man named Calvin Greenwood as one of the original members of the board of directors. Greenwood was a great community activist and was instrumental in forming the YMCA into an established and user-friendly organization.
Green Heron Lane - Green Heron Lane was located within the Sky Meadow Country Club, and was named for aesthetic reasons. A heron, which is part of the name is a member of the family Ardeidae, large wading birds including the bittern and the egret, found in most temperate regions but most numerous in tropical and subtropical areas. Unlike the remotely related cranes and ibises, which fly with their heads extended straight forward, herons fly with their necks folded back on their shoulders. Their plumage is soft and drooping and, especially at breeding time, there may be long, showy plumes on the head, breast, and back. Herons are usually solitary feeders, patiently stalking their prey (small fish and other aquatic animals) in streams and marshes and then stabbing them with their sharp, serrated bills. Most herons roost and nest in large colonies called heronries; others are gregarious only at breeding time; and some are entirely solitary. The nests vary from a sketchy platform of twigs high in a tree to a bulky mass of weeds and rushes built on the ground among the marsh reeds. American herons include the great and little blue herons, the green heron, the yellow-crowned and the black-crowned night herons (the latter known also as night quawk, because of its cry), and the Louisiana heron, called by Audubon “the lady of the waters.” The great white heron of Florida, a little larger (50 in./125 cm long) than the great blue, is a striking bird sometimes confused with the American egret. Other large white herons are common in Africa. The European night heron ranges to India and N Africa. The odd looking shoe-billed heron (or stork, a misnomer) is found along the White Nile and the boat-billed heron in tropical America. Herons are classified in the phylum Chordata, subphylum Vertebrata, class Aves, order Ciconiiformes, family Ardeidae.
Grimsby Lane - Grimsby, England is a seaport on the river Humber in the north of England, which has a population of 91,000. It is physically linked to the adjoining town of Cleethorpes, and 11,000 of its inhabitants live in the village of Scartho (which was absorbed into Grimsby before laws on the Green Belt were put in place). Historically in
Gregg Road - This road is named after New Hampshire Governor Hugh Gregg, who was elected into office in 1953. The Gregg family, although associated with politics, migrated to the Nashua to make use of its advantageous shipping facilities for their family lumber and millwork firm. Hugh Gregg worked for this firm during his life and was a dedicated public servant, WWII and Korean War veteran. Gregg died recently after a brief illness at the age of 85.
Grenada Circle - This road located in Westgate Village is named for the Western city Grenada, Mississippi. Developers chose to name streets in this area after Western United States cities in accordance to the name of the development.
Groton Road - Aptly named, this road turns onto Dunstable Road, which leads to Groton, Massachusetts.
Grove Street - “The Grove Hole” was a popular swimming area along the Nashua River in earlier years. This street’s close proximity to the river suggests a connection to this little piece of aquatic history. The name may also have originated from the surroundings, which includes Orange and Lemon streets.
Guilford Lane - Guilford Lane was named for the city of Guilford, a small English town with a rich history. It is located outside of London and is a small city with a small town feel. It boasts cobbled streets, ancient castles, historic cathedrals and excellent shopping.
Haines Street - Lizzie T. Haines donated land located on the North edge of Kinsley Street to the city on June 13, 1890. This land was to be used in addition to various other donations for the formation of the Woodlawn Cemetery, which still exists today. This burial ground would not be, had it not been for citizens like Haines who donated their land.
Hamblett Drive - Charles J. Hamblett was a prominent legal figure in Nashua, and a U.S. District Attorney in his later life. Hamblett was born in Nashua, and although raised in Milford, returned here to begin his legal practice. He was admitted to the New Hampshire bar in 1889, the same year he founded his firm. He also worked diligently as an assistant clerk of the senate and president of the Common Council of Nashua.
Hammond Court - The Hammond Family was well known for medical purposes in the mid to late 1800s. Dr. Evan B. Hammond was a graduate of Harvard Medical School and set up a lucrative practice in 1840. He retired in 1885 and his son, Charles B. Hammond continue where he left off. Another graduate of Harvard Medical School, Charles quickly established himself as an excellent physician and surgeon and his practice continued to grow.
Hancock Street - Hancock Street was named for Thomas Hancock, resident of ancient Dunstable, and guardian of John Hancock, famed signer of the Declaration of Independence. Thomas bought a tract of land in partnership with William Tyler (for whom Tyler Street is named) in 1736, leaving it to John when he died.
Harbor Avenue - An area known as “The Harbor” was one of the earliest places of settlement in Nashua. This area that Harbor Avenue is named for existed between the Nashua River and Salmon Brook. An ancient map of this area exists in the Massachusetts Historical Society, dating back to 1684. Some speculate that early settlers chose this are because advancing Indian canoes may have been easy to spot from that point.
Harris Road - Harris Road was named after Harris Farm, located in that area. The owner of Harris farm at one point attempted to raise silk worms, only to realize that the New England climate was too harsh. His dreams of riches and silks died along with his mulberry trees.
Harris Street - Ira Harris was a prominent community activist and well-known Indian Head Bank cashier. In 1936, his wife, Mary Proctor Harris, died leaving a 20 thousand dollars to the city in her husband’s memory – as he had died a few years earlier. A trust was set up with the money and designated for “lecture and concert courses free or as near as practical.” Funds from the Harris family also went toward building a Community Council Building in the 1930s.
Hassell Brook Road - This road is located directly alongside a brook, which runs through an area of Nashua known as Hassell Brook. During King Philip’s War in the 1670s, a log cabin belonging to Joseph and Anna Hassell was attacked and burned to the ground by Indians. All inside the cabin perished, including the Hassell’s son Benjamin and neighbor Mary Marks. A memorial stone now stands where the cabin once stood.
Hall Avenue - In 1892, Williams Hall became mayor of the city of Nashua. After being raised in Massachusetts, Hall moved to Nashua in 1857 and began working in his brother’s manufactory facility on Water Street. He then worked on as a clerk and owner of a successful general store before running for mayor. Hall boasts a clean political record, and under his administration, both the Amherst Street School and Fire Department were completed along with a number of other city improvement projects.
Harbor Court - This street is located near Globe Plaza, an area that was once a well-enjoyed body of water called Harbor Pond. This pond was part of the Salmon Brook system, much of which is now covered by Main Street and its various developments. Harbor Pond was filled in to make way for development in 1962, but the land did not settle well, causing the bumpy floors and parking lots in the Plaza.
Hastings Lane - Lemuel S. Hastings became principal of the then-new Nashua high school building in the summer of 1889 after the previous principal resigned.
Hayden Street - During the Civil War, a man known as Sergeant Geo. A. Hayden of New Hampshire served selflessly in the Heavy Artillery Unit of the F Company.
Harvard Street - Harvard Street was named for the prestigious Harvard University, located in Cambridge Massachusetts. This college is an extremely competitive and selective school and is sought out by law, medical, and business students from all over the world. Several streets in the Nashua area are named for famous universities and colleges from all across the United States and the prominence of Harvard sparked developers to name this street for it.
Lincolnshire, it was moved to Humberside in 1974 (where it formed the larger part of the borough of Great Grimsby) and since 1996 has been part of the unitary authority of North East Lincolnshire. It is called "Great Grimsby" to distinguish it from Little Grimsby, a village about 20km to the south, near Louth. Grimsby was founded by the Danes in the 9th Century AD, although there is some evidence of a small town of Roman workers sited in the area some seven centuries earlier. Located on the River Haven, which flowed into the Humber, Grimsby would have provided an ideal location for ships to shelter from approaching storms. It was also well situated for the rich fishing grounds in the North Sea. The name Grimsby probably originated from Grim's by, or "Grim's Village", although an alternative view is that Grimsby is a concatenation of three Celtic syllables "Gri-maes-buy", meaning "the place of the sacred mounds".
Hereford Drive - Hereford Drive is another example of a Nashua street named after an old English City. Hereford, England is a historic city located in western England close to the border of Wales and is home to a medieval castle dating back to the year 1079. Hereford is a cattle-market town, from which the cattle breed takes its name. Industries include food processing, brewing, and light manufacturing. At its cathedral, which probably dates from the 11th cent., the Festival of the Three Choirs is held every third year. (In the other years it is held at Gloucester or Worcester.) The nearby White Cross commemorates the termination of the great plague in the mid-14th cent. A grammar school was founded there in the 14th cent. Hereford was the birthplace of Nell Gwyn, mistress of Charles II, and the stage actor David Garrick.
Holmes Street: Holmes Street is named for a family that contributed much to Nashua. Oliver Wendell Holmes wrote The Pilgrim’s Vision, which was quite popular in Dunstable. As late as the 1800s, there were lingering feelings of piety so the Pilgrim Congregational Church was built on Temple Street. Also, Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr. served as a lawyer and member of the U.S. Supreme Court from 1902 to 1932. Many ancestors of the Holmes Family have settled through out the New England area.
Holt Avenue: The Holt family was prominent in Nashua, therefore naming Holt Avenue. Charles Holt worked as a reporter for the paper at the time and H. A. Holt invented the Lock mortising machine. Their estate, named Holt estate, was on Prospect Street. In 1899, the estate was bought for the beginning of what is now Memorial Hospital.
Honeysuckle Court: Honeysuckle Ct. is named for the honeysuckle, a common name for some members of the Caprifoliaceae, a family comprised mostly of vines and shrubs of the Northern Hemisphere, especially abundant in E Asia and E North America. The family includes the elders, viburnums, weigelas, and snowberries as well as the honeysuckles; many are hardy plants that are sometimes cultivated as ornamentals. One of the best-known North American species of the true honeysuckles (genus Lonicera) is the trumpet honeysuckle (L. sempervirens), an evergreen plant with fragrant, trumpet-shaped scarlet blossoms. The Japanese honeysuckle (L. japonica), with small white to yellow flowers, is naturalized in the United States and has become a ubiquitous and noxious weed, strangling the living plants on which it climbs. Woodbine, a name for several European vines, is most often L. periclymenum, also called eglantine. Bush honeysuckles are of the genus Diervilla. Some plants of other families are also called honeysuckle, e.g., the swamp and purple honeysuckles of the heath family. Sambucus (elder or elderberry) and Viburnum are shrubs and trees usually having showy flat-topped clusters of white flowers. The fruits of some species are edible, e.g., those of the common North American elder (S. canadensis), used in preserves, pies, and wine. The European elder (S. nigra) and the “Spirit of the Elder” have figured prominently in folklore of N Europe. Among the better known viburnums (also having edible berries) are the black haw, or stagbush (V. prunifolium), of E North America; the straggling-branched hobblebush, or wayfaring tree (V. alnifolium in America, V. lantana in the Old World); and the high-bush cranberry, or cranberry tree (V. opulus; the American plants are sometimes designated as V. trilobum). The snowball, or guelder-rose, is a cultivated variety of the cranberry tree in which the rounded blossom–clusters are composed of large sterile flowers. Arrowwood (V. dentatum and similar species) was formerly used for making arrows. The waxy-fruited snowberries are species of the genus Symphoricarpos. Weigela (or weigelia), shrubs of the E Asian genus Weigela, are sometimes cultivated elsewhere for their funnel-shaped blossoms. Twinflower (Linnaea borealis), unusual for this family in that it is herbaceous, was the favorite flower of Linnaeus. Honeysuckle is classified in the division Magnoliophyta, class Magnoliopsida, order Dipsacales, family Caprifoliaceae.
Hooker Street: Hooker Street was named for Thomas Hooker, who was the first minister of Hartford Connecticut. His granddaughter, Mrs. Weld received a grant of land in Nashua, and her ancestors continued to reside in the area.
Hopi Street: The Hopi (which means good, peaceful, or wise) Indians, for whom Hopi Drive is named, come from a group of Southwestern people called Pueblo. The Hopis call themselves Hopitu, the peacable people. They live in northeast Arizona at the southern end of the Black Mesa. A mesa is the name given to a small isolated flat-topped hill with three steep sides called the 1st Mesa, 2nd Mesa, and the 3rd Mesa. On the mesa tops are the Hopi villages called pueblos. The pueblo of Oraibi on the 3rd Mesa started in 1050, and is the oldest in North America that was lived in continuously. Their ancestors, the Anasazi, appear to have been related to the Aztecs of Mexico, and may have arrived in their current location 5 to 10 thousand years ago. In that time, they have developed an intricate ceremonial calendar that has helped them survive and be strong in a place that would not seem to have enough reliable water to sustain life. Although these were not the first Indians in Nashua, a whole group of streets bear various Indian tribe names.
Hopkins Street: Hopkins Street is named after a family that was prominent in the area. Captain Peter Powers and Anna Keyes were some of the first settlers of Hollis, and their family later gave a Centennial Address in Hollis. Peter Powers was later drawn to Dunstable and gained 37.5 acres of land grants from the proprietors of Dunstable. Anne Powers, the daughter of Peter Powers married Benjamin Hopkins Esq. of Milford. George W. Hopkins, a resident of Nashua, later served in the New Hampshire volunteer infantry during the Revolutionary War.
Horizon Circle: Horizon Circle represents the names of many businesses in the Nashua area, including Horizon Business systems, Horizon Communications, Horizons Aerial Photography, and New Horizons Bodywork and Massage. A horizon is defined as the apparent intersection of the earth and sky as seen by an observer. This is also known as an apparent horizon. Many of the companies are named after this word, but it originally came from Middle English horizon.
Horsepond Avenue: Horsepond Avenue is named for the Horsepond Fish and Game Club, which is located at 13 Horsepond Avenue. It was established in 1945 and has a full board of leaders. Becoming a member requires one to know someone already in the club as well as to fill out a full application. There are also very specific rules for the area and membership dues to pay. This has been an important aspect of Nashua’s history, especially because of the connection between hunting from the times of Old Dunstable to this club.
Hosmer Avenue: Hosmer Avenue is named for a famous sculptor. Harriet Hosmer (1830-1908) has brought honor to both her country and her sex by her brilliant work as a sculptor. She proved that Americans can be sculptors and that a woman can handle a chisel as well as palette and brush. Harriet Hosmer was born in Watertown, Massachusetts. She enjoyed a very active childhood with much physical exercise. Since her mother and older sister died of tuberculosis, her physician father encouraged her to spend much time outdoors in the open air. Harriet soon became an all around athlete, participating in hunting, fishing, rowing, and horseback riding. In the fields and forests she gained a thorough knowledge of animal life, and when while she was but a child she began to model dogs, horses, and other animals in a clay pit near her home. The physical strength that she acquired in her childhood would enable her afterward to wield the four pound mallet for eight or ten hours per day that was required of a sculptor. While her studies were of secondary importance, she was still given a good education. Harriet was sent to a progressive school that fostered independence and provided her with creative women role models. She soon found that sculpting was her forte and she went to St. Louis to study anatomy. Next she went to Rome and became the pupil of the famous sculptor, John Gibson, where she attracted the patronage of affluent tourists. For her work, “The Sleeping Faun”, she received $5,000. Harriet was not the only female sculptor in Rome at this time, but became one of a group of American women sculptors dubbed the “White Marmorean Flock”. She also joined herself to a large circle of international artists and writers and became a great success. Some of her most famous works are “Zenobia in Chains” and “Queen of Palmyra”. Interestingly enough, she is related to Ruth Hosmer Powers who lived in New Hampshire, probably in relation to the Powers family that had been related to a settler of Nashua.
Houde Street: Houde Street was named after a well-known family in Nashua. Their family is of the Houde-Houle lineage originally from Canada. Joseph-Balthazar Houle married Blanche Bernatchez on Oct. 28, 1929 in Nashua NH, at St-François-Xavier parish. The second marriage with Blanche Holland on July 17, 1964 at Montréal, Notre-Dame parish was next before the third marriage with Marcelle Leroux on July 1, 1980 at Montréal, Notre-Dame parish. This is one early record. Today, there are various descendants that settled in the area of Nashua, setting up companies that are known by the name Houde, including the Houde & Co. Professional Association. Other Houde family members have resided all over New Hampshire.
Howard Court: Howard Court is named for Samuel Howard. He was an early settler of Old Dunstable and lived from 1684 to February 7, 1769. He died at the age of 85. His family has continued to live in the area.
Howard Street: Howard Street was named for Joseph W. Howard, mayor of Nashua from 1895-1896. He came to Nashua in 1867 and entered the furniture store of E. P. Brown, becoming a partner in the business. Once the firm dissolved, he formed a co-partnership with Captain C. D. Copp. under the firm name of Howard and Copp and later Charles French. Mr. Howard later became sole proprietor of the business in Nashua. He was president of the Howard Furniture company, organized in 1892 and located in a salesroom on Front Street. He owned half of the building his father owned on Howard block. He assisted other enterprises, including the Masonic temple and Odd Fellows building. He served Ward one on the board of selectmen and represented it in the common council in 1877 and 1878. He was in the board of aldermen in 1879 and 1880 and served the city on the board of education for 12 years. He was a member of the legislature of 1887 and 1888 and married Nancy J. Hasselton on August 27, 1868.
Howe Lane: Howe Lane was named for William Howe who was admitted as a citizen of Chelmsford, Massachusetts in the late 1600s. He received 24 acres under the stipulation that he had to set up his trade of weaving, one of the first in the area. Many of his descendants later moved to Nashua and later saw the rise of industry in Old Dunstable.
Howe Road: Howe Road is named for Elias Howe, who spent a few months in Nashua in the early 1840s and used space in Vale Mills to perfect one part of the sewing machine. He was poor, as evidenced by the laundresses’ comment that he had only two shirts to his name. In Boston, he patented the first sewing machine in 1846. A small industry was later formed in Nashua called Weed sewing machines, but after financial problems, it moved to Boston and made bikes.
Hoyts Lane: Hoyts Lane was named for Katherine Prichard Hoyt, who after working at a women’s Reformatory, came to Nashua in 1889 and specialized in gynecology and obstetrics for a few years. She is considered to be the first resident woman physician and she was a member of the New Hampshire Medical society and the New England hospital Medical society of Boston.
Hudson Street: Hudson Street was given its name because it was the route one would take to get to Hudson. Also, Hudson was once part of Old Dunstable with Nashua. Hudson Street also once had a railway. In 1924, Nashua talked about annexing Hudson, but the talks went nowhere.
Hughey Street: Hughey Street is named for a well-known Irish family. Some spelling variations include, Hoey, Huey, O’Hoey, Hoy, Hue, Kehoe, Keogh, MacKeogh, and many more. The family has a crest and was first found in Tipperary where they held a family seat from ancient times at Ballymackeogh and were descended from the MacKeoghs who in turn were descended from their eponymous ancestor Eochaidh O’Kelly one of the ancient Kings of Ui Maine. Some of the first settlers were James Hoey in Charles Town, SC in 1772, William Hoey in 1803, Charles, Dennis, John, Michael, Thomas, and William Hoey in Philadelphia Pa. between 1840 and 1877. Many of the ones in New Hampshire started coming over in 1851, and by 1920, there were not more than 21 in New Hampshire.
Hunt Avenue: Hunt Avenue bears the name of Israel Hunt Jr. He was on a building committee for the town house. Also, he took possession of the Nashua Gazette and Hillsborough Country Advertiser as editor and proprietor in the 1830s. He was a Democrat and made an aggressive paper. He was also a large landholder and was an officer under the charter of Nashua Manufacturing and Mechanics Association. His home was the location of the original Post office. John M. Hunt, his son, later succeeded him and moved the office to Hunt’s General Store.
Hunt Street: Hunt Street bears the name of John M. Hunt who was an influential Democrat, the son of Israel Hunt Jr. He was born on March 31, 1797 and due to circumstances at the time, he received a minimum “common school” education and was self-taught. He married Mary Ann Munroe on January 28, 1833 and had two children. He was the town postmaster of Nashua. After John’s death in 1885, Mary A. Hunt and his daughter Mary E. Hunt bequeathed $85,000 to establish the John M. Hunt Home. The Hunt building is also named for him.
Hunters Lane: Hunters Lane was named for the early hunters and fishermen who supplemented meat and vegetables produced on the farm and sold the surplus in Massachusetts. Hunters Lane is a part of town that once was woods and had many hunters there because of a large wildlife population. After first settling the area, Dunstable was soon covered with apple orchards since many of the settlers came from a section of southeastern England noted for the manufacture of cider.
Huntington Lane: Huntingdon Lane is named for the Huntingdon Racecourse in England, which was holding steeplechase racing as early as 1886. Huntingdon Racecourse may have started as a country race track in 1886, basically as the equivalent of a Point-to-Point track, but little did the then organizers realize that over 100 years later, Waterloo Meadows would set the stage for some of the best Steeple Chasers in the country. In recent years, Huntingdon Racecourse has added a new, high profile race to its Sunday September fixture. The British Mascot Grand National, first run in 1999 has received widespread coverage and publicity and was even shown on the New Zealand Sports review of the Year in 2000. There is a racetrack in Hinsdale, which drew many crowds from Nashua, especially for entertainment purposes.
Huron Drive: Huron Drive was named for the Huron Indians who were part of the Iroquoian people. They were named Hurons by the French in the 17th century, but their name actually means "boar’s head” and came from the Old French hure, which referred to the male Hurons’ bristly coiffure. Although the French gave them this name, the Hurons called themselves Wendat, Guyandot, or Wyandot. These names are assumed to mean "islanders" or "peninsula dwellers." This is because their territory was bounded on three sides by water. Settling between Lake Huron and Lake Ontario, these Indians were significant to both the Americans and the Canadians. One of the most famous things the Hurons were known for is their involvement in the fur trade. Samuel de Champlain, founder of New France, developed a close relationship with the Hurons and they became trading partners. The Hurons would trade their fur with the French for European goods.
Hutchinson Street: Hutchinson Street was named for Captain Elisha Hutchinson, who was made selectman of Nashua on November 28, 1677. He was one of the original proprietors in the colony. Because he owned considerable land in Dunstable, his home was the location of the first town meeting. He was one of the abutting owners to John Whiting’s land. Records indicate that he was one of the first elected men, and participated in some of the earliest meetings held in 1675. Much of his posterity stayed in the town.
Hutton Street: Hutton Street is named for a prominent family in Merrimack, probably some ancestors which had a connection. According to Census records, William R. Hutton (1871), Ada HG Hutton (1880), Hellen Hutton (1906), Elen B. Hutton (1910), Norman G. Hutton (1916) and George M. Hutton (1868) are just a few that were born in Merrimack. Undoubtedly, a few might have moved to Nashua, which would explain the name of the street.
Hyacinth Drive: Hyacinth Drive is named after a flower. It is any plant of the genus Hyacinthus, bulbous herbs of the family Liliaceae (lily family) native to the Mediterranean region and South Africa. The common, or Dutch, hyacinth of house and garden culture became so popular in the 18th century that 2,000 kinds were said to be in cultivation in Holland, the chief commercial producer. This hyacinth has a single dense spike of fragrant flowers in shades of red, blue, white, or yellow. A variety of the common hyacinth is the less hardy and smaller blue- or white-flowered Roman hyacinth of florists. The flower of the Greek youth Hyacinth has been identified with a number of plants other than the true hyacinth. The related grape hyacinths, sometimes called baby's-breath, are very low, mostly blue-flowered herbs similar in appearance to hyacinths and also commonly cultivated
Hyannis Street: Hyannis Street is named for a town of southeast Massachusetts on Nantucket Sound in south-central Cape Cod. It is a popular summer resort and currently, its population is 14,120. Many of the residents of Nashua as well as New Hampshire go there. Also, it has a connection to John F. Kennedy, who announced his campaign in Nashua. The John F. Kennedy Hyannis Museum is located there. It is a window into the days he spent relaxing with his family, boating, and more about his life. Artifacts memorialize John F. Kennedy's affection for Cape Cod.
Inca Drive: Inca Drive is named for another group of Indians. The Inca Civilization was an aboriginal American Indian culture that evolved in the Andean region (western South America) prior to Spanish exploration and conquest in the 16th century. The pre-Columbian civilization was extraordinary in its developments of human society and culture, ranking with the early civilizations of Egypt and Mesopotamia. Viracocha was the feathered serpent god, one among many gods the Incans worshiped. The empire of the Incas was the largest state-level society in the New World prior to the arrival of the Europeans. The Inca Empire was quite short-lived. It lasted just shy of 100 years, from ca.1438 AD, when the Inca ruler Pachacuti and his army began conquering lands surrounding the Inca heartland of Cuzco, until the coming of the Spaniards in 1532.
Indian Fern Drive: Indian Fern Drive is named for the Indian fern, whose scientific named is Ceratopteris thalictroides. It is found primarily in Southeast Asia as a floating plant. It is a very versatile plant and can be grown submersed or as a floating plant. Buds form on older leaves, which can be separated at about an inch across and replanted or left floating. The leaf color and shape is variable under different lighting conditions. Watersprite ("water fern" or "Indian fern") is found naturally in still or slow running waters in almost all tropical areas of the world. This plant is rather unique in that it can be grown rooted in the gravel or a pot (often grows in excess of 60 cm. high), anchored to driftwood, rocks, or growing out of the water. It is also an excellent oxygenating plant and contributes to the biological filtration in the tank. Watersprite thrives in most fresh water conditions preferring soft, slightly acid water and does best at temperatures above 20 degrees Celsius. It likes moderate to bright, direct or indirect, incandescent, fluorescent or natural lighting. The reference to “Indian” in the name may relate to Indian head Avenue, but it is not found anywhere besides Asia or in aquariums.
Indian Head Avenue: Indian Head Avenue is named after the mills that once bore that name. It was derived from the old story of the Indian Head carving on a tree near the projected mill site. The Indian Head Mill was bought by the Jackson Company, which continued to manufacture Indian head cloth. The Indian Head with three feathers has been a symbol of the community since the old Indian war days. As a stamp, its appearance on cloth is rare and a symbol of quality. The Indian Head National bank was also named after this as well as the Indian Head Plaza on top of Temple Street, the Indian Head coin, the Indian Head Coffee House, and the Indian Head rock formation found in New Hampshire. Northern Dunstable was one known as Indian Head Village.
Indian Rock Road: Even though Indian Rock Park is one of Berkeley California’s rock parks in the Northbrae area providing great views and challenges for early-level rock climbing, Indian Rock Road is named for the Indian Head legend of Nashua. Indian Head was named because it was a symbol of early Nashua. Interestingly enough, when people walk along Indian Rock Road, travelers experience cold spots and the intense feeling of being watched by some malevolent force. This is one of the supposedly “haunted” spots in Nashua, NH and is famous for this reason.
Indiana Drive: Indiana Drive is named for the state of Indiana. It is a midwestern state in the North central United States. It is bordered by Lake Michigan and the state of Michigan, Ohio, Kentucky, and Illinois. The Mound Builders were Indiana's earliest known inhabitants, and the remains of their culture have been found along Indiana's rivers and bottomlands. The region was first explored by Europeans, notably the French, in the late 17th cent. The leading French explorer was Robert Cavelier, sieur de La Salle, who came to the area in 1679. By the Treaty of Paris of 1763 ending the French and Indian Wars, Indiana, then part of the area known as the Old Northwest, passed from French to British control. During the American Revolution an expedition led by George Rogers Clark captured, lost, and then recaptured Vincennes from the British. By the Treaty of Paris of 1783 ending the Revolutionary War, Great Britain ceded the Old Northwest to the United States. In 1800, Indiana Territory was formed and included the states of Indiana, Illinois, and Wisconsin, and parts of Michigan and Minnesota. A constitutional convention met in 1816, and Indiana achieved statehood. Jonathan Jennings, an opponent of slavery, was elected governor. Indianapolis was laid out as the state capital, and the executive moved there in 1824–25.Indiana was the site of several experimental communities in the early 19th cent., notably the Rappite (1815) and Owenite (1825) settlements at New Harmony. In the 1840s the Wabash and Erie Canal opened between Lafayette and Toledo, Ohio, giving Indiana a water route via Lake Erie to eastern markets. Also in the 1840s the state's first railroad line was completed between Indianapolis and Madison. During the Panic of 1873, indebted farmers expressed their discontent by supporting the Granger movement and later the Greenback party in 1876 and the Populist party in the 1890s. Industrial development came to the Calumet region along Indiana's Lake Michigan shoreline in the late 19th cent. Marshy wastelands were drained and transformed into an area supporting a complex of factories and oil refineries. Indiana was an early leader in the production of automobiles. Before Detroit took control of the industry in the 1920s, Indiana boasted over 300 automobile companies. Although Indiana in the latter half of the 19th cent. was regarded as a “swing state” electorally, it has generally been conservative throughout the 1900s. Republican J. Danforth “Dan” Quayle, elected to the U.S. Senate in 1980 and 1986, was elected vice president of the United States in 1988. From the 1980s through the mid-1990s, the northern industrial portion of the state experienced a period of significant decline, along with the rest of the midwestern “rust belt.” However, the area around Indianapolis experienced significant growth with a diversified economy. Nashua Indiana is actually named for Nashua NH as well.
Industrial Park Drive: Industrial Park Drive is named for many of the industries in Nashua. It started with the Industrial revolution and continued. An enthusiastic bunch organizing the semi-centennial celebration marked the beginning of the 20th century. Records and recollections show city spirit enthusiastically displayed in both speeches and participation. There was a satisfaction in retrospect of the previous 50 years of Nashua progress. Some statistics from 1900 include the population at 23,898; The Nashua Trust Bank opening in the Masonic Temple Building; The Library having 20,000 books to borrow and a circulation of 62,000 per year. In 1902, Electric Railways linked Nashua to Salem and Nashua to Haverhill, Massachusetts. Tourists, citizens and businessmen rode the trolley across the old Taylors Falls Bridge fortified with iron and tracks. Canobie Lake Park opened in Salem providing Nashuans a pleasant retreat and a scenic tour to the park. The whole trip took about 60 minutes and was very popular. In 1903, the International Paper Box Machine Company began. In 1904 Nashua Corporation, previously known as Nashua Gummed and Coated Paper Company began. Both companies are still in business today with original revolutionary patents of interest such as the first box folding machine and the first bread-wrapping machine. The Nashua Street Railway expanded in 1907 connecting Hudson to Manchester. This new line created an all rail trip between Boston and Concord. An interesting note was you could make the 6 1/2 hour one-way trip for US$1.05. Three years later, the travel enthusiasts of Nashua would wane from the trolleys to their new love, the newly introduced automobile. Jackson Mills was established in 1828 on Canal Street and started production of 'Nashua Woolnap Blankets'. Nashua Manufacturing would purchase their property, franchises, and trademarks along with other mills in Massachusetts and Alabama, and extend trade agreements throughout the world including major routes in China and Africa. Healthcare reached a pinnacle point in 1908 when completion of Saint Joseph Hospital, the first large-scale facility opened and received its dedication. Supporters included Saint Louis De Gonzague Church that provided the land, along with donations from the Nashua Manufacturing Company and many other local contributors. Monsignor Jean-Baptist Henri Victor Milette, Pastor of Saint Louis, invited the Sisters of Charity, the Grey Nuns of Montreal, to administer the staff at the Hospital. There, they would also run what is still known as one of the best schools in nursing. In the next decade, they would expand the facility to include the medical advancement technologies of pathological laboratories and x-ray facilities. Today, you can see such industries as Skillsoft, Pell Engineering & Manufacturing, and other offices on Industrial Park Drive. Many of the office buildings that have sprung up show how much the name does relate.
Ingalls Street: Ingalls Street was named for Eleazer F. Ingalls. He was a blacksmith in the early 19th century. His shop was once in the vacant lot across from Simoneau Plaza. Eleazer Ingalls and his brother Daniel were prominent in the community. Daniel Ingalls served as representative to the General Court in 1811, 1815, and 1816. Henry T. Ingalls served in 1825 and 1826. Eleazer F. Ingalls served in 1826 and 1827. Israel Ingalls, a man from Dunstable, was also part of a July 1776 company for Canada to fight in the NH regiments during the American Revolution.
Ingham Road: Ingham Road was named for Ethel Blood Ingham, a music teacher who contributed to the traditions of Nashua. He was responsible for starting the Nashua Music School in 1897 on Olive Street. It later became the Gage Hotel.
Intervale Street: Intervale Street is named for New England, a tract of low-lying land, especially along a river. Intervale is among the distinctive New England terms mapped by Hans Kurath in the Linguistic Atlas of New England in the 1940s. However, by the time the Dictionary of American Regional English surveyed the New England states 20 years later, only three speakers in 72 New England communities used the word intervale to indicate a “tract of low-lying land, especially along a river.” The word was common in New England at one time because so many settlements were made along the rivers, where the land was more fertile and the towns were accessible by water. Indeed, the low-lying land near the river in Nashua, and the street itself is close in proximity to the Nashua River. Corn and vegetables were often grown on the Merrimack or Nashua River intervale.
Ipswich Circle: Ipswich Circle is actually derived from a borough of eastern England near the North Sea northeast of London. It was a commercial and pottery-making center from the 7th to the 12th century and was later (16th century) important in the woolen trade. Population: 130,600. There are places in the United States that are also named for it, including a town in Massachusetts and New Ipswich in New Hampshire. In Massachusetts, it is on the Ipswich River and Ipswich Bay; inc. 1634. Ipswich clams are found there. Tourism and the production of electronic and wood products are important. Crane's Beach, one of the country's most beautiful beaches, is in Ipswich. Of interest are the many well-preserved colonial and historic buildings; Choate Bridge, the first stone bridge in the United States (1764); and the John Whipple House (c.1640), with the Ipswich Historical Society collection. An air force radar experimental station is also there. Ipswich, England is a city (1991 pop. 129,661) and district, Suffolk, E England, on the Orwell estuary 12 mi (19 km) from its entry into the North Sea. Ipswich is the county seat of Suffolk. A market and port, it exports barley, malt, and fertilizers and imports coal, petroleum, phosphates, grain, and timber. Agricultural machinery and construction vehicles are the chief manufactures of Ipswich, which also has fertilizer, cigarette, malting, milling, brewing, printing, and textile industries. The area was a commercial center and pottery producer from the 7th to 12th cent. The city reached the peak of its significance in the woolen trade in the 16th cent. Its port declined with the decrease in wool trading but revived with new dock construction in the mid-19th cent. Vestiges of Roman habitation remain there. Ipswich was an important ecclesiastical center in the 16th cent. and retains 12 old churches and several 15th- and 16th-century houses. Christchurch mansion (1548, now in part an art gallery), the public school (14th cent.), and Sparrowe's House (1567) are noteworthy. Wolsey's Gate is the only remnant of the college founded in the early 16th cent. by Cardinal Thomas Wolsey, who was born in Ipswich. It is quite likely that early settlers of Nashua had family from the area.
Iris Court: Iris Court is named after another flower. Iris is the common name for members of the genus Iris of the Iridaceae, a family of perennial herbs that includes the crocuses, freesias, and gladioli. The family is characterized by thickened stem organs (bulbs, corms, and rhizomes) and by linear or sword-shaped leaves—small and grasslike in the crocuses and blue-eyed grasses. It is widely distributed over the world except in the coldest regions and is most abundant in South Africa and in tropical America. Almost all of the family's 90-odd genera include commercially valuable ornamentals. The iris family is closely related to the lily and amaryllis families, differing from them in having three stamens rather than six. The many species of wild iris are most common in temperate and subarctic regions of North America, where they are often called flags, or blue flags. Orrisroot, a violet-scented flavoring used in dentifrices, perfumes, and other products, is prepared from the powdered rhizomes of several European species of iris. One species, saffron, is cultivated commercially for a yellow dye made from the pollen. Other members of the family found in the United States are the blue-eyed grasses with small clusters of blue, white, or purplish flowers, ranging from Canada to Patagonia, and the celestial lily with pairs of blue flowers, ranging from the Kansas prairies to Tennessee and Texas.
Iris Path: Iris Path is named for plants with sword-shaped leaves and erect stalks bearing bright-colored flowers composed of three petals and three drooping sepals The iris has been used many times in litterature as well. “It was before him, served with almost incredible despatch - a small cobwebbed bottle and a glass of quaint shape, on which were beautifully emblazoned a coronet and fleur-de-lis.” (The Yellow Crayon by Oppenheim, E. Phillips).
Iroquois Road: The Iroquois Road is named for the Indians who lived the low lands in the 16th century in Southern Ontario and Quebec and in what is now New York State along the St. Lawrence River where they were known as the "Five Civilized Tribes". These tribes included the Cayuga, Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, and Seneca. The Iroquois village consisted of two or more longhouses. In the early years the longhouses were built near streams. Later they were built on hilltops for protection from invading tribes. Around the village, great wooden palisades with watchtowers were built. The village was moved every 10 to 15 years because crops no longer grew well. The Iroquois had an agricultural economy, based mainly on corn, with supplementary crops of pumpkins, beans, and tobacco and later of orchard fruits such as apples and peaches. The Iroquois, which include the Lakota, are working on a project for a Native American Township to preserve the culture. Indeed, Amecap Corporation is one example of a Nashua organization getting involved in this.
Ivy Lane: Ivy Lane is named for ivy, a name applied loosely to any trailing or climbing plant, particularly cultivated forms, but more popularly a designation for Hedera helix, the so-called English ivy, and some related species of the family Araliaceae (ginseng family). Native to Europe and temperate Asia, English ivy is a woody evergreen vine, usually sterile, whose berries contain the poisonous principle hederin. Grown in numerous varieties, it is the most popular house and wall vine. The Boston, or Japanese, ivy (Parthenocissus tricuspidata, of Japan and China) and the American ivy, or Virginia creeper (P. quinquefolia, of North America), are similar species of the family Vitaceae (grape family). Both are sometimes called ampelopsis, a name usually reserved for another related genus. Kenilworth ivy, Cymbalaria muralis, of the family Scrophulariaceae (figwort family) is common to old ruins in Europe; it is often cultivated as a ground cover. Ivy was sacred to Bacchus and was associated with various pagan religions. It was formerly hung as a tavern sign in England. Ivy is classified in the division Magnoliophyta, class Magnoliopsida. The ginseng family ivies are in the order Umbellales, the grape family ivies in the order Rhamnales, and the figwort family ivies in the order Scrophulariales. It can sometimes be seen in Nashua.
Jackson Avenue: Jackson Avenue is named for Patrick Tracy Jackson, who was the cousin of Appleton and the friend and brother-in-law of Francis Cabot Lowell. He collaborated with Lowell to produce a successful power loom. The Jackson Mills, sold to the Jackson company in 1830, bears his name, and was built on Jackson Avenue. The company made the “Nashua Woolnap Blanket.” Nashua Manufacturing would later purchase the Jackson company.
Jackson Street: Jackson Street is named for President Jackson who passed through the town on his way to Concord on June 28, 1833. He was loaned a sleek four-horse barouche and met crowds at two local inns before speaking with them. President Jackson was well-known for his dislike of mill systems.
Jacoby Circle: Jacoby Circle is named after a family seen in Nashua NH. Maurice Jacoby was born in the 1880's in Manhattan before marrying Hannah Levy and moving to West New York, N.J. His brothers and sisters included Agnes (a polio victim), Henry, Frances (married to Timothy Kelly), and Edward (occasionally called Etcher by his siblings). Several of the brothers moved to the Boston area after marrying. Thus, many branched out from here to all parts of New England.
Jake Drive: Jake Drive is probably named after Jacob Jewett, who was a member of a prominent family. The Jewett family has also settled throughout New England.
Jalbert Drive: Jalbert Drive is named for a French family, united as Simoneau-Jalbert. Descendants of the two families reside in New Hampshire and undoubtedly Nashua. Some of the first from this line were seen in Belkap NH and Sullivan NH. The Jalbert family in Canada also connects with the Houle, or Houde family as well. One connection is between Joseph Houle and Jalbert with the son Roger being married at Saint Aloysius here in Nashua.
Jamaica Lane: Jamaica Lane is named for an island country in the Caribbean Sea south of Cuba with a population today of about 2,710,000. Originally inhabited by Arawaks, it was discovered by Columbus in 1494 and settled by the Spanish in 1509. The British captured the island in 1655, and it was formally ceded to Great Britain in 1670, becoming a crown colony in 1865. Jamaica became independent in 1962. Kingston is the capital and the largest city. Sighted by Christopher Columbus in 1494, Jamaica was conquered and settled in 1509 by Spaniards under a license from Columbus's son. Spanish exploitation decimated the native Arawaks. The island remained Spanish until 1655, when Admiral William Penn and Robert Venables captured it; it was formally ceded to England in 1670, but the local European population obtained a degree of autonomy. Jamaica prospered from the wealth brought by buccaneers, notably Sir Henry Morgan, to Port Royal, the capital; in 1692, however, much of the city sank into the sea during an earthquake, and Spanish Town became the new capital. A huge, mostly African, slave population grew up around the sugarcane plantations in the 18th cent., when Jamaica was a leading world sugar producer. Freed and escaped slaves, sometimes aided by the maroons (slaves who had escaped to remote areas after Spain lost control of Jamaica), succeeded in organizing frequent uprisings against the European landowners. The sugar industry declined in the 19th cent., partly because of the abolition of slavery in 1833 (effective 1838) and partly because of the elimination in 1846 of the imperial preference tariff for colonial products entering the British market. Economic hardship was the prime motive behind the Morant Bay rebellion by freedmen in 1865. The British ruthlessly quelled the uprising and also forced the frightened legislature to surrender its powers; Jamaica became a crown colony. Poverty and economic decline led many blacks to seek temporary work in neighboring Caribbean areas and in the United States; many left the island permanently, emigrating to England, Canada, and the United States. Indians were imported to meet the labor shortage on the plantations after the slaves were freed, and agriculture was diversified to lessen dependence on sugar exports. A new constitution in 1884 marked the initial revival of local autonomy for Jamaica. Despite labor and other reforms, black riots recurred, notably those of 1938, which were caused mainly by unemployment and resentment against British racial policies. Jamaican blacks had been considerably influenced by the theories of black nationalism promulgated by the American expatriate Marcus Garvey. A royal commission investigating the 1938 riots recommended an increase of economic development funds and a faster restoration of representative government for Jamaica. In 1944 universal adult suffrage was introduced, and a new constitution provided for a popularly elected house of representatives. By 1958, Jamaica became a key member of the British-sponsored West Indies Federation. The fact that Jamaica received only one third of the representation in the federation, despite its having more than half the land area and population of the grouping, bred resentment; a campaign by the nationalist labor leader Sir Alexander Bustamante led to a 1961 decision, by popular referendum, to withdraw from the federation. The following year Jamaica became an independent member of the Commonwealth. Bustamante, leader of the JLP, became the first prime minister of independent Jamaica. The party continued in power under Donald B. Sangster after the 1967 elections; he died in office and was succeeded by Hugh Shearer. In 1972 the PNP won an impressive victory, and Michael Manley became prime minister. Although the PNP administration worked effectively to promote civil liberties and reduce illiteracy, economic problems proved more difficult. In 1976 the PNP won decisively after a violent election contest between the two parties. The PNP continued to promote socialist policies, nationalizing businesses and strengthening ties to Cuba. Lack of foreign investment and aid continued to hurt the economy. In 1980 the JLP returned to power, with the moderate Edward Seaga as prime minister. Seaga's administration favored privatization, distanced itself from Cuba, attracted foreign investment, stimulated tourism, and won substantial U.S. aid. However, two major hurricanes (1980, 1988) during Seaga's tenure set back prospects for substantial economic progress. In the 1989 elections the PNP ousted the JLP, and Manley returned as prime minister; he chose to continue the policy directions taken by Seaga. Manley was replaced by P. J. Patterson in 1992. The following year Patterson and the PNP were returned to office in a landslide. Patterson led his PNP government to a third term in 1997 and a fourth term in 2002, although the PNP majority was reduced in 2002. Cities in Virginia, Vermont, New York, and Iowa also have the same name. It is also a popular vacation spot for many.
James Street: James Street is named after James Jewell. He was from Dunstable and married Sally Hobart of Hollis on May 31, 1801. The Jewell family is another well-known family in Nashua, thus the name connection.
Jared Circle: Jared Circle is named after Jared Perkins (1793-1854). He was a Representative from New Hampshire; born in Unity, Sullivan County, N.H. on January 5, 1793. Mr. Perkins attended the common schools of Unity and Claremont; later studying theology. He was ordained a minister in 1824 and served for thirty years in that position. He was State councilor from 1846-1848 and served in the State house of representatives in 1850. Jared Perkins was elected as a Whig to the Thirty-second Congress (March 4, 1851-March 3, 1853). He was an unsuccessful candidate for reelection in 1852 to the Thirty-third Congress. Mr. Perkins was nominated for Governor of New Hampshire in 1854, but died before the election. He was appointed justice of the peace in 1854 and served until his death in Nashua, N.H. on October 15, 1854. Jared Perkins is buried in West Unity Cemetery, Unity, N.H.
Jasmine Drive: Jasmine Drive is named after a plant. Jasmine, or Jessamine, was originally from French jasmin, which was from Old French jassemin, from Arabic yasmīn, from Persian yasmīn, yāsman, from Middle Persian yāsman. The French root of the word relates to many of the immigrants who made their way to Nashua. Jasmine is any plant of the genus Jasminum of the family Oleaceae (olive family). The genus, which includes shrubs and clambering plants, is an Old World group, chiefly of tropical and subtropical regions but cultivated elsewhere, outdoors in mild climates and in greenhouses farther north. The blossoms, mostly white or yellow, are usually very fragrant, some being used for scenting tea; the oil obtained from the flowers is utilized in perfumery. The common jasmine (J. officinale) has white flowers and glossy deciduous leaves. Both names are often given to other plants, such as Cape jasmine (see madder) and Carolina jasmine (see logania). Jasmine is classified in the division Magnoliophyta, class Magnoliopsida, order Scrophulariales, family Oleaceae.
Jayron Drive: Jayron Drive is a name that originally came from a variation of Jacob or Jason. Most likely, it is a name of a resident of Nashua.
Jefferson Street: Jefferson Street was named for the third president of the United States, Thomas Jefferson. President Jefferson, however, was opposed to the creation of “black mills,” such as the ones that later became popular in Nashua. His focus was more for an agrarian civilization. Even with his deep dislike for the mills, he stimulated the industry by banning trade with Britain and France during the Napoleonic Wars, thus promoting domestic purchases.
Jenny Hill Lane: Jenny Hill Lane is named for a descendant of the Hill family. Calvin B. Hill, the son of Micah and Sally Hill, was born in East Douglas, Massachusetts and later died in Nashua. His genealogy is clearly traced through eight generations to John Hill, an English member of the Plymouth colony in Massachusetts. Mr. Hill formed a co-partnership with J.W. White under the firm name of White & Hill. Later, he sold his interest and became treasurer of Underhill Edge Tool company. Mr. Hill was a member of the Main street M.E. church and served on its board of trustees.
Jensen Street: Jensen Street is named because of the company that owns it. Jensen's Inc. owns Jensen Park and resides at 907 West Hollis Street, Nashua 03062. There are many descendants of the founding family in Nashua, as well as other with variations on the name (Jansen, Janson, Janssen). It is located near some of the writer and poet streets, thus bearing a similar name. Johannes Vilhem Jensen (1873–1950) was a Danish writer. As a young man he studied medicine; his interest in biology and anthropology is obvious throughout his works. Jensen created a distinctive literary form in his “myths,” brief prose tales with an element of the essay. Selections have been translated as The Waving Rye (1958, tr. 1958). His works, numbering more than 60 volumes, include essays, travel books, and lyrical poems. His epic novel cycle The Long Journey (6 vol., 1908–22; tr., 3 vol., 1923–24), a fantasy based on Darwinian theory, traces the story of humans from primitive times to the age of Columbus. Jensen was awarded the 1944 Nobel Prize in Literature. He was born in Farsø, a village in North Jutland, Denmark. One of his sisters, Thit Jensen, was also a well-known writer. Jensen's literary career began near the turn of the century with the publication of Himmerland Stories (1898-1910), comprising a series of tales set in the part of Denmark where he was born. He also wrote poetry, a few plays, and many essays, chiefly on anthropology and the philosophy of evolution. He developed his theories of evolution in a cycle of six novels, Den lange rejse (1908-22) The Long Journey, which was published in a two-volume edition in 1938. Like his compatriot Hans Christian Andersen, he travelled extensively, even to the United States. A poem of his, "Paa Memphis Station" [At the train station, Memphis, Tennessee] is well known in Denmark. Walt Whitman was among the writers who influenced Jensen. For many years he worked in journalism, writing articles and chronicles for the daily press without ever joining the staff of any newspaper. One of his short stories, Gradiva (1903), became famous for being analysed by Sigmund Freud in Delusion and Dream in Jensen's Gradiva.
Jeremy Place: Jeremy Place is named after a well-known historian. Jeremiah Belknap, New Hampshire's earliest historian, wrote of the period of Old Dunstable that "every man of forty years old had seen twenty years of war". Belknap, a Harvard University graduate (1762), was a Unitarian minister, historian, author, and one of the founders of the Massachusetts Historical Society. He served pastorates in Dover, New Hampshire, and Boston, Massachusetts. His works included: History of New Hampshire, 1784-92, A Discourse Intended to Commemorate the Discovery of America by Columbus, American Biography, The Foresters, an American Tale: Being a Sequel to the History of John Bull the Clothier, circa 1787, and Sacred Poetry: Consisting of Psalms and Hymns Adapted to Christian Devotion in Public and Private, 1795. Jeremy Belknap is known as the founder of the Massachusetts Historical Society, America's prototype for such organizations. He ministered in Dover, New Hampshire, and Boston, Massachusetts. In 1775 he served as chaplain for American troops in Cambridge. Alexis de Tocqueville, a French politician, traveler, and historian, declared Belknap America's best native historian.
Jewell Lane: Jewell Lane was named for an entire family. Charles H. Jewell was a member of the New Hampshire Volunteer Infantry during the war. James Jewell and Nathaniel Jewell served in the American Revolution from Dunstable. James Jewell served under Col. Noah Lovewell. Like George W. Hopkins, they were all residents of Nashua.
Joffre Street: Joffre Street was named for Joseph Jacques Césaire Joffre (January 12, 1852 - January 3, 1931), who was a Catalan French general who became prominent in the battles of World War I. Joffre was born in Rivesaltes, Roussillon. He joined the army in 1870 and became a career soldier. He first saw active service during the siege of Paris in the Franco-Prussian War, but spent much of his career in the colonies as a military engineer. He returned to France and was made commander-in-chief of the French Army (1911), after Joseph Gallieni declined the post. With the revival of the army and a purge of "defensive-minded" officers he adopted the strategy devised by Ferdinand Foch, the offensive Plan XVII. At the outbreak of war, the French plan clashed with the German Schlieffen Plan, much to the detriment of the French. Joffre helped to retrieve the situation through retreat and counterattack at the First Battle of the Marne. Following the enormous losses at Verdun he was replaced by General Robert Nivelle on December 13, 1916. Still popular, Joffre was promoted to Marshal of France but his role was little more than ceremonial. He was head of the French military mission to the USA in 1917 and leader of the Supreme War Council in 1918. In 1918, Mount Joffre in Western Canada was named after him. He retired in 1919 and was made a member of the French Academy. In 1920 Joffre presided over the Jocs Florals in Barcelona, a Catalan literary certamen.
John Street: John Street was named after a Nashua sheriff. In 1944, John L. Spillane of Nashua was deputy sheriff under Sheriff O'Dowd, who was appointed "Commissioner to Perform Duties of the Sheriff" in early 1944 until the election of a new sheriff in late 1944. He stayed on as a deputy sherriff under Sheriff O'Brien for a couple of years before retiring.
Jones Court: Jones Court was named after another well-known family in Nashua. George D. Jones was part of the New Hampshire volunteer infantry and a resident of Nashua.
Jonquil Lane: Jonquil Lane is named for a flower. The sweet scented jonquil is the most indestructible and easy to grow of all garden bulbs, often surviving in abandoned gardens. In China the jonquil is a New Year good luck symbol. The Chinese grow them in a dish filled with water and create extraordinary figures, such as birds or a teapot, by carving the bulbs with a scalpel. The botanical name is Narcissus tazetta. The species name tazetta, an Italian word meaning little cup, refers to the cup at the centre of the flower.It is a widely cultivated ornamental plant (Narcissus jonquilla) native chiefly to southern Europe, having long narrow leaves and short-tubed yellow flowers [Spanish junquilla, from the name Junquello, diminutive of junco, reed, from Latin iuncus.]. Narcissi are sometimes called jonquills in North America, but strictly speaking that name belongs only to the rush-leaved Jonquilla Narcissi and its cultivars. The Narcissi (plural of Narcissus) is a group of hardy spring-flowering bulbs, including the daffodil. The botanic name of the genus is Narcissus. Narcissi are mostly native to the Mediterranean region, but a few species are found through central Asia to China. The range of forms in cultivation has been heavily modified and extended, with new variations available in nurseries practically every year. The Narcissus plant is named after the character of the same name in Greek mythology. Daffodils are the large trumpeted varieties of narcissi, and very prevalent in Nashua.
Judith Drive: Judith Drive was named after Judith Williams. She was the mother of Hannah Blanchard, a family that was well-known throughout the New England area. Many of the members of the Blanchard family settled in Nashua. She lived from 1740-1807.
June Street: June Street, which is named after the month, is appropriately placed near March and April Streets. June is the sixth month of the year in the Gregorian Calendar and one of four with the length of 30 days. June begins (astrologically) with the sun in the sign of Gemini and ends in the sign of Cancer. Astronomically speaking, the sun begins in the constellation of Taurus and ends in the constellation of Gemini. The month is named for the Roman goddess Juno, wife of Jupiter. In old Japanese calendar, the month is called Minatsuki. The first Monday in June is one of the public holidays in the Republic of Ireland; in the Irish Calendar the month is called Meitheamh and is the middle month of the Summer season. The solstice called the summer solstice in the northern hemisphere and the winter solstice in the southern hemisphere occurs around June 21. In the pagan wheel of the year the summer solstice is the time of Litha and the winter solstice is that of Yule. Midsummer is celebrated in Sweden on the third Friday in June. Father's Day is celebrated in Belgium on the second Sunday in June and in the United States, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands and Canada on the third Sunday in June. Gay pride celebrations in many countries in honor of the Stonewall riots occur. The majority of the Portland Rose Festival occurs in June as well.
Juniper Lane: Juniper Lane is named after a type of tree. It is any tree or shrub of the genus Juniperus, aromatic evergreens of the family Cupressaceae (cypress family), widely distributed over the north temperate zone. Many are valuable as a source of lumber and oil. The small fleshy cones are berrylike in appearance. The so-called common juniper (J. communis) is found throughout the genus range and is also much cultivated in different varieties, e.g., dwarf and pyramidal. Its cones are the juniper berries used for flavoring gin and other beverages and sometimes in cooking. The juniper most common in North America is usually called red cedar (J. virginiana) and is found over most of the E United States. Its fragrant, insect-repellent wood, closegrained but brittle, is much used for chests, closets, posts, woodenware, and pencils, for which uses the large forests of these trees have been depleted. Oil of red cedar has been used in medicine, perfumery, and microscopy. It is the alternate host of the apple-cedar rust. Other trees are sometimes called red cedar. Western juniper, J. occidentalis, of the W United States (not to be confused with the western arborvitae, although both are also called western red cedar) has edible cones. Native Americans also used the cones of other Western species as food and the bark for fiber. Junipers have been used for incense in Asia and by the Plains people in religious ceremonies. Juniper is classified in the division Pinophyta, class Pinopsida, order Coniferales, family Cupressaceae.
Kanata Drive: Kanata Drive is named as part of a section of town bearing Indian names. In 1535, two Indian youths told Jacques Cartier about the route to “Kanata.” They were referring to the village of Stadacona; Kanata was simply the Huron-Iroquois Nations word for village, “kanata” to refer to the country he had encountered, Canad. Thus,the close proximity of the Iroquois Road and Huron Drive shows the connection of the name to the Indians.
Karnoustie Way: Karnoustie Way is most likely a variation of the spelling for Carnoustie in Tayside, Scotland. Some sportscasters have spelled Carnoustie as Karnoustie, hence the mix-up. It is a small town (pop.10,200) with golf links at the mouth of the Barry Burn on the east coast of Scotland, in the District of Angus. Golf is recorded as having been played here as early as 1527, which was earlier than at St Andrews, where the first record of golf dates from 1552. The original course was ten holes, crossing and recrossing the burn. The opening of the coastal railway from Dundee to Arbroath in 1838 brought an influx of golfers from as far away as Edinburgh, anxious to tackle the ancient links. This led to a complete restructuring of the course, extended in 1867 by Old Tom Morris, to eighteen holes, which had become the standard. The town of Carnoustie was founded only towards the end of the eighteenth century. In 1890, the Earl of Dalhousie, who owned the land, sold the links to the people of the town to be kept available for their recreation in perpetuity. While the townspeople are the owners, today the links are administered on their behalf by Angus District Council. Two additional courses have since been added - the Burnside Course and the shorter, though equally testing Buddon Links. Carnoustie first played host to The Open Championship in 1931, after modifications to the course by James Braid in 1926. The winner then was Tommy Armour, from Edinburgh, Scotland. Later Open winners at Carnoustie were the Englishman Henry Cotton in 1936, Ben Hogan (USA, in 1953), Gary Player (South Africa, 1968), Tom Watson (USA, 1976) and Paul Lawrie (Aberdeenshire, 1999). In North America, the course is nicknamed "Car-Nasty" due to the famously difficult conditions. The term "Carnoustie effect" dates from the 1999 Open, when many of the world's best players, reared on smooth American courses, were frustrated by the unexpected difficulties of the links. Whereas major championships are usually won by scores well under par, at Carnoustie the winning score in 1999 was six strokes over par. One much-fancied young favorite went straight from the course to his mother's arms in tears. That Open may best be remembered for the epic collapse of French golfer Jean Van de Velde, who needed only a 6 on the par-4 18th hole to win the Open—and proceeded to shoot a triple-bogey 7, eventually losing a playoff to Lawrie. The Open Championship will be played at Carnoustie again in 2007. The "Carnoustie effect" is defined as "that degree of mental and psychic shock experienced on collision with reality by those whose expectations are founded on false assumptions." This being a psychological term, it can of course apply to disillusionment in any area of activity, not just in golf.
Kathy Drive: Kathy Drive is named after Katherine Winn. She was the majorette of the award-winning 1948 VFW military band. She was well known in Nashua as being both peppy and high-spirited.
Katie Lane: On Katie Lane, the first house built was by the White family, whose ancestors lived in the area for quite awhile. William White is credited with inventing the wool washer, wool feeding device, and wool dryer. Great-grandfather Charles F. White was born in 1815 in Hillsborough Co., NH (family knowledge). This was shown on an 1855 "proving up" document on a Washington Territory donation land claim that also revealed that he had a brother, George H. White, and a sister, Sarah Jane White (he had named them as "heirs in law"). These siblings had not accompanied Charles west as his party consisted of wife Elizabeth Buchanan, whom he had married in Indiana, a six year old son, Sylvanus, and a brother-in-law, Michael Buchanan. It is highly likely that the street was named after a daughter or relative.
Keats Street: Keats Street is named after John Keats. He was an English poet born in London (1795–1821). He is considered one of the greatest of English poets a leader in romanticism. His poems include “Ode on a Grecian Urn,” “Ode to a Nightingale,” and “Endymion,” which contains the famous line “A thing of beauty is a joy forever.” The son of a livery stable keeper, Keats attended school at Enfield, where he became the friend of Charles Cowden Clarke, the headmaster's son, who encouraged his early learning. Apprenticed to a surgeon (1811), Keats came to know Leigh Hunt and his literary circle, and in 1816 he gave up surgery to write poetry. His first volume of poems appeared in 1817. It included “I stood tip-toe upon a little hill,” “Sleep and Poetry,” and the famous sonnet “On First Looking into Chapman's Homer.” Endymion, a long poem, was published in 1818. Although faulty in structure, it is nevertheless full of rich imagery and color. Keats returned from a walking tour in the Highlands to find himself attacked in Blackwood's Magazine—an article berated him for belonging to Leigh Hunt's “Cockney school” of poetry—and in the Quarterly Review. The critical assaults of 1818 mark a turning point in Keats's life; he was forced to examine his work more carefully, and as a result the influence of Hunt was diminished. However, these attacks did not contribute to Keats's decline in health and his early death, as Shelley maintained in his elegy “Adonais.” Keats's passionate love for Fanny Brawne seems to have begun in 1818. Fanny's letters to Keats's sister show that her critics' contention that she was a cruel flirt was not true. Only Keats's failing health prevented their marriage. He had contracted tuberculosis, probably from nursing his brother Tom, who died in 1818. With his friend, the artist Joseph Severn, Keats sailed for Italy shortly after the publication of Lamia, Isabella, The Eve of St. Agnes, and Other Poems (1820), which contains most of his important work and is probably the greatest single volume of poetry published in England in the 19th cent. He died in Rome in Feb., 1821, at the age of 25. In spite of his tragically brief career, Keats is one of the most important English poets. He is also among the most personally appealing. Noble, generous, and sympathetic, he was capable not only of passionate love but also of warm, steadfast friendship. Keats is ranked, with Shelley and Byron, as one of the three great Romantic poets. Such poems as “Ode to a Nightingale,” “Ode on a Grecian Urn,” “To Autumn,” and “Ode on Melancholy” are unequaled for dignity, melody, and richness of sensuous imagery. All of his poetry is filled with a mysterious and elevating sense of beauty and joy. Keats's posthumous pieces include “La Belle Dame sans Merci,” in its way as great an evocation of romantic medievalism as “The Eve of St. Agnes.” Among his sonnets, familiar ones are “When I have fears that I may cease to be” and “Bright star! would I were as steadfast as thou art.” “Lines on the Mermaid Tavern,” “Fancy,” and “Bards of Passion and of Mirth” are delightful short poems. Some of Keats's finest work is in the unfinished epic “Hyperion.” In recent years critical attention has focused on Keats's philosophy, which involves not abstract thought but rather absolute receptivity to experience. This attitude is indicated in his celebrated term “negative capability”—“to let the mind be a thoroughfare for all thought.
Keith Street: Keith Street was named after Jeremiah Keith. He served in the American Revolution and was from Dunstable. He went to Rhode Island as a volunteer with Col. Noah Lovewell.
Kehoe Avenue: Kehoe Avenue bears its name from a family in Nashua NH. Kehoe was once known for its “first class grocery store” here in Nashua. Today, many descendants live in the area.
Kelly Street: Kelly Street is named after a prominent family in New Hampshire, descendants of Moses Kelly (or Kelley) who later moved to Nashua. Moses Kelly settled first in Atkinson, New Hampshire near the limits of Salem. He was one of a committee, chosen on January 13, 1773, to give deeds of the pews in the meeting-house newly erected in Atkinson. The births of his children, except that of his youngest one, were recorded in that town, though two or three of the later ones were born after his removal from Atkinson. "Moses Kelly, gentleman,” of Atkinson, bought from Timothy Ferrin, of Goffstown NH, a tract of land in the latter town on May 7, 1773. He soon afterward removed to this spot and became interested in military matters. He owned a tavern and was a prominent local supporter of the "Sons of Liberty". His tavern, called "Kelley's Tavern" was located at the corner of Mast Road and Libby Street. It was here, in the early days of the Revolutionary War, meetings of the Sons of Liberty took place. Moses Kelly was a selectman and town moderator in Goffstown and was also a delegate to the county congress during the Revolutionary War. During the war he attained the rank of Colonel. As Lieut. Colonel his activities included: enlisted July 1, 1777; 5 days; alarm at Ticonderoga; colonel; enlisted Aug. 6, 1778; 25 days; expedition to Rhode Island. Kelley Falls in Goffstown and Kelley St. in Manchester were both dedicated in his honor. His home is still standing and is the oldest house in the Pinardville section of Goffstown at the intersection of Mast Road and Fairview Street. In Henniker, on July 5, 1777, twenty-two men enlisted to form the larger part of a company known as the Second Company of the 9th New Hampshire regiment of militia, commanded by Col. Moses Kelly of Goffstown. Col. Kelly held the office of High Sheriff of Hillsborough County for thirty years (from 1775 to 1808). He received his appointment under the British Crown. “His appearance in court was imposing, dressed as he was in a scarlet coat, white vest, buff-colored breeches and white top boots. He also wore a cocked hat and a gold hilted sword." From Goffstown, Col. Kelly moved to Hopkington, NH. Many of his descendants live on in his memory.
Kendall Way: Kendall Way is named for an early settler of Dunstable. The last name, Kendall, appears in a local graveyard. The Kendall family has been prominent throughout Nashua history. Hannah Jewett Kendall, a resident of Nashua, died on April 16, 1861. Rebekah, also from Nashua, died on June 10, 1840. Later records indicate that the family moved to Bedford, but Eliza Kendall later married Mr. Emerson, who lived in Nashua. The family made many contributions to the city. J. Norman Kendall invented a machine for cutting elastics for shoes and cutting stiffening for shoes. Another member of the family, P. A. Kendall manufactured and dealt in all kinds of saws on 20 Railroad Square.
Kendrick Street: Kendrick Street is named for a prominent family in Nashua. Rev. William P. Kendrick, who came from Dunstable, had a college education at Harvard. Stephen Kendrick was elected as General Court Representative in 1838. Also, the street could be named for the owner of the famous Kendrick and Tuttle store on the corner of Main and Amherst. Stephen Kendrick ran one of the earliest stores in Nashua where they sold imported English and French woolens. John Kendrick and Stephen Kendrick were part of a meeting to sign a charter from the New Hampshire Legislature for the Nashua Manufacturing Company. John Kendrick took fifteen shares of the company.
Kenmare Road: Kenmare Road is named after a small town (ca. 1200 inhabitants by 2004) in the south of County Kerry, Ireland. Since many of the Irish immigrants might have come from the area, the name comes from this small town. It lies on 2 of the more famous Irish tourist attractions, namely the Ring of Kerry and the Ring of Beara, approximately 22 miles (38 km) from Killarney. Kenmare has a population of 1844 (CSO 2002). The modern town was laid out in about 1670 by the English nobleman Sir William Petty, 1st Marquis of Lansdowne. The three main streets that form a triangle in the centre of the town were called William Street (now called Main Street), Henry Street (after the son of William) and Shelbourne Street, which was named after the Earl of Shelbourne. However, the area has more ancient roots. There is one of the biggest stone circles in Ireland very close to the town showing occupation by Celtic peoples long before English occupation. Vikings are said to have raided the area. Another name for Kenmare is Head of the Sea, which is believed to have been given to the area by the Vikings and translated into the Irish 'Ceann Mara' and hence corrupted by the English into Kenmare. It is rather famous for the lace work of a nunnery situated in town.
Kennedy Street: Kennedy Street was named for John F. Kennedy, who came to Nashua in 1960. He started his campaign trail to the White House with his presidential candidacy announcement in front of City Hall. Later, a bust was put in front of City Hall in memory of the event. The Telegraph reported that it was stolen, but it was recovered from someone’s basement.
Kent Lane: Kent Lane is named for a man that owned a prominent business in Nashua, NH. J. E. Kent sold dry and fancy goods and notions at 23 Factory Street. The store was founded in 1866 and the proprietor was native of New York State, but was well-known personally in Nashua. He served in both branches of the city council, which made him very well respected.
Kern Drive: Kern Drive is named after an American composer, Jerome David Kern (January 27, 1885 – November 11, 1945) considered to be part of the “Songwriter’s Hall of Fame.” He wrote around 700 songs and more than 100 complete scores for shows and films in a career lasting from 1902 until his death. Jerome Kern was born in New York City. His parents named him Jerome because they lived near Jerome Park, a favourite place of theirs (Jerome Park was named after Leonard Jerome, who was the father of Jennie Jerome, mother of British Prime Minister Winston Churchill). He grew up on East 56th Street in Midtown Manhattan, where he attended public schools. He studied at the New York College of Music and then in Heidelberg, Germany. When he came back to New York, he started working as a rehearsal pianist, but it didn't take long for him to become a prominent and renowned composer. By 1915, he was represented in many Broadway shows. In 1920, he wrote "Look for the Silver Lining" for the musical Sally. 1925 was a major turning point in Kern's career, for he met Oscar Hammerstein II, with whom he would entertain a lifelong friendship and collaboration. Their first show (written together with Otto Harbach) was Sunny. Together, they produced next the famous Show Boat in 1927, which includes the well-known songs "Ol' Man River" and "Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man". The musical Roberta (1933) gave us "Smoke Gets In Your Eyes". In 1935, Jerome Kern moved to Hollywood and started working on music for films but continued working on Broadway productions, too. His last Broadway show was the rather unsuccessful Very Warm For May in 1939; the score included another Kern–Hammerstein classic, "All The Things You Are". Kern's Hollywood career was successful indeed. For Swing Time (starring Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire), he wrote "The Way You Look Tonight" (lyrics: Dorothy Fields), which won the Academy Award in 1936 for the best song. In 1941, he and Hammerstein wrote "The Last Time I Saw Paris", a homage to the French city just recently occupied by the Germans. The song was introduced in the movie Lady Be Good and won another Oscar for Best Song. Jerome Kern died at the age of 60 in New York. Kern Drive is named for him, but it used to be an asparagus field.
Kerry Lane: Kerry Lane is named after a family who owns a company called Kerry Fire Protection. It is an Irish name meaning ciar. The word means "dark" and probably implies "dark hair and brown eyes. County Kerry means "the land of the descendant of Ciar" who was the love-child of the High King Fergus Mac Roth and the legendary Queen Maebh.
Kessler Farm Drive: Kessler Farm Drive is named after the family that owned Kessler Farm. Currently, the farm is owned by George Kessler and used to be a rolling farmland off of Nashua’s Amherst Street. The milk barn was later converted into the First NH bank branch and is now the Ground Round restaurant.
Killian Drive: Killian Drive is named after a family that had descendants in Nashua NH and many who settled throughout the New England region. The family has Irish and German descendent and is also known as Killion. Two of the classic sources of information on Irish surnames are the books by Rev. Patrick Woulfe and by Edward MacLysaght. Rev. Patrick Woulfe's book was Irish Names and Surnames, written in 1923. Woulfe maintains that the name comes from O Killane, Killane, Killan, Killian, Killion; 'descendant of Cillean' (diminutive of Ceallac); a var. in Clare and Galway of Ó Cillín, q.v. or O Killine, O Killen, Killeen, Killen, Killian, Killion; 'descendant. of Cillín' (a 'pet' diminutive of Ceallac, war); the name of several distinct families in different parts of the country, as Clare, Galway, Mayo, Westmeath, Offaly, Kildare and Down, in all of which it is still extent. In his book More Irish Families, Edward MacLysaght equates the names Killeen and Killian, and gives their origin as the Irish form Ó Cillín. MacKILLEN is from Ó Cillín, anglicized Killeen, usually without the prefix O, belongs both by historical association and by present day location to the west of Ireland, being found in the three Atlantic seaboard counties, Clare, Galway and Mayo. In successive centuries - 1143 (Four Masters), 1585 (Composition Book of Connacht), 1655 (Book of Survey and Distribution - Killeens are recorded as residing at or near Ballykileen which is in the parish of Annagh, Co. Mayo, while more than a century later in 1783 the Galway Wardenship Mss. record Killeens as resident at Ballinrobe in the same county. The surname first occurs as early as A.D. 964 in the person of Cormac O'Killeen, Bishop of Clonmacnois; in 1106 his namesake was archdeacon of that diocese; in 1026 Conell O'Cilline is recorded as succesor of Cronan of Tuamgraney, Co. Clare. Some families which crossed the Shannon and settled in Co. Westmeath use the form Killian. Woulfe is usually reliable and accurate but I think he might be mistaken in equating Killen with Killeen. Killen is probably simply MacKillen without the prefix. Both these belong chiefly to Antrim, the Irish form being MacCoilín or MacCailin, a galloglass family brought from Scotland by the O'Donnells in the fifteenth century. It is true that the enumerators recorded O'Killin as one of the more numerous Irish names in Co. Down in 1659, but they frequently confused the prefixes O and Mac and it is more probable that the family so described were really MacKillens. In north-east Ulster MacKillen may be confused with MacQuillan. There were several mediaeval ecclaisiastical dignitaries in Connacht called O'Killeen. In our own time Dr. John Killeen, Bishop of Port Augusta (now Port Pirie), is remembered for his help in combating the "Black & Tan" campaign. Two Belfast men, Rev. Thomas Young Killen (1826-1886) and Rev. William Dore Killen (1806-1902) were notable as leading Presbyterians; also from Co. Antrim was James Bryce Killen (1845-1916), the Fenian and cofounder with Michael Davitt of the Land League; another Fenian was the New York lawyer Dorian Killian; and going back to an earlier insurrection there was John Killen, who was most unjustly hanged in 1803 for his alleged complicity in Robert Emmet's attempt.
Kim Drive: Kim Drive is named after a family that was centered in Pittsburgh, originally from Scotland. Some of the descendants came to settle in other areas throughout New England.
King Street: King Street is named after Aaron King, who was born in Palmer, Massachusetts on June 22, 1818 and died in Nashua Oct. 3, 1888. He was a passenger conductor for the Worcester and Nashua railroad, covering the road for nineteen years. In 1870, he helped to build the Nashua and Rochester road as appointed construction agent. Interested in the people of Nashua, Mr. King gave his money and influence so that Nashua would be prosperous. He later joined the Pearl Street Congregational Church and was also accepted to the Scottish Rite. According to those who knew him, he was too modest to seek public office. He married Elizabeth Ramsdell on September 1, 1852.
Kingston Drive: Kingston Drive is named after Kingston, (population 600,000) the capital of Jamaica and it is located southeast of the country. It is settled in a natural harbour, protected by the Palisadoes, a long sandspit which connects Port Royal and the Norman Manley International Airport to the rest of the island. Note that Kingston the city (often called Greater Kingston or the "Corporate Area") is much larger than the Parish of Kingston (that includes only the old Downtown and Port Royal). Much of the "Corporate Area" is situated in the Parish of St. Andrew. Founded in 1693 by the British, after a disastrous earthquake destroyed much of the previous capital of Port Royal (French for King's Port), the city became the seat of administration for Jamaica in 1872, keeping the status when the island was granted independence in 1962. On January 14, 1907 an earthquake in Kingston killed more than 1,000 people. Apart from being the seat of the Jamaican Government, the city is also home to the Mona campus of the University of the West Indies founded in 1948. Several annual and well-visited festivals are held in Kingston. Two parts comprise the central area of Kingston: Downtown, which is its historic yet troubled part and New Kingston, which is home to the city's most visited attraction, the Bob Marley Museum, built at his home. Several other reggae stars, including Buju Banton and Beenie Man, also hail from Kingston. Other attractions include the nearby Hellshire and Lime Cay beaches, the National Gallery of Jamaica, and Devon house, a mansion with adjoining park that once belonged to Jamaica's first black millionaire, as well as the ruins of Port Royal. Kingston is served by Norman Manley International Airport. At Tinson Pen, there is an airport serving flights within Jamaica, including those to Montego Bay. Courtney Walsh (1962-) is a world famous cricketer who was born in Kingston.
Kipling Street- Kipling Street was named for the famous British author Rudyard Kipling. The contractor of this district believed that it would be useful to name all the streets after famous writers and poets. Kipling was born Dec. 30, 1865, in Bombay, and educated in England. From 1882 to 1889 he edited and wrote short stories for the Civil and Military Gazette of Lahore, India. He then published Departmental Ditties (1886), satirical verse dealing with civil and military cantonment life in British colonial India, and a collection of his magazine stories called Plain Tales from the Hills (1887). Kipling’s literary reputation was established by six stories of English life in India, published in India between 1888 and 1889, that revealed his profound identification with, and appreciation for, the land and people of India. Thereafter he traveled extensively in Asia and the U.S., married (1892) Caroline Balestier (1865–1939), an American, lived briefly in Vermont, and finally settled (1903) in England. He was a prolific writer; most of his work attained wide popularity. He received the 1907 Nobel Prize in literature. Kipling died Jan. 18, 1936, in London. Kipling Street is with other streets such as Dickens Street and Thoreau Street.
Kittery Street- This street was named for the town of Kittery, Maine. This town was an influential trader post for Americans during colonial times. It was New Hampshire’s naval shipyard during the early years and it is still an influential tourist post today. The contractor named this street to commemorate the influence it had on American trade.
Kristina Street- The contractor chose to name this street Kristina. This technique is often referred to as the “contractor’s choice” and is named for someone in the family or to sound pleasing.
Kyle Street- The contractor chose to name this street Kyle. This technique is often referred to as the “contractor’s choice” and is named for someone in the family or to sound pleasing.
Laconia Street- Laconia Street was named for the Laconia Company founded by John Mason. The Laconia Company was a group that settled through New Hampshire during the days of early colonization. The group set up post to establish trade relations in the area and was responsible for the establishment of American trade relations.
Lacy Street- The contractor chose to name this street Lacy. This technique is often referred to as the “contractor’s choice” and is named for someone in the family or to sound pleasing.
Lamplighter Street- Lamplighter Street was named for a ship that sailed in the civil war. It was one of the largest ships in the war and was burned by the North in an attack by the south on October 15, 1862. The street is located in the civil war district of Nashua where many of the streets are named for people or places from the civil war.
Lancaster Street- This street was named for the town in England where the story of Robin Hood took place. After the rebellion against the Earl of Lancaster, the people of England fled into Sherwood Forest. The street is located near Friar Tuck Street and Robin Hood in an area named Sherwood Forest.
Lacy Lane- This street, like Kyle Street was another “developer’s choice” name.
Langholm Drive- This street was named for the town of Langholm in Scotland and the name was chosen by the developer.
Laramie Circle- This street was named for Fort Laramie, located in Wyoming. It is located next to Custer Street, whose name came from Custer, the man responsible for breaking the Laramie Treaty in 1874.
Laredo Circle- Laredo Texas provided the inspiration for this street name. It is a city, seat of Webb Co. in S Texas, a port of entry on the Rio Grande opposite Nuevo Laredo, Mexico that was inc. in 1852. It is a leading commercial and tourist gateway to Mexico and serves as a trade and manufacturing center of a region in which grain, livestock, petroleum, and natural gas are produced. Products include refined antimony, clothing, electronic equipment, and processed food. Maquiladoras, twin-plant assembly systems where U.S.-made components are assembled in Mexico and then sent back to the U.S., operate here. Laredo, which is noted for retaining much of the atmosphere of Spanish colonial times, is the home of Laredo State University (1969), a junior college, a philharmonic orchestra, and the San Agustin Historical District. Laredo was founded by Spaniards in 1755 and is named for Laredo, in Santander, Spain. From 1839 to 1841 it was the capital of the so-called Republic of the Rio Grande. It became a frontier post in 1848, when the U.S.-Mexico boundary was established, and it grew rapidly after being reached by rail in the 1880s. Growth accelerated after the discovery nearby of petroleum in the early 1920s.
Laurel Court- This is another first name street found next to Heather, Leslie, and Nancy streets.
Learned Street- Isaac Learned was one of the founders of the Lowell and Pawtuckville regions. It was named to commemorate his contributions to the area.
Lee Ann Street- This is another example of a street that uses a first name and serves as a “developer’s choice.”
Lee Street- Robert E. Lee was the brilliant Confederate general, whose military genius was probably the greatest single factor in keeping the Confederacy alive through the four years of the American Civil War. Lee was born on Jan. 19, 1807, in Stratford, Va., the son of Lighthorse Harry Lee, and was educated at the U.S. Military Academy. He graduated second in his class in 1829, receiving a commission as second lieutenant in the engineers. He became first lieutenant in 1836, and captain in 1838. He distinguished himself in the battles of the Mexican War and was wounded in the storming of Chapultepec in 1847; for his meritorious service he received his third brevet promotion in rank. He became superintendent of the U.S. Military Academy and later was appointed colonel of cavalry. He was in command of the Department of Texas in 1860, and, early the following year, was summoned to Washington, D.C., when war between the states seemed imminent. President Abraham Lincoln offered him the field command of the Union forces, but Lee declined. On April 20, three days after Virginia seceded from the Union, he submitted his resignation from the U.S. Army. On April 23 he became commander in chief of the military and naval forces of Virginia. For a year he was military adviser to Jefferson Davis, president of the Confederate States of America, and was then placed in command of the army in northern Virginia. In February 1865 Lee was made commander in chief of all Confederate armies; two months later the war was virtually ended by his surrender to Gen. Ulysses S. Grant at Appomattox Court House. His great battles included those of Antietam, Chancellorsville, Fredericksburg, and Gettysburg. The masterly strategy of Lee was overcome only by the superior resources and troop strength of the Union. His campaigns are almost universally studied in military schools as models of strategy and tactics. He had a capacity for anticipating the actions of his opponents and for comprehending their weaknesses. He made skillful use of interior lines of communication and kept a convex front toward the enemy, so that his reinforcements, transfers, and supplies could reach their destination over short, direct routes. His greatest contribution to military practice, however, was his use of field fortifications as aids to maneuvering. He recognized that a small body of soldiers, protected by entrenchments, can hold an enemy force of many times their number, while the main body outflanks the enemy or attacks a smaller force elsewhere. In his application of this principle Lee was years ahead of his time; the tactic was not fully understood or generally adopted until the 20th century. Lee applied for but was never granted the official postwar amnesty. He accepted the presidency of Washington College, now Washington and Lee University, in the fall of 1865; within a few years it had become an outstanding institution. He died there on Oct. 12, 1870. Lee has long been revered as an ideal by southerners and as a hero by all Americans. His antebellum home is now known as Arlington House, the Robert E. Lee Memorial, and is a national memorial. In 1975 Lee’s citizenship was restored posthumously by an act of the U.S. Congress.
Lemon Street- Lemon Street was named for lemons. It is the common name for a small thorny tree, Citrus limon, of the family Rutaceae and for its fruit. Lemon trees are cultivated throughout the subtropical regions of the world. Lemons were first brought from the Middle East to Spain and northern Africa during the Middle Ages. The cultivated lemon is probably a hybrid of two wild species of Citrus, most likely lime and citron. Lemon trees grow about 3 to 6 m (about 10 to 20 ft) tall and are sparsely covered with foliage. The flower has five sepals, five petals, numerous stamens, and a solitary pistil. The upper surface of each petal is white, and the lower surface is pinkish. Lemon flowers have a sweet odor comparable to, but less marked than, the odor of orange flowers.
Leslie Lane- This is another first name street, which was a developer’s choice.
Liberty Street- This street was named for the Liberty Bell. It is the historic bell in Independence National Historical Park in Philadelphia, rung on July 8, 1776, after the first public reading of the Declaration of Independence. The bell weighs 943.5 kg (2080 lb) and is 3.7 m (12 ft) in circumference at the lip. The bell bears the following inscription: "Proclaim Liberty Throughout All the Land unto All the Inhabitants Thereof. Lev. XXV:X." The bell was ordered in 1751 and was cast in London. It arrived in Philadelphia in August 1752 and was cracked while being tested. It was melted down, and a second bell was cast in April 1753, but this one was also defective. A third was cast in June of that year, by the firm of Pass and Stowe in Philadelphia. On June 7, 1753, the third bell was hung in the tower of Independence Hall. In 1777, during the American Revolution, British troops occupied Philadelphia. The bell was removed from the tower and taken to Allentown, Pa., for safekeeping. It was returned to Philadelphia and replaced in Independence Hall in 1778. Thereafter, the bell was rung on every July 4 and on every state occasion until 1835, when, according to tradition, it cracked as it was being tolled for the death of Chief Justice John Marshall. The bell was moved to its present location in a glass pavilion near Independence Hall in 1976.
Lilac Court- Lilac Court was named for New Hampshire’s state flower. Lilacs are about 30 species of flowering, deciduous shrubs that belong to the plant genus Syringa of the olive family, Oleaceae. Most species are cultivated, and their fragrant blooms range from white through shades of lilac to deep crimson. The common lilac, S. vulgaris, is native to southeastern Europe. Introduced into western Europe in the 16th century, it reached the American colonies before the 1700s. Since that time it has been extensively used for landscaping as an ornamental throughout the temperate zones of the United States. The common lilac is a vigorous shrub that grows up to 6 m (20 ft) in height and is able to withstand harsh environmental conditions. It bears dense, pyramidal clusters of flowers in May and oblong, capsular fruit. The leaves are simple and ovate. The Persian lilac, S. persica, another popular cultivated species, has long, tubular flowers that grow in loose clusters. It reaches heights up to 3 m (10 ft). The late lilac, S. villosa, native to China, has long, broad leaves and lilac or pinkish white flowers. A treelike lilac, S. reticulata, native to Japan, bears yellowish white flowers.
Lincoln Avenue- Abraham Lincoln, the 16th president of the United States, guided his country through the most devastating experience in its national history--the Civil War. He served as a lawyer, representative, and is famous for the Lincoln-Douglas debates. In 1837, he visited Nashua , and like other presidents, a street was named in his honor.
Linda Street- This is another first name street chosen by the developer.
Lisa Drive- This was a first name chosen by the developer.
Lisbon Lane- Lisbon (Portuguese: Lisboa) is the capital, largest city, and chief port of Portugal. The population of the city is 681,063 (1991), and that of Lisbon district is 2,048,000 (1992 est.). About 20% of Portugal's population lives in Lisbon and its suburbs. The city lies on the northern shore of the Tagus River about 13 km (8 mi) from the Atlantic, on the westernmost piece of land in Europe. The estuary there is 3 km (2 mi) wide, but on the inland, or eastern, side of the city it expands into a large, shallow lagoon. Lisbon's harbor is one of the finest in southern Europe.
Lockness Drive- Lockness is a town of Scotland, famous for the Lockness Monster. The street is in an area with other Scottish-named streets.
London Drive- London is the capital and largest city of the United Kingdom. The city (coterminous with the county of Greater London) covers 1,580 sq km (610 sq mi) and has a population of 6,378,600 (1991). The first settlement, the Roman Londinium, was founded in AD 43 on a terrace near the north bank of the River Thames, 64 km (40 mi) from its estuary on the North Sea. The river is tidal, and London has been a port for seagoing vessels since the Roman period. London's size and population mirror the city's economic importance; it is one of the world's leading financial and insurance centers, as well as an important industrial city. London's climate is one of mild winters and cool summers. Rainfall is heaviest in the months of October and November. The city has a reputation for severe fog as a result of the damp air combined with atmospheric pollution. The pollution, however, has been much reduced in recent years.
Lone Star Drive- This is named for the Lone Star state, Texas and is located next to Colonial Street. Stretching 1,244 km (773 mi) from east to west and 1,289 km (801 mi) from north to south, Texas, the Lone Star State, occupies almost 7.5 percent of the total U.S. land area--a region as large as all of New England, New York, Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Illinois combined. By 1994, Texas had grown to become the second most populous U.S. state, moving ahead of New York and following California. It derives its name from the Spanish and Indian words tejas and techas ("friends" or "allies"). Texas shows the influence of both the Indians and the Spanish, French, and other European explorers and missionaries. In 1820, Moses and Stephen F. Austin started the Anglo-American colonization that culminated in the organization of a provisional government at San Felipe on Nov. 3, 1835, and in independence from Mexico on Mar. 2, 1836. After almost ten years as an independent republic, Texas became a U.S. state on Dec. 29, 1845. The modern economic development of Texas started in January 1901 with the eruption of an oil well drilled at Spindletop, near Beaumont. The rapid discovery of oil in other parts of the state led to a boom that has never really stopped. The economy of Texas has become highly diversified, and its population has more than quintupled during the 20th century.
Louisburg Square- This street is named for the Battle of Louisburg where many New Hampshire militia men fought back the Indian raids in the territory. This battle gained recognition for the New Hampshire militia and was a test of their ability to survive attacks from outside groups.
Lowell Street- Lowell Street is named for the city of Lowell in Massachusetts. It is located about 48 km (30 mi) northwest of Boston, at the confluence of the Merrimack and Concord rivers. One of two county seats of Middlesex County (the other is Cambridge), Lowell has a population of 103,439 (1990). The city has electronics, chemical, and plastics industries. The birthplace of the painter James McNeill Whistler, Lowell is also the seat of the University of Lowell--established by the 1975 merger of Lowell State College (1894) and Lowell Technological Institute (1895). First settled in 1653, Lowell became an important textile center in the 19th century when the waters of the Merrimack were harnessed to provide power for the mills and the Middlesex Canal system was completed.
Lucier Street- Alvin Lucier was born in Nashua in 1931 and made significant contributions to the music industry.
Lyons Street –This street is named after a one John Lyons, a local who was killed while serving his country in the Vietnam War. Also associated with said Lyons Park also named for this individual and his family.
Luke Street- This street was named for Luke, similarly to Kyle Street. This technique is often referred to as the “contractor’s choice” and is named for someone in the family or to sound pleasing.
Lunar Lane- Lunar Lane was named for the lunar space program. Throughout the 19th and 20th centuries, visual exploration through powerful telescopes has yielded a fairly comprehensive picture of the visible side of the moon. The hitherto unseen far side of the moon was first revealed to the world in October 1959 through photographs made by the Soviet Lunik III spacecraft. These photographs showed that the far side of the moon is similar to the near side except that large lunar maria are absent. Craters are now known to cover the entire moon, ranging in size from huge, ringed maria to those of microscopic size. Photographs from U.S. spacecraft—Ranger 7, 8, and 9 and Orbiter 1 and 2—launched by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration in 1964 and 1966 further supported these conclusions. The entire moon has about 3 trillion craters larger than about 1 m (3.32 ft) in diameter.
Lund Road/Street- Lund Road was named for Jonathan Lund, one of the New Hampshire men who fought in the Battle of Bunker Hill. His name is listed on the New Hampshire monument to Bunker Hill. His prominence in the area gained him many honors.
Lutheran Drive- One of the streets in the religious district of town is Lutheran Drive. Lutheranism arrived in America with the early European settlers. In 1625 some Dutch, German, and Scandinavian Lutherans settled in New Amsterdam (now New York City). In 1638 another early Lutheran settlement was founded by Swedes in what is now Delaware. At the beginning of the 18th century German Lutherans settled in large numbers in Pennsylvania. In 1742 Pastor Henry Melchior Muhlenberg (1711–87) arrived from Germany and soon founded (1748) the first Lutheran synod in North America. After the American Revolution, each successive group of Lutheran immigrants founded its own churches and synods and conducted its services in the language of its country of origin. Because of the large numbers of immigrants to the U.S. and Canada in the 19th and early 20th centuries, the integration of Lutherans into North American society went slowly, and Lutheranism was divided into numerous German, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Finnish, and Slovak groups. Following World War I, however, unification and integration proceeded rapidly. The process accelerated after World War II, and by the early 1980s mergers had consolidated most Lutherans in the U.S. and Canada into five major bodies: the Lutheran Church in America (LCA), with about 3 million baptized members; Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LCMS), with a membership of about 2.7 million; the American Lutheran Church (ALC), with about 2.4 million members; the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS), with about 400,000 members; and the Association of Evangelical Lutheran Churches (AELC), with about 115,000 members. In 1982, the LCA, ALC, and AELC voted to merge after a 5-year preparatory interval in one Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), effective Jan. 1, 1988. Lutheranism is the third largest Protestant denomination in the U.S.
Madera Circle – This Street is located in the Westgate area in Nashua, where most of the streets are named for random cities which are located in Western region on the United States.
Madison Avenue- James Madison, 4th president, Democratic-Republican, was born on Mar. 16, 1751, in Port Conway, King George Co., VA, the son of James and Eleanor Rose Conway Madison. Madison graduated from Princeton in 1771. He served in the Virginia Constitutional Convention (1776), and, in 1780, became a delegate to the Second Continental Congress. He was chief recorder at the Constitutional Convention in 1787 and supported ratification in the Federalist Papers, written with Alexander Hamilton and John Jay. In 1789, Madison was elected to the House of Representatives, where he helped frame the Bill of Rights and fought against passage of the Alien and Sedition Acts. In the 1790s, he helped found the Democratic-Republican Party, which ultimately became the Democratic Party. He became Jefferson’s secretary of state in 1801. Madison was elected president in 1808. His first term was marked by tensions with Great Britain, and his conduct of foreign policy was criticized by the Federalists and by his own party. Nevertheless, he was reelected in 1812, the year war was declared on Great Britain. The war that many considered a second American Revolution ended with a treaty that settled none of the issues. Madison’s most important action after the war was demilitarizing the U.S.-Canadian border. In 1817, Madison retired to his estate, Montpelier, where he served as an elder statesman, "the last of the fathers." He edited his famous papers on the Constitutional Convention and helped found the University of Virginia, of which he became rector in 1826. He died June 28, 1836.
Mahogany Drive – This is a type of tropical American evergreen tree, which is often valued for their hard, reddish-brown wood. Mahogany wood is heavy, strong, and easily worked and resists rot and termites. It is used in cabinetry and veneers and formerly, before all the large trees was cut, in construction. Other genera in the family besides the true mahoganies also yield useful wood, oils, insecticides, and edible fruits. The chinaberry tree, Melia azedarach, native to the Himalayas, is widely planted in the southern U.S. as an ornamental.
Main Dunstable Road – This road was named after Dunstable which used to encompass the area in which Nashua is located. This road was named because or it’s heavy traffic and it’s central nature. On October 26, 1673, a 200 square mile rectangle called 'Dunstable Massachusetts Bay Colony' was chartered into a Massachusetts Bay colony township. The name Dunstable derived from a town in England.
Main Street – Main Street was named because it was originally the “main” street through Nashua. Many of the local businesses began on Main Street and City Hall was later built on it.
Major Drive – This Street may be named for the military rank of major which is one of someone that is above captain and below lieutenant colonel.
Manatee Street – This Street is named after the aquatic sea cow, which is an ocean dwelling mammal. Manatees are found on both sides of the tropical Atlantic Ocean. They are sluggish, largely nocturnal bottom feeders and consume up to 100 lb of vegetation daily. They must surface for air every 15 or 20 min. They are usually 7 to 12 ft long and weigh about 500 lb, although males sometimes grow much larger. Their paddle-like tail fin is nearly circular. Both parents care for the young, one holding it while the other dives for food.
Manchester Street – This road was named because it was a common access road to the city of Manchester, New Hampshire. The city of Manchester was named after Manchester, England. It is not unlike many other cities and even the state’s named, which was named for the region of Hampshire England.
Manilla Street – This road was named for bay that bears its name in the Philippians. Manila Bay is nearly landlocked inlet of the South China Sea, the Philippines. About 35 miles wide at its broadest point and 30 miles long, it is the best natural harbor in East Asia and one of the finest in the world. The city of Manila is on the eastern shore of the bay, and on the southeast is the city of Cavite, and a historic naval base. The entrance to Manila Bay) is divided by the island of Corregidor into two channels; the northern channel, between Corregidor and Bataan peninsula, is only 2 miles wide. During the Spanish-American War, in the battle of Manila Bay (May 1, 1898), an American squadron under Commodore George Dewey destroyed the Spanish fleet off Cavite within a few hours. The Manila Bay area was the focus, during the early phase of World War II, of a desperate attempt to save the Philippines from Japanese conquest. In the Allied recovery of the Philippines, many Japanese ships were sunk in the bay. The large U.S. naval base on Sangley Point was closed down in the early 1980s.
Maple Street – This Street is named for the numerous deciduous trees common to this area which grows in the North Temperate Zone. This tree is one whose leaves are shed during the foliage season. In addition, maple wood is popular because of its hard, close-grained wood structure. This type of wood is used primarily for furniture and flooring.
Mapleleaf Drive –Mr. Roger Duhamel named Mapleleaf Drive because of his love for the Maple tree. This is one method commonly know as the “developer’s choice” method for naming streets. The Maple tree’s leaves are green during their natural growing season, but during the fall, they change to other hues, such as reds, oranges, and yellow. The scenic views of Nashua during the foliage season have made it popular among tourists.
Mapleshade Drive – Refer to Maple Street and Mapleleaf for information.
March Street – March Street, located near April and June, is named for the month of March. It is the third month of the Gregorian year, according to the present calendar. March was the first month of the Roman year, named for Mars, the god of war. In England, until the Gregorian calendar was adopted in 1752, March was considered the first month with the legal year beginning on March 25
Marina Drive – This road is located near the Nashua River and the developer chose the name because of its view of the river.
Mark Street – This Street is located near Gary and Keith streets and seems to have no historic value; it was simply named after a common first name.
Marlowe Street - Marlowe, Christopher 1564—93, English dramatist and poet, b. Canterbury. Probably the greatest English dramatist before Shakespeare, Marlowe was educated at Cambridge and he went to London in 1587, where he became an actor and dramatist for the Lord Admiral's Company. His most important plays are the two parts of Tamburlaine the Great (c.1587), Dr. Faustus (c.1588), The Jew of Malta (c.1589), and Edward II (c.1592). Marlowe's dramas have heroic themes, usually centering on a great personality who is destroyed by his own passion and ambition. Although filled with violence, brutality, passion, and bloodshed, Marlowe's plays are never merely sensational. The poetic beauty and dignity of his language raise them to the level of high art. Most authorities detect influences of his work in the Shakespeare canon, notably in Titus Andronicus and King Henry VI. Of his non-dramatic pieces, the best-known are the long poem Hero and Leander (1598), which was finished by George Chapman and the beautiful lyric that begins "Come live with me and be my love." In 1593, Marlowe was stabbed in a barroom brawl by a drinking companion. Although a coroner's jury certified that the assailant acted in self-defense, the murder may have resulted from a definite plot, due, as some scholars believe, to Marlowe's activities as a government agent.
Marquis Avenue – This Street is named for the noblemen’s ranking that bears the same name. The rank of marquis is one of someone below a duke and above an earl or a count.
Marshall Street – This Street may be named after Willard Marshall who at one time owned part of the land that is now Mines Falls Park. This street could also be named for the Marshall’s Livery Stable that was located on Mellin Court off Canal Street, which in its day was a major source of local transportation. In its day the livery stable provided much the same service as a car rental service would today.
Mason Street –John Mason was English colonizer in North America, born in King’s Lynn, Norfolk. From 1615 to 1621 he was governor of an English colony at Conception Bay, Newfoundland. In 1622 he and another English colonizer, Sir Ferdinando Gorges, obtained from the Council for New England the province of Maine, which in 1629 was divided between them. At that time Mason also received another grant, extending from the Merrimack River to the Piscataqua River. To this area he gave the name New Hampshire. In 1635 Mason served as vice admiral for New England and as a judge in New Hampshire.
Massachusetts Drive – Massachusetts Drive was named for the state, which is located near other state streets. It is officially the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, one of the New England states of the U.S., bordered on the N by Vermont and New Hampshire, on the E by the Atlantic Ocean and several of its arms (such as the Gulf of Maine, Massachusetts Bay, Boston Bay, and Cape Cod Bay), on the SE by the Atlantic Ocean and a number of its arms (such as Nantucket Sound and Buzzards Bay), on the S by Rhode Island and Connecticut, and on the W by New York. Massachusetts entered the Union on Feb. 6, 1788, as the sixth of the 13 original states. It early became an important intellectual center, known for Harvard University and the cultural institutions of Boston. In the 19th century, it developed into a major manufacturing state, noted for textiles and footwear; in the mid-20th century, electronic components and other high-technology items became leading manufactures. Massachusetts is famous for its summer resorts, such as the sand beaches of Cape Cod. Presidents John Adams, John Quincy Adams, and John F. Kennedy were born in the state and President Calvin Coolidge spent most of his life here. The name of the state is probably derived from an Algonquian Indian village and may mean "place of big hills." Massachusetts is called the Bay State.
Massasoit Road – This was name after the Wampanoag Indians whom were native to this region of New England. More specifically this street was name after their leader who lived from 1580 to 1661. Massasoit (măs´´soi´ĭt, măs´soit´´) was chief of the Wampanoag, he was also known as Ousamequin (spelled in various ways). One of the most powerful native rulers of New England, he went to Plymouth in 1621 and signed a treaty with the Pilgrims, which he faithfully observed until his death. He befriended Roger Williams and was a friend of Edward Winslow. In 1632 he fought his enemy, Canonicus, ruler of the Narragansett. Massasoit's son, Metacomet, became famous as King Philip (see King Philip's War).
Maurice Street – This Street is named for Maurice Delude who’s family lived in Nashua and when these few particular streets here developed, the area surrounding and encompassing this street. The family name and several others in immediate family are names of streets in the surrounding area.
Mayfair Lane –Located near Nashua River, Mayfair Lane was named for festivals that they held in Nashua years ago.
May Street –May Street is located near March, April and June streets, so its name comes from the month of the year. It is the fifth month of the year, containing 31 days. It was the third month of the old Roman calendar. Since ancient times May 1 has been the occasion for various celebrations. In the U.S., May Day, Memorial Day, and Mother’s Day are celebrated in May. In the northern hemisphere, May is the last month of the season of spring.
McKean Street – This Street was named for Frank McKean, one of Nashua quite popular and personable mayors. Oddly enough, Mr. McKean after serving as mayor on Nashua later disappeared and was pursued by the legal authorities when it was discovered that he had, in fact embezzled $90,000 from the bank at which he was employed. This and the news that was to come shortly after shocked all that knew him as he had apparently been supporting a second household in Boston for many years. McKean later surfaced in South America were he died only a few years later.
Meade Street – General Meade was a Union general in the Civil War. He joined the Union forces at the outbreak of the American Civil War, participating in the defense of Washington, D.C., in 1861. As a major general of volunteers he fought at the Battle of Chancellorsville in 1863 and shortly thereafter was appointed commander of the Army of the Potomac. In July 1863, in the battle that is considered the turning point of the war, he defeated the Confederate forces at Gettysburg, Pa. He continued as commander of the Army of the Potomac, working closely with Gen. Ulysses S. Grant, until the end of the war. Promoted to major general in the regular army in 1864, Meade commanded various military departments in the U.S. until his death.
Meadow Lane – This Street was named if not too imaginatively for the meadows and field that seems to be very prevalent in its area. The road it’s once bordered on a large meadow which is the reason for its name.
Meadowbrook Drive – Was named for the many streams and brooks the abut some of the meadows in field of the most rural Nashua. One in particular is not far from this street near one of the local park which most is how this road got its name.
Meadowview Circle – This Street was named after the condominium complex those names it bears.
Mechanic Street – Mechanic Street is located in the region of Nashua associated with the Nashua Mills because of its close proximity. This street is named for mechanics who served in the mills. Their skills helped ensure the success of such companies as Jackson Co. and Nashua Manufacturing Company because of their work with various types of machinery.
Melrose Street –Melrose is a city in Massachusetts. The city is in Middlesex Co., NE Massachusetts, a residential community near Boston; settled 1633, inc. as a city 1900. Electronic equipment is manufactured in the city. Melrose is named for Melrose, Scotland.
Mercury Lane –Mercury, in the solar system is the planet closest to the sun. Its mean distance from the sun is approximately 58 million km (about 36 million mi); its diameter is 4875 km (3030 mi); its volume and mass are about 1/18 that of the earth; and its mean density is approximately equal to that of the earth. Mercury revolves about the sun in a period of 88 days. Radar observations of the planet show that its period of rotation is 58.7 days, or two-thirds of its period of revolution. The planet, therefore, rotates one and a half times during each revolution. Because its surface consists of rough, porous, dark-colored rock, Mercury is a poor reflector of sunlight.
Meredith Drive – Named after Meredith New Hampshire which is a town in the northern part of the state. It is located on the coastline of the famed Lake Winnipesaukee famous for it’s crystal clear waters and beautiful mountain scenery. The town prides it’s on it Meredith's quaint Main Street which features traditional white clapboard buildings with a unique variety of distinctive shops, boutiques, galleries and restaurants overlooking the lake. In for generations, Meredith has greeted visitors with its unsurpassed beauty and a tradition of sincere New England hospitality.
Merrill Street – This was the name of an early settler in this area who settled a tract of land as early as 1710. On November 30th, 1737 a Congregational church was formed in this area and on that very day a Rev. Nathan Merrill was ordained as it’s pastor a position he held until his death in 1796. In 1805 a Baptist church was organized over which Rev. Daniel Merrill officiated over for a number of years. Also E. T. Merrill served as a representative of Nashville in 1844.
Metropolitan Avenue – This Street refers to the term Metropolitan, which means of, relating to, or characteristic of a major city. This street was most likely named for the part of town in which it is located.
Miami Street –The Miami area was long inhabited by Indians. The first permanent non-Indian settlement was established in the 1870s near the site of U.S. Fort Dallas, which had been built (1835) during the Seminole Wars. Expansion began after the railroad magnate Henry M. Flagler (1830–1913) extended a railroad to the site in 1896 and promoted the city as a resort area. The Florida land boom of the mid-1920s led to rapid development, and during World War II several federal administrative and military agencies were established here. Large numbers of refugees from Cuba and other persons of Hispanic background settled in Miami beginning in the 1960s. Occasional hurricanes, notably in 1926, 1935, and 1992, caused considerable damage to the city and surrounding area. The name of the city may have been derived from a Tequesta Indian term for "big water," perhaps referring to Lake Okeechobee.
Middle Dunstable Road – This road was named after Dunstable which used to encompass the area in which Nashua is located. On October 26, 1673, a 200 square mile rectangle called 'Dunstable Massachusetts Bay Colony' was chartered into a Massachusetts Bay colony township. The name Dunstable derived from a town in England.
Milford Street – This Street was named for the town close to Nashua, which bares the name of the street, Milford. The town itself is named after the Souhegan River’s shallow Mill Ford, so called after the many mills at this location in the eighteenth century.
Mill Pond Drive- These two streets were named for the mills in Nashua. The mill company provided a major source of revenue for the city, and was one of the original centers of Industry in the nation.
Mill Street – These two streets were named for the mills in Nashua. The mill company provided a major source of revenue for the city, and was one of the original centers of Industry in the nation.
Milton Street –Milton is a city in Massachusetts which is the site of Curry College (1879); Blue Hill Observatory (1885); Milton Academy (1807), a preparatory school; and the Museum of the American China Trade. Settled in 1636 as part of Dorchester and separated from it in 1662, Milton developed as a mill town and industrial center. Manufacturing declined in the 19th century and the large estates here broke up in the 1930s.
Mohawk Drive- Mohawk Drive is part of the Indian tribe section of town. The Mohawk tribe lived in Nashua prior to English Colonization during the 1700’s. They are known as a Native American people formerly inhabiting northeast New York along the Mohawk and upper Hudson valleys north to the St. Lawrence River, with present-day populations chiefly in southern Ontario and extreme northern New York. The Mohawk were the easternmost member of the Iroquois confederacy.
Mohegan Drive- Mohegan Drive was named after the Mohegan Indians who lived on the Hudson River Valley in New York in the 1500s. After the settlers colonized the area and wiped out much of the tribe, they were put on a small reservation and later given rights to run casinos. These native North Americans spoke a language that belongs to the Algonquian branch of the Algonquian-Wakashan linguistic stock. Also called the Mohican, they were the eastern branch of the Mahican. In the early 17th cent. the Mohegan occupied most of SE Connecticut, their chief village being on the site of the present village of Mohegan on the Thames River. When European settlers arrived in this region, the Mohegan and the Pequot were one tribe, living under the rule of Sassacus. Later Uncas, a subordinate chief, rebelled against Sassacus and assumed the leadership of a small group on the Thames River near Norwich. This group was known as the Mohegan. After the fall of Sassacus the greater part of the Pequot joined the Mohegan, who in 1643 numbered some 2,300. The Mohegan, supported by the British, became one of the most powerful tribes in S New England. As white settlements were extended, the Mohegan sold most of their land and accepted a reservation on the Thames; others joined with neighboring tribes. By the early 19th cent. the Mohegans were practically extinct, although they became known to the world with the publication in 1826 of James Fenimore Cooper's novel The Last of the Mohicans. In 1990 there were about 1,000 Mohegan in the United States; they gained federal recognition as a tribe in 1994. In 1996 the tribe opened a casino and resort on its reservation in Montville, Ct.
Monadnock Street –Monadock Mountain and the Monadnock Mill Company were both important to the history of New Hampshire. Mondanock Mill Company was founded in New Hampshire in 1831 and the company has adapted to society, even throughout the Great Depression and is still in business.
Monias Drive- This street has its history entwined in two possible sources. Charles Monia, who is an important politician for towns surrounding Nashua, may have been prominent at the time of the street’s naming. Also, an Italian family that moved into the area might have been the reason it was named Monias.
Monica Street- Monica Street was named after Saint Monica, born of Christian parents at Tagaste, North Africa, in 333. She died at Ostia, near Rome, in 387 and became a saint because of her acts of loyalty to God during times of suffering.
Monroe Street/Drive- Monroe Street was named for President Monroe, elected in 1816 and 1820. The street was named shortly after his term in office. He earned respect throughout many of the states during his presidency. As a youthful politician, he joined the anti-Federalists in the Virginia Convention, which ratified the Constitution, and in 1790, he was elected United States Senator. He was the Minister to France from 1794-1796 and displayed strong sympathies for the French cause. Later, he helped negotiate the Louisiana Purchase with Robert R. Livingston. His ambition and energy, together with the backing of President Madison, made him the Republican choice for the Presidency in 1816. With little Federalist opposition, he easily won re-election in 1820. Monroe made unusually strong Cabinet choices, naming a Southerner, John C. Calhoun, as Secretary of War, and a northerner, John Quincy Adams, as Secretary of State. Only Henry Clay's refusal kept Monroe from adding an outstanding Westerner. Early in his administration, Monroe undertook a goodwill tour. At Boston, his visit was hailed as the beginning of an "Era of Good Feelings." Unfortunately these "good feelings" did not endure, although Monroe, his popularity undiminished, followed nationalist policies. Across the facade of nationalism, ugly sectional cracks appeared. A painful economic depression undoubtedly increased the dismay of the people of the Missouri Territory in 1819 when their application for admission to the Union as a slave state failed. An amended bill for gradually eliminating slavery in Missouri precipitated two years of bitter debate in Congress. The Missouri Compromise bill resolved the struggle, pairing Missouri as a slave state with Maine, a free state, and barring slavery north and west of Missouri forever. In foreign affairs Monroe proclaimed the fundamental policy that bears his name, responding to the threat that the more conservative governments in Europe might try to aid Spain in winning back her former Latin American colonies. Monroe did not begin formally to recognize the young sister republics until 1822, after ascertaining that Congress would vote appropriations for diplomatic missions. He and Secretary of State John Quincy Adams wished to avoid trouble with Spain until it had ceded the Floridas, as was done in 1821. Great Britain, with its powerful navy, also opposed reconquest of Latin America and suggested that the United States join in proclaiming "hands off." Ex-Presidents Jefferson and Madison counseled Monroe to accept the offer, but Secretary Adams advised, "It would be more candid ... to avow our principles explicitly to Russia and France, than to come in as a cock-boat in the wake of the British man-of-war." Monroe accepted Adams's advice. Not only must Latin America be left alone, he warned, but also Russia must not encroach southward on the Pacific coast. ". . . the American continents," he stated, "by the free and independent condition which they have assumed and maintain, are henceforth not to be considered as subjects for future colonization by any European Power." Some 20 years after Monroe died in 1831, this became known as the Monroe Doctrine.
Monterey Avenue - A monastery in California during the Great Depression provided the inspiration for the name Monterey Avenue. Famous artists, artisans, writers, those in search of wealth and those in search of adventure were lured to the area by a quality unique to this place, as expressed in the works of John Steinbeck, Ansel Adams, Francis McComas and others.
Montgomery Avenue- Montgomery Avenue was named after Montgomery, the capital of Alabama. Designated the state capital in 1847, the city boomed as a cotton market and port on the Alabama River. From February to May 1861 it served as the first capital of the Confederate States of America. Today, its population is 200,000.
Monza Road- Monza Road was named after Monza, Italy, which was a minor Roman settlement in which thirty-two sieges were placed upon the settlement. The settlement withstood all the attacks. The city (1991 pop. 120,651), is located in Lombardy, N Italy. Manufactures of this highly diversified industrial center include felt hats, carpets, textiles, glass, plastics, and machinery. The history of Monza is closely related to that of Milan. The cathedral, founded (6th cent.) by the Lombard queen Theodolinda, contains the iron crown of Lombardy, which was made, according to tradition, from a nail of Christ's cross and which was used to crown Charlemagne, Charles V, Napoleon I, and other emperors as kings of Lombardy or of Italy. An expiatory chapel was built (1910) at the place where King Humbert I was assassinated in 1900. Monza has the Autodromo, a major automobile racetrack (rebuilt 1955).
Morgan Street- Morgan Street was named for Henry Dennis Morgan, a Civil war hero from Nashua, NH. After the war, his courageousness gained him prestige in the community.
Morrill Street – Morrill Street was named after Anne Morrill and her family. During the 1870’s, the era of the Civil War, her husband served as mayor of Nashua.
Morse Avenue- One of the first residents of New Dunstable, John Morse, built his house on the street that would later become known as Morse Avenue.
Mosele Court – Mosele Court is a family name, Mosele, but the alternate spelling, Mosely, relates to an early resident of Nashua New Hampshire. Capt. Samuel Mosely sent men to protect the people of Dunstable from Indian attacks.
Mount Pleasant Street- Mount Pleasant Street was named after the Mount Pleasant School, located on the street.
Mount Vernon Street- Mount Vernon Street was named after Mont Vernon, located in New Hampshire near Nashua, New Hampshire. Mont Vernon is a town located in Hillsborough County, New Hampshire. As of the 2000 census, it had a population of 2,034. It is not entirely clear why it is spelled differently than the many other towns in the United States named after Mount Vernon, the home of George Washington. Some say the "u" in "Mount" was accidentally dropped by a town clerk filling out official papers, and others say the change was made deliberately to distinguish the town as a tourist destination. As late as the early 1900s, there was some dispute about how to spell the name.
Mulberry Street –Mulberry Street is the common name for the Moraceae, a family of deciduous or evergreen trees and shrubs, often climbing, mostly of pantropical distribution, and characterized by milky sap. Several genera bear edible fruit, e.g., Morus, (true mulberries), Ficus (the fig genus), and Artocarpus, which includes the breadfruit and related species. The related hemp family, whose plants do not contain latex, were formerly included in this family.
Murphy Road –Maw Eleanor Murphy and her family were prominent in Dunstable. Murphy Road was named by one of the ancestors, many of whom lived in Nashua New Hampshire.
Murray Court – Murray Court was named for Orlando Dana Murray, the newspaper man who started the Oasis. He was involved with founding the Nashua Corporation and both positions earned him esteem in the community.
Musket Drive – Musket Drive was named for muskets, which revolutionized fighting style and warfare, taking away hand to hand combat and changing it to something most view as a horrid destructive and counter productive. A musket is a muzzle-loaded, smooth-bore long gun. Its user fires from the shoulder, except in the case of the rare wall guns. The date of the origin of muskets remains unknown, but they are mentioned as early as the late 14th century. Muskets became obsolete by the middle of the 19th century, as rifles superseded them. Typical musket calibers ranged from .50 to .75 inches. A soldier primarily armed with a musket had the designation of a musketman or of a musketeer. As bullets, muskets used spherical lead balls packed in a paper cartridge which also held the black powder (gunpowder) propellant. The balls, slightly smaller than the bore, came wrapped in a loosely-fitting paper patch which formed the upper part of the cartridge.
Myrtle Street- Myrtle Street was named Myrtle, whose common name is Myrtaceae, a family of shrubs and trees almost entirely of tropical regions, especially in America and Australia. The family is characterized by leaves (usually evergreen) containing aromatic volatile oils. Many have showy blossoms. Although of lesser importance in the United States, the family is of considerable economic value throughout the world for timber, gums and resins, oils, spices, and edible fruits. The true myrtle genus (Myrtus) is predominantly of the American tropics, but the classical myrtle (M. communis) is native to the Mediterranean area. It is a strongly scented bush whose glossy leaves and blue-black berries were made into wreaths for victors in the ancient Olympic games. (In America several unrelated plants are also called myrtles, e.g., the sand myrtle of the heath family, the periwinkles of the dogbane family, and several species of the bayberry family.) Among the many trees of the myrtle family yielding edible fruit, only the guava (genus Psidium), native to tropical America, is grown commercially in the United States. The most important spice plants of the family are the clove tree (Syzygium aromaticum or Eugenia caryophyllata), native to the Moluccas and the Spice Islands, and the tropical American Pimenta genus that includes the pimento or allspice (P. officinalis or dioica) and the bay rum tree (P. racemosa), source of an oil used as an ingredient of bay rum. Eucalyptus, a large genus of evergreen shrubs and trees, is a characteristic component of the flora in its native Australia, where it is the leafy haunt and sole food source of the koala, often associated with it in story. Among its many common names are ironbark, bloodwood, and gum tree (a name also applied to many unrelated trees). Numerous species, especially the Tasmanian blue gum (E. globulus), are now naturalized in the W United States and have become the distinctive vegetation of many California areas that were previously treeless. In Australia several species are among the tallest trees known, e.g., E. regnans, which reaches a height of over 300 ft (91 m). Eucalyptus trees are a valuable source of timber, of kinos (a resinous substance used in medicines and tanning), and of eucalyptol and other essential and medicinal oils. Some hardwood members of the myrtle family are among the many trees known as ironwood, e.g., Eugenia confusa, of Florida and tropical America. The myrtle family is classified in the division Magnoliophyta, class Magnoliopsida, order Myrtales.
Nashua Drive –Nashua New Hampshire’s name
also appears on Nashua Drive, located at the heart of the city.
Nashville Street – Nashville Street was named for a neighboring town Nashville that existed as early as 1800. Originally, Dunstable encompassed this town as well as Nashua.
Natick Street- Natick Street was named after the township of
Natick in Massachusetts.
National Street- The developer responsible for naming National Street chose the name to show pride in the city and love for the United States.
Nelson Street- Nelson Street was named after an early resident
of Dunstable, Jeremiah Nelson.
Neptune Lane – Neptune Lane was named after the planet, but the original name of the planet came from the Greek god of the ocean. Neptune is the eighth planet from the sun, and the outermost gas giant in our solar system. It is fourth largest by diameter and third largest by mass. Due to Pluto's eccentric orbit, Neptune is sometimes the furthest planet from the Sun. Neptune is named after the Roman god of the sea. Its symbol is a stylized representation of the god's trident (Unicode: ♆). Neptune has been visited by only one spacecraft, Voyager 2, which flew by the planet on August 25, 1989.
Nevada Street – Nevada Street was named after the U.S. state Nevada which was the 36th state as of 1864. Located in the west, it was part of the area ceded by Mexico to the United States in 1848 and became a separate territory in 1861 after an influx of settlers drawn by the discovery (1859) of the Comstock Lode. Carson City is the capital and Las Vegas the largest city. Today, its population is 2,330,000.
New Street- This is one of the new streets in Nashua
New Haven Drive- New Haven Drive was named after New Haven University, a college abundant in arts and sciences. The college was named after the township in Connecticut, which has grown into the second largest city in the state. New Haven was is a city of southern Connecticut on Long Island Sound northeast of Bridgeport. Settled 1637–1638 by Puritans, it was the center of a theocratic colony that was joined with Connecticut in 1664. From 1701 to 1875 it was joint capital with Hartford. New Haven is the seat of Yale University, founded in 1701. Its population today is 124,000.
Newberry Street- The name of Newberry Street originated either from Newberry, England and Newberry Port, Massachusetts. Newbury Port, Massachusetts is a town located in Essex County, Massachusetts. As of the 2000 census, the town had a total population of 6,717. Newbury was first settled in 1635 and was officially incorporated that same year.
Newburgh Street – The Newburgh family where settlers in New Dunstable, which later became, Nashua, NH. As pioneers in Nashua, the street was named in their honor.
New Castle Drive- New Castle England, which was the
inspiration for New Castle Drive, is an ancient township in the UK that
has become very popular and increased to an ever growing city. It is
located in a borough of northeast England on the Tyne River north of
Leeds. Built on the site of a Roman military station, it became a
coal-shipping port in the 13th century and was the principal center for
coal exports after the 16th century. Its prominence in the trade gave
rise to the expression to carry coals to Newcastle, meaning “to
do something superfluous or unnecessary.” Today, its population is
Newman Drive- The street was given its name
after Doctor Newman stated that the "Church History is the narration of
all that is known of the founding and the development of the kingdom of
Christ on earth." The embodiment of Church History is not only a mere
record of organizations which represent the Christian life, but the
record of the Christian religion itself from its point of commencement
to any present era. This helped clarify aspects of the Christian faith
which was the dominate religion at the time.
New Searles Road- New Searles Road was named after the township New Searles. It is home to a deaf college working with deaf children.
Nightingale Road – A nightingale is a bird
and Nightingale Road is one of several streets to be named after common
birds. It is the common name for a migratory Old World bird of the
family Turdidae (thrush family), celebrated for its vocal powers. The
common nightingale of England and Western Europe, Luscinia
megarhynchos, is about 61/2 in. (16.3 cm)
long, reddish-brown above and grayish-white below. It winters in Africa
and reaches England about mid-April. Its famous song is delivered only
by the male during the breeding season, at any time of day or night. A
larger species is found in Eastern Europe. The bulbul, a prodigious
songster of Persian literature, was once thought to be a nightingale but
has been identified with another family; the Virginia nightingale is a
grosbeak; and the Pekin, or Japanese, nightingale belongs to the babbler
family. Nightingales are classified in the phylum
subphylum Vertebrata, class Aves, and order Passeriformes, family
Niquette Drive – Niquette Drive was named after a German family that immigrated to Nashua.
Notre Dame Street- One of the streets in the college district of Nashua, Notre Dame Street, was named for Notre Dame College, Indiana. Notre Dame College was named after the French Cathedral Notre Dame in Paris, France. The University of Notre Dame is a Roman Catholic institution of higher learning located adjacent to South Bend, Indiana, USA. Notre Dame's picturesque campus sits on 1,250 acres (5 km²) containing two lakes and 136 buildings.
Nottingham Drive/Street- Nottingham Drive
was named after the castle Nottingham in the Robin Hood fairy
tale. It is in the Sherwood district and is nearby to other streets with
a similar name. The location near a woods also seems to parallel the
story of Robin Hood.
Nowell Street- Nowell Street is a common last name to Nashua.
Oak Street- Oak
Street is named after the Oak tree in the “Tree Street” district. Oak
trees are from the genus Quercus of the family Fagaceae (beech
family). This complex genus includes as many as 600, found chiefly in
north temperate zones and also in Polynesia. The more southerly species,
ranging into the tropics, are usually evergreen. Oaks are cultivated for
ornament and are prized as the major source of hardwood lumber. The wood
is durable, tough, and attractively grained; it is especially valued in
shipbuilding and construction and for flooring, furniture, railroad
ties, barrels, tool handles, and veneer (particularly highly burled
oak). The oaks are commonly divided into two groups, the black (or red)
and the white. The former (e.g., the scarlet, pin, Spanish, willow,
laurel, and shingle oaks) are characterized by leaves with sharp-tipped
lobes and by acorns that mature in two years. The white oaks (e.g., the
white, post, bur, cork, and holly oaks) are characterized by
smooth-lobed leaves and acorns that mature in one year. Q. alba,
the white oak, is the most important timber tree of the oak genus.
Lumber-yielding species of chestnut (genus Castanea) are included
in the white oak group when the term is used as a timber classification.
The live oaks, evergreen species common in the S and SW United States,
are sometimes considered a separate group. The bark of some oaks has
been employed in medicine, in tanning, and for dyes; that of the
cork oak supplies the cork of commerce.
galls caused by certain insects are
utilized commercially. The Mediterranean kermes oak (Q. coccifera)
is host to the kermes insect, source of the world's oldest dyestuff.
Acorns, the fruit of oak trees, have long been employed as a source of
hog feed, tannin (chiefly from valonia, the acorn cup of the Turkish
oak, Q. aegilops), oil, and especially food. Acorns were one of
the most important foods of the North American forest Native Americans;
they were pulverized, leached to extract the bitter taste, and then
cooked in various ways. Acorns have also been used as food in other
regions where they are native. A symbol of strength, the oak has been
revered for both historical and mythological associations. It was the
favorite of Jove and Thor and especially sacred to the druids. St. Louis
administered justice under an oak, and the
Charter Oak is legendary in America.
Several unrelated plants are also called oak, e.g., the Jerusalem oak (a
lobe-leaved annual of the goosefoot family) and the poison oak of the
sumac family. Oaks are classified in the division
Magnoliophyta, class Magnoliopsida,
order Fagales, family Fagaceae.
Old Balcom Road – Old Balcom Road was named after Balcom farm, once located on the road as a major industry. The Balcom family was prominent in Nashua, and many of the family members were involved in politics.
Old Mill Lane – Old Mill Lane is named after the mills that once defined the industry of Nashua. Jackson Co. was one of the early companies which later was bought by Nashua Manufacturing Company, and Indian Head cloth became famous throughout the region. The mills were prosperous until they closed down in the 1900s.
Olympia Circle- According to the developer, Roger Duhamel, all of the streets located in Westgate Village have names derived from western cities in the United States, which follows with the western theme of Westgate Village, located in West Nashua. Olympia is the capitol city of Washington State. The city of Olympia is located at the southern tip of the Puget Sound in Washington. Olympia is a manufacturing city with industries in explosives, consumer goods, sports equipment, plastic, metal, and paper products. Lumber and oyster fisheries, two of the major industries, are also popular in Olympia. The city was made the capitol of Washington in 1853. With clear views of Mt. Olympia and Mt. Rainier, Olympia is a popular tourist attraction. Each year, the salmon that swim from Budd Inlet into Capitol Lake attract many people as well.
Oneida Circle- Oneida Circle is in a Nashua district that is centered on Indian-named streets. The Oneida tribe populated parts of New York south of the Oneida Lake and in areas east of Lake Ontario. As one of the first members of the Iroquois Confederacy, the Oneida tribe spoke a language related to that of the Iroquois. In 1848, John H. Noyes in New York formed a Utopian society, named the Oneida Community. Even though it was not part of the Oneida tribe, this community copied many aspects of the Oneida people, such as the radical dresses of the women.
O’Neil’s Court – O’Neil’s Court was named after Dr. Robert O’Neil. He was a town doctor during earlier years of the New Dunstable settlement, and paved the way for more doctors to come to Nashua.
Oracle Drive- An oracle is a shrine dedicated to the worship and consultation of a deity. Oracle Drive is nearby many churches in Nashua. It is located just one mile from Immaculate Conception Church. It is also close to St. Kathryn’s Church, Bible Baptist Church, and New Life Christian Church.
Orange Street- Orange Street is one of the fruit streets named after the citrus fruit commonly known as the orange. There may be a reason, however, why that particular area was named after the orange. In the 1890’s, oranges were considered a luxury. Usually, such fruits were only found once a year in Christmas stockings. Such a luxury was symbolic of the kind of area where orange street is now located. A number of well-known Nashuans lived on Orange Street. The John Reed house, Albert McKean house, Soloman Spaulding house, and Thornton Greeley House are all located on Orange Street. These houses follow a classic Italian or Greek style of architecture. Orange Street, therefore, may be a street of wealth and luxury as an orange is a fruit of luxury and wealth.
Orchard Avenue- The city of Nashua, before it became a manufacturing and industrial city, was mostly farmland. Such farmland products included apples, a popular staple of New Hampshire. The apple is New Hampshire’s state fruit and, for years, farmers have been supplying both New Hampshire and the New England area with apples. Today, apple orchards are commonly found in all regions of New Hampshire.
Ordway Avenue-Ordway Avenue is named after the Ordway family who lived in Nashua, according to the US Federal Census, in 1870. Reed P. Ordway was the head of the house. His wife was Sarah Ordway. Their children included Warren, age five, and William, age three. Mr. Ordway was a pattern maker. Twenty-one years later, at age 24, William worked as a machinist, according to the Nashua Directory of 1981.
Oregon Avenue- Oregon Avenue is one of the state streets, located near Rhode Island Avenue, Indiana Drive, Ohio Avenue, and Virginia Drive in Nashua. The state of Oregon is located in the Pacific West Region of the United States. It joined the Union as the 33rd state in 1859. Lewis and Clark explored a portion of the terrain of Oregon in 1805 on their quest towards the Pacific. Oregon is famous for the controversy that consumed the 1844 election, when Americans enthusiastically yelled, “Fifty-four forty or fight” to try to obtain all of the Oregon Territory from the bottom of Oregon to the Southern border of Alaska from the British. Today, Oregon is home to nearly 3, 590,000 people with Salem as its capital and Portland as its largest city.
Osprey Lane- Osprey Lane is one of the bird streets. The osprey is related to the hawk and is usually found around water such as lakes, rivers, or the seacoast. It is a large bird with long wings. The osprey has a white head. Its wings are characteristically bent slightly in the middle. The osprey can be mistaken for a gull in the distance and is nicknamed the “fish hawk.”
Overhill Avenue-By looking at the City of Nashua web site’s GIS Base Map, it is obvious why the name of Overhill Avenue was given to the particular street. The topography of the area clearly indicates that Overhill Avenue has an elevation that is greater than those streets nearby. The fact that it is located on a hill probably brought about the name for Overhill Avenue.
Overlook Drive-Overlook Drive is named after the Overlook Country Club, located along the Hollis-Nashua border. The Overlook Country Club includes many natural features such as views of the Nashua River and numerous pine trees. The Country Club includes an 18-hole golf course. The Overlook Country Club has golf tournaments, a snack bar, and a pro-shop.
Pacific Boulevard- Pacific Boulevard is named after the Atlantic and Pacific Tea Company. This company was located in Nashua on South Main Street in 1929. The Atlantic and Pacific Tea Company was a famous business located throughout New England. It was more like a general store in Nashua that sold a variety of different products. Products that could have been found in the Atlantic and Pacific Tea Company were sugar, Old Dutch Cleaner, and Quaker Oats. Thomas H. Drohan Sr owned this store.
Page Road- In the Spring of 1842, another company was added to Nashua’s militia to protect the village. The eleventh company, called the Washington Light Guards, was formed under the command of Daniel M. Fiske. It had 75 men in it and the company itself had its base in the attic of the town house in Nashua Company. The Guard lasted for eight years with Elijah T. Page as one of its notable officers.
Parkhurst Drive- Parkhurst Drive is named after the Parkhurst family, who lived in Nashua in the 1850s. The Parkhurst Family included Charles and Harriet, who were most likely husband and wife, Lucy, Charlie, Janette, Davius, Betty, Lydia, Sarah, and Paul. The family was originally from Vermont. Charles Sr. was a physician of the area, while his 17-year-old son, Charlie, was a machinist during the year of 1850.
Parnell Place- Parnell Place is named after Irving A. Parnell. Irving Parnell was a brakeman. As a brakeman, Mr. Parnell was in charge of keeping brakes up to shape in nearby railroads including the railroads at the Nashua City Station. Some of the rail lines that populated the station were the Nashua & Lowell Railroad, the Concord Railroad, Worcester & Nashua Railroad, Wilton Railroad, Nashua, Acton & Boston Railroad, Nashua & Rochester Railroad, Peterborough Railroad, and the Fitchburg Railroad which was subdivided by the Brookline & Pepperell Branch.
Parrish Hill Drive- Parrish Hill Drive is named for Frederick A. Parrish. Frederick Parrish was a farmer of Nashua in 1910. His farm was located on North Hollis Road. Presently in Nashua, North Hollis Road no longer exists. This could be an indicator that perhaps Parrish Hill Drive has now replaced it at the same location.
Pasadena Street- Pasadena Street is next to Sacramento Street, Kirk Street, Amherst Terrace, and Westfield Street all of which are American cities. Pasadena and Sacramento are in cities in California, while Kirk is in Colorado, Westfield is in Massachusetts, and Amherst is in New Hampshire as well as Massachusetts. Pasadena California is widely known for its research and technological centers. It is the home to the Tournament of Roses and the Rose Bowl that celebrates college football. The California Institute of Technology, home to Nasa’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, is located in Pasadena, California. Its symphony orchestra, community playhouse, libraries, museums, gardens, and the Mt. Wilson Observatory make Pasadena, California similar to Nashua in numerous ways.
Patten Court- Patten Court is named after Patten & Company. This company was also known as C.A. Patten & Company Merchant Tailors of Boston. One of these stores was located in Nashua during the early 1900’s. Patten & Company sold fashionable clothing all over New England. In 1907, Patten & Company sold suits and overcoats from $25-$35. Patten Court could also be named after Chamberlain-Patten Company, a dry goods store located at 72 Pearl Street in Nashua. This store was partly owned by William H. Patten, who was born in Massachusetts in 1852.
Paxton Terrace-Paxton Terrace is named after the town of Paxton, Massachusetts. Located in Worcester County, Paxton has a population of around 5,000 people. Paxton was first settled in 1749 and was later founded in 1765. Paxton, Massachusetts is home to the Asnebumskit Pond, Anna Maria College, and Moore State Park. In Nashua, Paxton Terrace is located near other streets named after cities in Massachusetts such as Merrimack and Auburn.
Peach Drive/Court- Peach Drive/Court is one of the fruit streets. A peach tree is a low spreading, freely moving Chinese tree related to the rose tree. This tree grows in temperate zones and has pink flowers growing on it in early spring. The peach tree produces its famous fruit, which is white-yellow in color, with a single seed. One of the reasons why such a fruit may have been picked to be the name of a street in Nashua is because of its close appearance to the famous trees on Kinsley Street.
Penny Lane-Penny Lane is named after the Penny family. The head of the family was George S. Penny. His wife was Ethel M. Penny. On the same street, right next door, there was Charles S. Penny and his wife Lillian Penny. Perhaps these two families were related. Both Charles and George were born in Maine, and both worked as shoemakers, strengthening such a theory. Both Penny families lived on Bennett Street in Nashua in the 1930’s.
Pepper Drive-Pepper Drive is named after the Pepper Tree. The Pepper Tree is a small evergreen tree with a rounded head and thin branches with clusters of green flowers surrounded by clusters of pink rose fruits. Pepper Drive is located next to other tree-like streets such as Royal Oak Drive and Birchwood Drive.
Pepperell Circle- Pepperell Circle is named after the city of Pepperell in Massachusetts. Stone fragments that were needed by the city of Nashua had always come from Concord or Milford before Shattuck Ledge, a stone seller in Nashua, was formed. Shattuck Lodge soon became a prosperous company, sending stone to Pepperell and other cities such as Worcester and Framingham. Up to 4,000 stone shipments per year were sent.
Percheron Circle- Percheron Circle is named after the Percheron horse. A Percheron horse is a draft horse that used to be used in France to pull artillery and heavy coaches. Now, the gray or black- colored horses are commonly bred all over the world. This horse is still used, however, for agricultural work. Percheron Circle in Nashua is located near Clydesdale Circle. The Clydesdale is another type of horse.
Perimeter Road- Perimeter Road is named because it literally goes around the perimeter of the Boire Field Airport of Nashua. Construction began on the airport in 1934, and by 1939, the Nashua runway was officially considered safe for commercial use. In 1943, the Nashua Airport was named Boire Field Airport after Paul Boire, the first Nashua casualty in World War II.
Pershing Street- Pershing Street is named after John J. Pershing, commander of American armies located in Europe during World War I. General Pershing had a long career in the military. He went to West Point and graduated in 1882. He was also in the 10th U.S. Cavalry during the Spanish-American War in 1898. General Pershing was an American observer in Japan during the Russo-Japanese War from 1905 to 1906. Pershing is famous for his chase of Mexican general Pancho Villa, after his attack against New Mexico. In 1917, General Pershing was sent to command the American Expeditionary Force in France. With his return to the United States in 1919, General Pershing was awarded the title of General of the Armies, a title previously held solely by George Washington. After his retirement in 1924, Pershing also published a Pulitzer Price winning book called My Experiences in the World War. Pershing Street is located right next to Joffre Street, which is named for Joseph Jacques Cesaire, a French field marshal commanding Allied armies in France during World War I. Pershing Street is located near Liberty Street as well.
Peter Road- Peter Road is named after Peter Scontsas, who was known as “Mr. Nashua.” He was an active community member and gave advice on many community issues, such as the year-round lights on the trees downtown. Mr. Scontsas was the owner of Scontsas Jewelry on Main Street.Pagewood Oval- The name of Pagewood Oval has the same meaning as Page Road. By the 1920’s, it was noted that many streets names got the word “wood” added to them. This was to create a more suburban feel to the development and surrounding area.
Peterborough Place-Peterborough Place is named after the town of Peterborough, New Hampshire. Peterborough is a town of just over 5,000 people as of the year 2000. Located in the Peterborough area is the MacDowell Art Colony, which was founded in 1907 by composer Edward MacDowell. Also located in Peterborough is the Peterborough Folk Music Society. Peterborough Place is located near Mt. Vernon and Troy streets, other cities located in New Hampshire.
Pewter Court-Pewter Court is named after the material called pewter. Pewter is a silver-white colored alloy made up mostly of tin. In colonial America, pewter was imported in large amounts from England. Later in the 18th century, Americans began to make vast quantities of pewter and used the material to make up eating utensils as well as bowls and plates. Many farms in Nashua were famous for their elaborate collections of pewter dishware.
Pheasant Lane/Pheasant Run Road- Pheasant Lane is one of the bird streets. The pheasant is famous for being a popular bird for gaming. It is also known as an “Old World” bird. The most popular of the pheasants in North America is the native ring-necked pheasant. This pheasant is commonly known to have a long tail. Male pheasants usually have very brightly colored plumage.
Piermont Street- Piermont Street was named after Piermont, NH, founded in 1764. It is located near other city streets, such as Hyannis, Pelham, Tilton, Natick, and Richmond. Located in Grafton County, NH, Piermont had 709 people as of the year 2000. Piermont, NH is named after Piedmont, located in the Italian Alps. Piermont is the home of Colonel William Tarleton, who was a soldier in the American Revolution, part of the Constitutional Convention in 1791, and member of the Electoral College in 1804. Lake Tarleton in Piermont is named after him.
Pine Hill Avenue/ Pine Grove Avenue/ Pinecrest Rd./Pinedale Street/Pinehaven Dr./Pinebrook Drive/Pinehurst /Avenue- Pine Hill Avenue is named for the abundant native pine trees that Nashua had in the past and still has today. Nashua was famous for its ubiquitous pine trees, especially near the area that is now downtown. A number of front yards on Pine Hill Avenue, still have remnants of the vast amounts of pine trees that once stood in the area. It is very likely that Pine Grove Avenue, Pinecrest Road, Pinedale Street, and Pinehaven Drive all were named as a tribute to the pine trees famously located in Nashua in the past. Pinebrook Drive is also located near Tall Pine Circle, further proof that pine trees were everywhere in Nashua.
Pheasant Lane-Pheasant Lane is one of the bird streets. The pheasant is famous for being a popular bird for gaming. It is also known as an “Old World” bird. The most popular of the pheasants in North America is the native ring-necked pheasant. This pheasant is commonly known to have a long tail. Male pheasants usually have very brightly colored plumage.
Philbrick Street- The Granite Lodge, a Masonic lodge, was established on September 11, 1843 and chartered on September 16, 1864. David Philbrick was the first noble grand of the lodge, which had over 1,000 members. The lodge’s numerous locations were in the old Exchange Building, in Noyes Blocks, in the Telegraph building, and in the Goodrich Building.
Pilgrim Drive- Pilgrim Drive is named after Pilgrim Church. On June 24, 1826, “The First Congregational Society of Nashua Village” was formed. With a budget of $6,000, the society purchased the Old South Meeting-House and later bought a meeting house built by the Nashua Manufacturing Company, which became the location of Pilgrim Church. Pilgrim Church was located near Central Station at the corner of Temple, Court, and Church Streets. This church, located on the crest of Temple Street, was the location of the famous picture of Nashua Civil War soldiers. Now, One Indian Head Plaza is located where the Pilgrim Church once stood.
Pioneer Drive- Peter Powers, founder of Hollis in the early 1700’s, became the inspiration for the name of Pioneer Drive. He was part of an Indian-fighting scouting team. Powers was an active real estate agent who sold land all over southern New Hampshire. He is known as one of the first to move into the uninhabited forest lands around Dunstable. In 1930, as a 200 year anniversary of his settling in the Dunstable area, his biography entitled Peter Powers, Pioneer, was written.
Pittsburg Street- Pittsburg Avenue is named after the city in Pennsylvania named Pittsburg. There is a Nashua connection, however. Alfred E. Hunt, Captain of the Nashua City Guards, was a chemist at the Nashua Iron and Steel Company. Hunt went to the School of Technology in Boston and was an officer in the military battalion there. He was a notable and successful Nashua resident who later moved to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania where he became a prominent, well known businessman.
Plum Street- Plum Street, one of the fruit streets in Nashua is named after plums. Plums are grown on trees usually in temperate zones. Cultivated since prehistoric time, there are over 100 species of plum in the world, with 30 species native to North America. Plums were widely eaten by Native Americans and colonists alike. The beach plum is often used today in jams and jellies and is usually grown on Cape Cod. With their red, purple, white, pink, and lilac colors, plum trees are desired as a decorative piece in the United States. Plums are related to almonds, apricots, and cherries.
Pluto Street- Pluto Street is one of the planet streets located in the vicinity of Neptune, Saturn, Mercury, and Venus Lane in Nashua. Pluto, the ninth planet from the sun, has the largest complete orbit length of about 248 years and is a total of 3.67 billion miles from the sun. Pluto’s surface is mostly made up of frozen nitrogen, with a rocky silicate core. The atmosphere of Pluto is made up of nitrogen, carbon monoxide, and methane gases. The temperature on Pluto is -360 degrees Fahrenheit, the point at which most gases freeze. Information about Pluto was first published in 1914 and the characteristics of the planet are still unclear today because of its great distance from Earth.
Poliquin Drive- Poliquin Drive is named after the Poliquin family. The family included Pierre, Leontine, Stella, Helen, Reta, Leoneal, Lucella, Romano, Rose, and Lillian. The family lived on 8 Markar Street and was one of the families who did not live on a farm. The Poliquin family lived in Nashua during the 1930’s, and the heads of the family, Pierre, and Leontine, were from Canada. All of their children, however, were born in New Hampshire. According to the 1930 US Federal Census, the Poliquin family was one of the few to own a radio in Nashua.
Ponderosa-Ponderosa is a type of pine tree. The ponderosa pine is a tall timber tree that is usually located in Western North America. The ponderosa pine has long, dark green needles that are often clustered together in groups of three.
Pondview Circle-Pondview Circle is roughly 600 feet from the bank of Pennichuck Brook. Early developers must have named the street because it is an excellent vantage point of the water. Pennichuck Brook is used in Nashua as a part of the drinking water supply. According to the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services, the water yield of Pennichuck Brook has, over the past 100 years, declined nearly 75%. This water has been lost due to an impervious bottom that does not allow water to seep into the ground but rather permits it to flow into other lakes and ponds. The Pennichuck Brook is a part of the Pennichuck Brook Watershed.
Prospect Street- Prospect Street, one of the earliest roads in Nashua, was the location of many factories and mills. It is located near Bowers off the Daniel Webster Highway.
Quaker Road -Quaker Road was named after Quaker families that owned land in this area, many of whom were English investors or soldiers. Some Quakers were persecuted and killed in England during the 1690’s.
Queensway Circle- Queensway Circle was recently developed and named to compliment the neighborhood theme. Its name was given by the developer to show superiority among the streets, not unlike Bicentennial Drive.
Quincy Street Quincy Street is named for inventor Edwin White of Nashua who created and later patented an alarm money drawer in 1859. This unique invention was manufactured on Quincy St. until 1921.
Quinton Drive- William Quinton, a Nashua native, served in the Army of the Revolutionary War from 1775-1783. Quinton, for whom Quinton Drive was named, gained honor from his command of the troops. Quinton Drive is located off Ridge Road.
Railroad Square Railroad Square is located at the corner of Main and Canal Street, named because of its location near the railroad tracks. It was a festive area where tourists and visitors could stay in the Nashua Hotel, established in 1824.
Rainbow Circle Rainbow Circle is located between Pennichuck Brook and Bowers Pond. A rainbow is an arc of spectral colors, usually identified as red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet, that appears in the sky opposite the sun as a result of the refractive dispersion of sunlight in drops of rain or mist..
Rainbow Court Rainbow Court is located near Cold Brook and Salmon Brook. Rainbow Court, like Rainbow Circle, is named after a rainbow, which is a similar arc or band produced by a prism or by iridescence. Its physical characteristics can also be described by the grade of colors
Randolph Street Edward Randolph, cousin to Robert Tufton Mason, and the legal heir of John Mason, owned land in Nashua around 1640-1715. This land was later sold to Puritan merchants and landowners coming overseas from England.
Ranger Road When the French War broke out in 1775, an expedition was planned against Crown Point and New Hampshire raised a regiment of 500 men. Mr. Blanchard was appointed colonel of the famous Rangers, under the command of Rogers and Stark.troops were on their way to occupy Castle William and Mary, the fort at Newcastle that protected Portsmouth and Kittery, Maine.
Reeds Court Abijah Reed, a Dunstable native, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War in 1776. He was under the command of Captain William Burron, who raised a company for Canada and served alongside other residents of Dunstable. By the end of the war, the regiment had lost many of their men.
Regal Drive Regal is located behind Boire Field, off of exit 7 and is in the royalty district. A regal relates to a monarch or member of royalty. It can also mean belonging to or befitting a monarch, such as regal attire.
Regent Drive Regent Drive is named as part of the “royal” neighborhood theme and is located behind the airport next to Squire Drive. A regent is one who rules during the minority, absence, or disability of a monarch. A regent may also be a governor.
Resurrection Circle Resurrection Circle, located behind Resurrection church off of Broad Street, is religiously named. It is located next to Parish Hill Drive and Christian Drive and the name relates to the Christian belief in the dying and resurrection of Christ.
River Pines Road River Pines Road is located in a development along the Nashua River that is part of a themed section of Nashua. All of the roads are named after the Nashua River, and the trees alongside the river inspired River Pines’ name
Revere Street Revere Street was founded in honor of Paul Revere, known for his famous ride when the British were coming. He brought a message to Portsmouth from Boston, informing the colonials of the British ban of exporting military stores to America and that
Rhode Island Avenue Rhode Island Avenue was named after former Governor William Burnet of New Hampshire. One of the committee members who came from Boston met him at the borders of Rhode Island, and convinced him to go into politics.
Porter Avenue John-Fitz Porter of Portsmouth, N.H, the nephew of David Porter, was a Union general in the American Civil War. Before the Civil War, he served during the Mexican War and was an instructor at West Point (1849–55). At the outbreak of the Civil War, Porter was made a brigadier general of volunteers and in 1862, he distinguished himself as a corps commander in the Peninsular campaign, especially during the Seven Days battles.
Rice Avenue In 1894 Herbert E. Rice opened Rice’s Pharmacy, which has been in business for over 100 years. The family’s connection to Nashua led to the naming of Rice Avenue, located off of Lake Street
Rice Street On April 1, 1844, after the separation of Nashville, a new church was organized under the name of The First Methodist Episcopal Church in Nashua. Reverend E. A. Rice, of Lowell, Massachusetts, headed the church for the first three months.
Rogers Street- Rogers Street, located off of Concord Street, was named after Nashua’s second mayor, Freeman S. Rogers, who served from 1855-1856.
Richmond Street In 1801, P.O. Richmond was the landlord of the tavern villages, making him a prominent member of Nashua. For 50 years, Richmond, Mark Gillis, Gilman Scripture, and others made this house renowned all over New England for hospitality and good cheer.
Ridge Road/Street For many years, John Ridge manufactured files in a small shop on Amherst Street before expanding to other locations. In 1892, John Ridge and John B. Grover began business under the name of the Nashua Rasp company at Edgeville, creating a business that transformed the economy of Nashua until it closed in 1894.
Riverside Circle Riverside Circle is located inside the River Pines development near the Waterview Trail. The name relates to the Nashua River and the fact that it is along the “side” of the river.
Riverside Street Riverside Street follows Mill Pond, inside Mine Falls. This is the only main road that leads to Nashua High School South and was named after the pond that flows from the Nashua River.
Riverview Avenue Riverview Avenue gets its name from its location on the Merrimack River and is located next to Riverside Avenue. It sits on the water’s edge of the Merrimack and provides a spectacular view of the river.
Riverview Circle Riverview Circle is located off the Charles Bancroft Highway on Route 3A, and its name relates to the area. Located on the Merrimack River near the Litchfield/Nashua town line, houses are afforded a magnificent view of the river.
River Road River Road runs off of Lowell Road on Route 3A from Hudson and got its name from the Limit Brook, which it runs along it. One of the landmarks in the area is the Green Meadow Golf Club.
Riverview Street- Riverview Street is located behind the D.W. Highway in South Nashua and is in a neighborhood that runs along the Merrimack River. Laton Street, Tolles Street, and Wood Street surround Riverview, and the name relates to the natural surroundings of the area.
Robinson Road -Robinson Road is named after the late Robinson family, prominent in Nashua. Sarah J. Robinson and Horatio A. Robinson were parents to Allen Robinson who lived from May 25, 1801 to March 30, 1877. The family is now buried in the Nashua Cemetery.
Robin Hood Road Robin Hood is located in Sherwood Forest and was named after the story of Robin Hood, not unlike other streets in the area. Friar Tuck Lane, Nottingham Drive, and Nightingale Road are also in the area, and the close proximity to Sherwood Forest suggests a parallel between the story and the location.
Roby Road Luther A. Roby contributed thousands of feet of lumber to help build some of the greatest clipper ships built in this country. This Nashua native shipped his timber for ships, wharves, and piling by freight until the early 1890’s.
Roby Street In 1890, Charles and William D. Swart, the descendants of Luther A. Roby, owned a firm, which manufactured along Salmon Brook. The brook provided their main source of power and they made wooden boxes as well as a wide variety of other millwork products. The company was incorporated under the name of the American Box and Lumber Company, which stayed in business until 1937.
Rocky Hill Road -Rocky Hill Road is located within the Nashua woods, just outside Sherwood Forest. This steep and rocky road, built on a hill, is connected to Flintlock Road, off of Harris Road. Its steep feature prompted developers to name it Rocky Hill.
Rock Island Road -Rock Island Road is located on Tristle Brook, an outlet of the Nashua River. Erie Circle, Chesapeake Road, and Tristle Brook Road, near Rock Island Road, relate to various locations in the United States.
Rogers Street-Robert Rogers and Col. Stark were leaders in the famous Rogers Rangers. In 1755, when the French War broke out, they gathered 500 soldiers and prepared for battle.
Rosemary Court- Rosemary Court is named after the herb, rosemary. It is an aromatic evergreen Mediterranean shrub (Rosmarinus officinalis) having light blue or pink flowers and grayish-green leaves that is used in cooking and perfumery.
Roseann Circle- In 1984, Roseann Circle, located off Hazel Avenue, was named after the developer’s wife or daughter.
Ross Street Lewis H. Ross from Auburn, Maine was the son to Allen and Anna Ross. He owned one of the largest furniture stores in the state of New Hampshire, E. M. Chase Co. (Chase’s) which is located in Manchester.
Royal Crest Drive Royal Crest Drive is the main road to the Royal Crest apartment complex, located off exit 1 across from the Sheraton. This street, like many in the area, is part of a development with a “royal” theme.
Royal Oak Drive-This street was named in relation to the oak trees. Oaks are deciduous or evergreen trees or, rarely, shrubs, of the genus Quercus in the beech family, Fagaceae. They are the most important and widespread hardwood trees in the northern temperate region, occurring throughout North America and Eurasia and in higher elevations extending south into northwestern South America, Cuba, North Africa, and Indonesia. Of the approximately 450 species of oaks, 60 or more, some shrublike in form, are native to the United States and Canada. Oaks dominate the central and southern hardwood forests of the United States, and about 20 species in the eastern United States are commercially important. Oaks furnish more native timber annually than any other broad-leaved tree and in total lumber production are second only to the conifers. Oak lumber is used for flooring and wood trim in home construction and for railroad ties, barrels, boats, furniture, and fuel, including charcoal. Other oak products include cork, which is produced primarily from the bark of the European cork oak, Q. suber; tannin, a substance used in making leather, from the bark of such trees as the daimyo oak, Q. dentata, of the Orient; dyes, such as quercitron, which is derived from the bark of the black oak, Q. velutina; formerly, inks and dyes from oak galls, which are pea- to egg-sized growths rich in tannic acid, formed by oaks around developing gall-wasp larvae; and acorns, which are fed to hogs, used as human food if of the sweet variety, or, if from the valonia oak, Q. macrolepis, used as a source of tannin.
Ruby Road-Ruby Road is named for the gem and is near Emerald Road. Oaks are deciduous or evergreen trees or, rarely, shrubs, of the genus Quercus in the beech family, Fagaceae. They are the most important and widespread hardwood trees in the northern temperate region, occurring throughout North America and Eurasia and in higher elevations extending south into northwestern South America, Cuba, North Africa, and Indonesia. Of the approximately 450 species of oaks, 60 or more, some shrublike in form, are native to the United States and Canada. Oaks dominate the central and southern hardwood forests of the United States, and about 20 species in the eastern United States are commercially important. Oaks furnish more native timber annually than any other broad-leaved tree and in total lumber production are second only to the conifers. Oak lumber is used for flooring and wood trim in home construction and for railroad ties, barrels, boats, furniture, and fuel, including charcoal. Other oak products include cork, which is produced primarily from the bark of the European cork oak, Q. suber; tannin, a substance used in making leather, from the bark of such trees as the daimyo oak, Q. dentata, of the Orient; dyes, such as quercitron, which is derived from the bark of the black oak, Q. velutina; formerly, inks and dyes from oak galls, which are pea- to egg-sized growths rich in tannic acid, formed by oaks around developing gall-wasp larvae; and acorns, which are fed to hogs, used as human food if of the sweet variety, or, if from the valonia oak, Q. macrolepis, used as a source of tannin.
Russell Avenue/Street- Jason Russell, a resident of the area who fought in the American War for the militia, inspired developers to name the street in his honor.
Ryan Way- Ryan Way was named for a relative of this neighborhood's developer.
Sacramento Street- Sacramento, the capital of California and seat of Sacramento County, is situated in the north central part of the state, about 145 km (90 mi) northeast of San Francisco at the junction of the Sacramento and American rivers. The city's population is 369,365 (1990 census) and that of the metropolitan area is 1,481,102. Vulnerable to floods, Sacramento is protected by massive dike and bypass systems. The state government and nearby military installations are major employers. Sacramento's harbor is connected by a deepwater ship channel to San Francisco Bay. The city's principal industrial products are military and aerospace-electronics equipment, as well as bricks, soaps, and furniture. Sacramento's food-processing and packaging industry is dependent on fruits, vegetables, and grains grown in the surrounding Sacramento Central Valley. Sacramento is the site of several colleges, including the California State University at Sacramento (1947). The Crocker Art Museum, the state capitol (1861-74), and Fort Sutter are points of interest. In 1839, John Augustus Sutter founded a colony for his fellow Swiss on the site and soon built Fort Sutter, a trading post. After gold was discovered at Sutter's Mill in nearby Coloma (1848), Sacramento grew and prospered in the California gold rush. It became the state capital in 1854. Its growth was assured when it was chosen as the terminus of both the pony express and California's first railroad, the Sacramento Valley.
Sagamore Road- This is a city in New York. Sagamore Hill, in Oyster Bay, was also where Theodore Roosevelt died.
Salem Street-Salem Street is named for a city in Massachusetts. Salem (1990 pop., 38,091), the seat of Essex County in northeastern Massachusetts, lies on the Atlantic coast about 26 km (16 mi) northeast of Boston. Once a leading U.S. port and the scene of the Salem Witch Trials (1692), Salem now manufactures electrical machinery, chemicals, games, and leather goods. Its federal-style houses, museums, and historical sites attract many tourists. Salem State College (1854) is there. Salem was founded in 1626 by Roger Conant. Its shipping trade grew in the 17th century but had declined by the early 19th century. Nathaniel Hawthorne was born there in 1804.
Salisbury Road- Salisbury, also called New Sarum, is a city in Wiltshire, southern England, on the River Avon. Located about 130 km (80 mi) southwest of London, the district has a population of 103,200 (1991). It is a commercial and tourist center. The economy centers on cattle and poultry marketing, brewing, printing, leatherwork, and tourism. Salisbury's principal landmark is its cathedral (built 1220-66), which has the highest church spire (123 m/404 ft) in England (see Salisbury Cathedral). Salisbury's origins date back to an early Iron Age fortification, Old Sarum, north of the present city. It grew under Saxon and Norman rule and became a bishopric in 1075. The present cathedral was founded in the valley south of Old Sarum in 1228. The city of Salisbury developed around the cathedral and flourished in the later Middle Ages as a textile center.
Salmon Brook Drive-Salmon Brook Drive was named for its close proximity to the Salmon Brook River.
Salmon Street- Salmon, along with trout, chars, graylings, and whitefishes, comprise the family Salmonidae and are valuable as both a commercial and a sport fish. The four genera, which include Salmo and Oncorhynchus, are found in cold or temperate waters. Widely distributed, the Atlantic salmon, Salmo salar, for example, can be found in American waters north of Cape Cod and in eastern Canada; from North America east to the Kara River, including Iceland and Greenland; and in European seas and rivers as far south as Portugal. Although salmon and trout resemble one another--for example, in having vomerine teeth on the roof bone of the mouth--they usually show differences in the color patterns of their bodies. These fish are popular in Nashua.
Sanders Street-Sanders Street was named for Sanders Associates, the company which bought out Jackson Mills on Canal Street
Sands Street- Sands Street was named for former Mayor of Nashua, Thomas Sands, who served in that capacity in 1894.
Santa Fe Road- Santa Fe is a city in north central New Mexico, the state capital and the seat of Santa Fe County. The city has a population of 55,859 (1990 census). Located along the Santa Fe River, Santa Fe is surrounded by the Sangre de Cristo Mountains and lies at an elevation of about 2,131 m (6,990 ft). The city's rich historic past and its blend of Indian, Spanish, and American cultures, as well as the dry, sunny climate, make year-round tourism a major industry. The Los Alamos National Laboratory, several national monuments, and the Pueblo Indian reservations, including that of the Taos Indians, are nearby. A number of museums preserve the city's Indian and Spanish heritage. The Palace of Governors (built 1609-10) is one of the city's many museums, housing a collection of southwestern art, archaeology, and anthropology. The nationally known Santa Fe Opera performs in its open-air theater from June through August. Santa Fe was founded in 1609 by the Spaniard Don Pedro de Peralta as the administrative and missionary center of a large Spanish-controlled region. Following a revolt in 1680, the Pueblo Indians occupied the city until it was retaken (1692) by the Spanish. As the western terminus of the Santa Fe Trail, the city became an important commercial center after Mexican independence from Spain in 1821. During the Mexican War, Santa Fe was occupied (1846) by U.S. troops under Gen. Stephen W. Kearny. When the U.S. Territory of New Mexico was organized in 1850, Santa Fe became its capital, retaining that status when New Mexico entered (1912) the Union.
Santerre Street This street was named for a developer, whose family is prominent in Nashua.
Sapling Circle- One of the streets named after trees is Sapling Circle. A sapling is a young tree.
Sarana Drive-This street may relate to New York.
Sarstoa Avenue- This street may relate to New York.
Sargent Avenue Sargent was a mayor of Nashua 1871, 1924-27. The family was prominent in Nashua for many years and involved in various businesses.
Satin Avenue- Satin is a smooth, lustrous fabric usually made of silk, although cotton and synthetic fibers also produce satinlike fabrics. In satin weaving the warp (vertical) yarns usually pass, or "float," over five or more filling (crosswise) yarns to produce an even, smooth surface. In some instances the filling yarn floats. The name satin may have been derived, through the Arabic Zaytuni, from Zaitun, an unknown city in China where the fabric was allegedly first made. Sateen is a cotton fabric woven with a satin weave. Satin damask has a Jacquard pattern, and slipper satin has a silk warp and a cotton filling. It was popular in colonial Dunstable and was a fabric that symbolized wealth.
Saturn Lane-Saturn orbits the Sun at a mean distance of 1.427 billion km (0.893 billion mi) with a period of 29.4577 tropical years. The orbit is inclined 2.49 degrees to the ecliptic, or Earth-orbital, plane and has an eccentricity of 0.0556. At Saturn's distance from the Sun, it receives only 0.01 of the unit solar radiation flux that the Earth does. Among planets in the solar system, Saturn is second in size only to Jupiter; Saturn has an equatorial diameter of 120,660 km (74,980 mi). Its volume would enclose about 769 Earth-sized bodies. Saturn's internal rotation period, defined by periodic radio emissions, is 10.657 hours. This fast rotation is responsible for Saturn's equatorial bulge and oblate shape. The equatorial-polar-diameter ratio is 1.12 to 1. Saturn's mass is 5.686 X 10(26) kg (12.54 X 10(26) lb), or 95.147 times the Earth's. Thus the average density is only 0.69 g/cu cm (43 lb/cu ft), which is much less than water, indicating a very deep atmosphere and a very small core.
Savoy Street- Savoy is a region of southeastern France that extends from Lake Geneva to the Isere River and borders on the Italian frontier. Its command of the western Alpine passes into Italy enhances its strategic importance. Savoy was the original domain of the Savoy dynasty, which ruled Italy from 1861 to 1946. Savoy's early Celtic inhabitants were conquered by the Romans in 121 BC. During the 5th century AD the Burgundians gained control of the region, which passed in 534 to the Frankish kingdom of Burgundy. Savoy came under the suzerainty of the Holy Roman emperor in 1033. Count Humbert I the Whitehanded, founder of the House of Savoy, then controlled much of the region. The Savoy dukes increasingly favored their Italian lands, as French designs on Savoy, which was largely French-speaking, grew. The dukes transferred their capital to Piedmont in 1563. France annexed Savoy in 1792, but it was restored to the House of Savoy in 1815. In 1860, however, after a plebiscite, the region was returned to France, and the French acquiesced to the rule of the House of Savoy over a kingdom in north central Italy. Various people who lived in Nashua of French ancestry might have come from this area.
Sawmill Road- This street was likely named for a sawmill that existed in Nashua during earlier times.
Saxon Lane- This was named for an ancient race in England and a group of people. The Saxons, a Germanic people, were once thought to be the tribe mentioned by the geographer Ptolemy as living in modern Schleswig in the 2d century AD. Some historians now doubt this interpretation. By the 5th century, however, the Saxons had settled in Britain and Gaul as well as northwestern Germany. Fierce warriors, they conquered the Bructuari and controlled much of northwest Germany before 700. During the 6th and 7th centuries various Saxon groups fought against the Merovingians, a Frankish dynasty. In 772, Charlemagne embarked on a campaign to conquer the Saxon people and convert them to Christianity, warring with them almost annually for 32 years. The Saxons, under the leadership of Widukind, proved stubborn, but Charlemagne ultimately triumphed through the use of mass deportations, executions, and generous rewards to those who cooperated with the Frankish conquest. This extended conflict instilled in the Saxons a dislike for the Franks that survived for centuries.
School Street- School Street was once the location of an early school in Dunstable.
Scotia Way-This street was likely named for Scotland, Terre Scotia, the land of the Scots. Scotland is the northern part of the island of Great Britain and a constituent part of the United Kingdom. It extends 441 km (274 mi) from its border with England north to Duncansby Head. Scotland is washed by the Atlantic Ocean on the west and north and the North Sea on the east. Offshore are numerous islands, including the Inner and Outer Hebrides to the west and the Orkney Islands and Shetland Islands to the north.
Scott Avenue-Scott Avenue is located in the poet section of town. It is named for Sir Walter Scott, a Scottish poet and novelist. Sir Walter Scott achieved unprecedented popularity during his lifetime with his narrative poems and historical romances. He succeeded in re-creating periods of history through accurate description and skillful characterization and was among the first writers who stressed the relationship of characters to their environment. Although Scott's popularity as a novelist has declined since the 19th century, such classics as Ivanhoe and Waverley remain widely read, and he is regarded as an important figure in the development of the novel.
Scripture Street-This street is located in the religious district of Nashua. The Holy Scripture is an important part of Christianity and during mass, reading passages of it is part of the Liturgy of the Word.
Searles Road- Searles Road was named for a Mayor of Nashua(1866-67) The Searles family was prominent in Nashua, and this road once led to their property.
Seminole Drive The Seminole are a tribe of North American Indians who left their traditional homeland in Georgia after separating from the Creek during the 18th century to live independently in Florida. Their Hitchiti language is in the Muskogean branch of the Hokan-Siouan linguistic stock. Many escaped black slaves took refuge with the Seminole, whose culture was typically Creek. They farmed, hunted, and fished, and observed the summer green corn dance. They are in a section of Nashua with Indian tribe names.
Seneca Drive The Seneca, an Iroquoian-speaking North American Indian tribe of the original Five Nations Iroquois League, traditionally occupied a territory between the Genesee River and Seneca Lake in what is now New York State. Guardians of the strategic Western Door of the longhouse that symbolized the Great League, they were reputed to be among the most respected and feared North American Indian tribes. Eight Seneca sachems were represented on the League's Grand Council. During the American Revolution, the Seneca sided with the British. Famous Seneca political figures included Cornplanter, Red Jacket, and the warrior-turned-prophet, Handsome Lake. Seneca Drive is located with other Native American streets.
Sequoia Circle Sequoia Circle is located in the tree street district of Nashua. Once widespread in the Northern Hemisphere, the approximately 40 species of redwoods have dwindled to only 3: two in California and one in China. The redwoods, also called sequoias, are members of the family Taxodiaceae, which is variously called the redwood, bald-cypress, or swamp-cypress family.
Shakespeare Road-Shakespeare Road is located in the poet district of Nashua.
Shattuck Street- Jebediah Shattuck, for whom Shattuck Street was named, served as a Representative to General Court in 1834.
Shawmut Avenue-Shawmut was the Algonquin name used to describe the area of present-day Boston, which inspired the developer to choose this name.
Shawn Avenue This street was named for a relative of the neighborhood's developer.
Shawnee Drive The Shawnee ("southerners") are a North American Indian tribe of the Algonquian-Wakashan linguistic stock who had moved from the upper Ohio valley to territory around the Cumberland River in present-day Kentucky and Tennessee by the mid-17th century. At that time they numbered an estimated 1,500. Their five divisions moved frequently. The Hathawekela, for example, lived on the Savannah River in 1675; in 1700 they were in Pennsylvania; in the 1730s they lived among the Upper Creek. The Piqua moved into Pennsylvania and Illinois, and with Wyandot permission they settled (1730) north of the Ohio River.
Shedds Avenue This street was named for former Mayor of Nashua, Albert Shedd, who served from 1907 to 1910.
Sheffield Road Sheffield, England, UK. Was the inspiration for this street name. Other streets in this area are named for British towns and cities. Sheffield, the largest city in South Yorkshire, England, with a population of 500,500 (1991), lies about 225 km (140 mi) northwest of London. Industries include the manufacturing of steel, brass, chemicals, paints, and food processing. The city has a university (1905) and a 12th-century church and castle. Sheffield was established by the early 12th century. Since at least the 14th century, it has been noted for its cutlery industry. Smiths and cutlers used the local gritstone for grinding, first in water-powered and later in steam-powered mills. In 1742, Thomas Boulsover invented Sheffield plate, a method for fusing silver on copper. After Henry Bessemer developed his steel-making process there in 1856, and after the arrival of the railroad in 1876, the city became a center for heavy industry.
Sheridan Street This street was named for General Phillip Henry Sheridan, a General of Union forces in the Civil War. When the Civil War began, Sheridan served as federal quartermaster in southwestern Missouri and participated in the advance by Henry Halleck on Corinth, Miss., in the spring of 1862. As a division commander he held his position against Confederate attacks at Perryville, Ky. (October 1862), and at Stones River, Tenn. (December 1862-January 1863). He was unable to maintain his lines at Chickamauga in September 1863 but redeemed himself in November by storming Missionary Ridge at Chattanooga (see Chattanooga, Battles of), where his combativeness and leadership qualities attracted the favorable attention of U.S. Gen. Ulysses S. Grant.
Sherman Street General William T. Sherman was a General of Union forces in the Civil War and this street is with other Civil War-inspired names. At the start of the Civil War the fiery-tempered Sherman rejoined the army as a colonel and commanded a brigade at the First Battle of Bull Run (July 1861). In September he headed a military department at Louisville, Ky., where he clashed with newspaper correspondents over the need to maintain military secrecy. His quarrels with the press, combined with his pessimistic assessment of the number of troops needed, led to rumors that he was insane and his temporary suspension.
Sherwood Drive This street was named for Sherwood Forest, and is located near other streets in the Robin Hood legends.
Shetland Road Shetland Road was named for the Shetland pony. Although the smallest breed of pony, the Shetland pony has greater strength for its size than any other member of the horse family. It originated in the Shetland Islands off of northern Scotland, where it thrived in bitter weather with only salt-marsh grasses, seaweed, and rough heather to eat. It may be only 6.5 hands (66 cm/26 in) tall and is limited to 11.5 hands (1.17 m/46 in) by the American Shetland Pony Club. It also may be any color and has a small head and ears and a thick mane and tail. The Shetland can easily carry a full-size adult and is an ideal harness pony.
Shore Drive Road Shore Drive Road was named for its location. It runs along the shore of the Nashua River and thus, this view inspired the developer to name it Shore Drive Road.
Short Avenue The name for Short Avenue was named for its relative length to Long Avenue, which intersects it.
Silver Drive- Silver Drive was named for the element silver (AG). Silver is a heavy metallic element with a brilliant white luster. The chemical symbol for silver, Ag, derives from its Latin name, argentum, meaning "white and shining"--an apt description. The metal has been used as currency since ancient times, both in the mass (bullion) and in the form of coins. Silver shares Group IB of the periodic table with gold and copper. Silver, gold, platinum, and mercury are together categorized as noble metals because they do not oxidize readily when heated, nor do they dissolve in most of the inorganic acids. Because of silver's value it is also categorized as a precious metal, as are gold, platinum, iridium, and palladium.
Silverton Drive-This street is named after a town in the western United States. Silverton (1990 pop., 716), the seat of San Juan County in southwestern Colorado, is a 19th-century silver-mining town that today maintains itself by tourism. Located at an altitude of 2,836 m (9,305 ft), it is surrounded by the San Juan National Forest. Originally named Baker's Park, the settlement changed its name after the discovery of silver in 1871. Between 1882 and 1918 the Las Animas district mines produced some $65-million worth of silver ore. The local economy got a big boost with the arrival of Denver and Rio Grande Railroad in 1882.
Sioux Drive/Avenue This is a street located in the American Indian themed section of Nashua. The Sioux are a group of North American Indian tribes of the Great Plains area. Their Siouan language is spoken in various dialects by tribes across the United States. The three main Sioux groups are the Lakota to the west, the Dakota to the east, and the Nakota between them. Each group is composed of several bands. The Lakota, or Teton Sioux, include the Oglala, Brule, Hunkpapa, Minneconjou, Itazipcho, Oohenonpa, and Sihasapa (Blackfeet). Together, the Sioux numbered about 30,000 in the mid-18th century. They were outstanding warriors, fighting not only hostile tribes but also white intruders and the army troops that protected them. To the Sioux, fighting was in many ways a game based on valor and bravery; they might simply touch an adversary, representing a kill, and let him live. Prestige was won through deeds, which were validated by a recital of the facts, because truthfulness was a paramount virtue. Sioux culture is characterized by mobility on horseback, a buffalo economy, vision quests, soldier societies, and the Sun dance. Religion stresses an omnipotent supernatural power (wakan) and the sacredness of the peace pipe, or calumet.
Sirelle Court-Sirelle Court was named after a relative of this neighborhood's developer.
Skyview/Skyline/Sky Meadow Drive-These two streets are part of the Sky Meadow development and were named by the developer to commemorate this important project.
Snow Circle- Snow Circle, located near Glacier Drive is named for the snow that comes in the winter. New Hampshire is known for its skiing and winter activities.
Tacoma Circle: Tacoma Circle was named after the city of Tacoma, Washington. Developers named some streets in the area of Westgate after cities in the West. Tacoma has many attractions like the Bridge of Glass. There is also a glass museum. Tacoma is known as a tourist attraction while on the way to Seattle.
Taft Street: This street is named after President William Howard Taft who came to Nashua in March of 1912. He came to Nashua to lay the cornerstone of the YMCA building on Temple Street. His accomplishments as President included busting more trusts even than Theodore Roosevelt. He was served as vice president, secretary of war, and as a federal circuit judge. He passed amendments 16, which instated the income tax, and amendment 17, the election of senators, in 1913. One last fact is that he was once stuck in a bath tub because of his rotund size.
Taggart Drive: Taggart Drive is named after David Arthur Taggart (1858-1922). He was elected to the New Hampshire State House of Representatives in 1883, where he chaired the Committee of Elections. He was elected President of the State Senate in 1889, and served as acting Governor. After losing the election for the House of Representative he went back to being a lawyer in Manchester.
Tall Pine Circle: Tall Pine Circle is probably named by a developer. The name is describing a tall pine tree which is native to this area. True pine trees bear their needles in bundles called fascicles. Their seeds are produced on the bracts of cones that hang from the trees.
Tampa Street: This street is named after the city of Tampa in Florida. The entire area surrounding the street has streets that are also named after cities in Florida. Tampa is a city full of successful businesses and such restaurants such as Hooters and Outback Steakhouse, which were founded in Tampa.
Tamworth Place: Tamworth Place is named after the town in England, incorporated in 1766. Tamworth, England gets its name from the River Tame, which flows through the town. Located in the county of Staffordshire, England, Tamworth includes many historic sites, such as the Tamworth Castle. Tamworth Place, in Nashua, is located near other famous places of England such as Suffolk and Grasmere.
Tara Boulevard: Tara Boulevard is named after the city of Tara, in Ireland. Tara used to be the seat of the high kings in ancient times. A statue of St. Patrick is supposed to mark the location of the Lia Fail, the Coronation Stone of the high kings.
Taylor Street: Taylor Street is named after Timothy Taylor, who was called the pioneer of the North side. He was licensed in 1801 and built a tavern named Indian Head Coffee House. It was named after the area, which used to be Indian Territory. Later the tavern was sold.
Teak Drive: Teak Drive is named after the type of wood. Teak is a tall, deciduous tree of the verbena family. The tree can grow to a height of 100 feet and is native to India and the Malay Archipelago. Because of its durability and strength, teakwood is used throughout the world as lumber for shipbuilding and outdoor furniture. Teak was probably used in Portsmouth on ships.
Temple Place: Temple Place is named after John Temple who was lieutenant governor of New Hampshire under John Wentworth in 1766. Temple was son-in-law to James Bowdoin, for whom Bowdoin College is named. The Temple Community of NH was also named in honor of John Temple and is located in the same county as Nashua.
Spring Street: Spring Street, previously named, Olive Street, was named after the season of the year, Spring. Summer Street is another street in Nashua with a name from a season of the year. Spring Street has been home to many important parts of Nashua. A “lock shop” was built on this street in 1860 and there was also a high school on the street in the 1870s.
Tempo Drive: Tempo Drive is named after the word tempo probably by a developer for aesthetic properties. Tempo could mean the speed at which music is played or the rhythm of an activity or pace. The developer probably intended the latter.
Terry Street: Terry Street is named after Alfred Howe Terry. He led men from NH into the civil war. Terry served under Custer and helped control Indians in the west. He even became general after he made Sitting Bull surrender.
Thayer Street: Thayer Street is named after Andrews E. Thayer. He bought the Constellation and Nashua Advertiser newspaper and was a bookstore owner that had the first circulating library. His efforts at journalism failed on political shoals. He sold the paper in 1832 after he renamed it the Nashua Gazette and Hillsborough County Advertiser.
Thorndike Street- Thorndike was the name of an American educational psychologist noted for his study of animal intelligence and his methods of measuring intelligence.
Timberline Drive- The former owner of the land referred to as Timberline created the name due to inspiration from certain unknown sources at the time.
Tinker Road- Tinker Road credits a mark of distinction to the man named Jonathan Tyng who later called himself John "Tinker" in the transaction in which he sold Wicassee which legally belonged to Wannalancet.
Tolles Street- Tolles Street was named after the Nashua mayor James H. Tolles, who served in office from 1886 to 1888.
Topaz Drive- Topaz Drive is among other streets in Nashua that are named after gems. Topaz is a common gemstone that has been used for centuries in jewelry. Its golden brown to yellow color is classic but is confused with the less valuable citrine, which is sold under the name topaz. The blue topaz that is often confused with aquamarine is rare and is produced by irradiating and then heating clear crystals. Topaz is the November Birthstone.
Townsend West- Joseph Wheeler is credited as Nashua's first settler. In 1673, twenty-six men who were residing in Nashua wrote to the Boston General Court and asked for a town charter. A charter is an official document which allowed a settlement to become a town. In order to get the charter, the settlers had to promise that the land would be cleared, a church would be built, and other tasks would be completed. The new town was very large; its area totaled about 200 square miles. Dunstable and Tynsborough, Massachusetts as well as Nashua, Hudson, Litchfield, Milford, Hollis, Pelham and some parts of Merrimack, New Hampshire were included. Dracut and Townsend, Massachusetts were also incorporated. This town was eventually broken down into smaller towns. Currently, the town of Townsend, Massachusetts lies to Nashua's left.
Trestle Brook Drive- A granite trestle that once rested near a brook named Trestle Brook was the inspiration for the artistically gratifying name of Trestle Brook Drive. Tufts Drive- Tuft Drive lies amid several of the other streets in Nashua named after renowned Universities. Founded in 1852, Tufts University is recognized as among the premier universities in the United States. Tufts boasts of a global reputation for academic excellence and for the preparation of students as leaders in a wide range of professions. Recognized by the Carnegie Foundation as a "Doctoral/Research Extensive" institution based on the breadth of basic and clinical research conducted, Tufts has extensive and highly regarded liberal arts, sciences and engineering programs that draw outstanding students from around the world with the highest academic achievements and standing.
Unicorn Way- "You must become wise in the way of the unicorn." This quote accurately portrays the essence of the unicorn and the eloquence that the name entails.
University Drive- University Drive is located in the heart of the numerous University streets.
Van Buren Street: Van Buren St. is named for President Martin Van Buren (December 5, 1782 – July 25, 1862), the eighth President of the United States (served 1837 to 1841). Van Buren is considered to be one of the chief forces behind the formalization of a platform for the Democratic Party. He was also President Andrew Jackson’s Secretary of State in his first term and Vice President in his second. Appropriately, Jackson St and Van Buren St are immediately next to each other.
Venus Lane- Venus Lane lies near other streets named after different planets in the solar system. Fair but inhospitable Venus, a "Sister" planet to the Earth, is very different from earth and does not have any moons or rings. In Greek mythology, Venus is named for
Aphrodite, the goddess of love and beauty. Many other features on the surface of Venus are also named for female figures. The planet was named Venus because it was the brightest of the planets known to the ancients.
Vermont Avenue- Another Street named after a state is Vermont Avenue. In 1535, French explorer Jacques Cartier was the first European to observe what is now Vermont. In 1791, Vermont became the 14th state to enter the union.
Vine Street- The title of Vine Street is linked to the other tree streets that include Pine Street, Palm Street, and Chestnut Street. Vine Street, named in 1850, was mainly titled in order to be aesthetically pleasing to urbanites.
Virginia Drive- Virginia Drive was named after the state of Virginia, which was a prominent place for the development of our country. The Virginia Company of London sent colonists in May 1607 to establish a settlement on the southern Atlantic coast of North America. The river they sailed down is known today as the James River. The colonists built a fort, which they named James Fort.
Walnut Street- Walnut Street is famous for the walnut trees which inhibit the area surrounding the street.
Warsaw Avenue- Warsaw Avenue, situated in the region of Nashua where the names of the streets replicate European cities, is an acknowledgment of the capital of Poland known as Warsaw.
Wason Ave: Wason Ave was named for the Wason family that lived in New Hampshire as early as 1711. The Honorable Edward Hills Wason (September 2, 1865- February 6, 1941) was a prominent member in Nashua and eventually statewide politics. Mr. Wason was a lawyer, but later, he held such public positions as President of the Nashua Board of Education, city solicitor, solicitor of the county, Sergeant-at-arms of the State Sentate, assistant clerk and clerk of the State Senate, member of the State House of Representatives, Alderman of the City of Nashua, and United States Representative for the Second District. The street and neighborhood were largely developed after World War II.
Water Street- When the railroad was extended from Lowell to Nashua in 1838, Water Street became one of the most concentrated industrial districts in all of New England.
Wateredge Drive- True to its name, Wateredge Drive is situated along the edge of the Nashua River. Residents living on the street have a clear view of the water.
Waterview Trail: Waterview Trail is part of Jensen’s Trailer Park, located in the western end of the city. It was named because it is a narrow road in the park and runs parallel to the Nashua River.
Watson St: Watson St was named after one of two city officials during the late 1800’s. Elijah L. Watson was a member of the Common Council in the 1870’s, while James F. Watson was an alderman during the 1880s.
Waverly St: Waverly St may be named for one of several towns in the United States. There are ten towns by that name in the United States, all the way from the east coast to the west (Colorado region.) One of the more famous of such towns is Waverly, Iowa, home to Wartburg College, founded in 1852. There is also a Waverly Village which is part of Belmont, Massachusetts, which was settled in 1636.
Wayne Dr: Wayne Dr may be named for one of ten cities in the United States. The cities are located near Maine and as far away as Oklahoma. Which of these towns it might be is unclear. Another possibility is that it may be named for the famous actor John Wayne (1907 to 1979). As a third possibility, it seems to be located among a group of streets named using first names. Wayne comes from the Old English word for, “wagon.”
Webster St: Webster St. was named for the great statesman Daniel Webster (January 18, 1782-October 24, 1852). In addition to his many political accomplishments, Webster had many private business ventures, one of which involved Nashua. He was one of the original shareholders of the Nashua Manufacturing Company and although he never paid for the sixty shares he requested, his support gave the company an initial boost that contributed to its success.
Weld St: Weld St. was named for Reverend Thomas Weld, the first minister of the Church of Dunstable. His tombstone remains in Nashua, and on it appear the words “probably massacred by Indians while defending the settlement,” although there were no recorded raids in 1702, the year of his death. His wife, Elizabeth, was the first person buried in the Old South Burying Yard, the site of the church’s second meeting house.
Wellesley Rd: Wellesley Rd is named for the town of Wellesley, Massachusetts, which was incorporated in 1881. The town is named for Sir Arthur Wellesley, the legendary Duke of Wellington (see Wellington St.).
Wellington St: Wellington St was named for the town of Wellington, located in Somerset County in England. The Duke of Wellington, who took his title from the town’s name, was a prominent member of society. The town is the first of more than 30 towns of the same name around the world, four of which are in the United Kingdom. The Duke of Wellington is best known for his defeat of Napoleon Bonaparte at Waterloo in 1815, which ended the French Emperor’s conquest of Europe. To honor his victory, a 175-foot monument was constructed in the town.
Wellman Ave: Wellman Ave was named for Samuel K. Wellman, a city official. Mr. Wellman was involved in city government as early as 1857 and served as a member of the Common Council. He continued to hold various city offices for several years.
Wentworth St: Wentworth St. was named for Governor Benning Wentworth (1696 – 1770), the first Royal Governor of the New Hampshire Colony before the Revolutionary War. Governor Wentworth was responsible for chartering Dunstable, New Hampshire five years after the border was solidified between Massachusetts and New Hampshire. His father, John Wentworth (1671 – 1730), was Lieutenant Governor of Massachusetts and he controlled Dunstable and much of southern New Hampshire, for four years. Benning’s nephew, John Wentworth II (1737 – 1820), succeeded him as the second and last Royal Governor of the Colony of New Hampshire
Westbrook Dr: Westbrook Dr. is named for Westbrook, Connecticut, Westbrook, Maine, or Westbrook College(in Maine). Westbrook, Connecticut was founded in 1648 and is a town located in Middlesex County, Connecticut. As of the 2000 census, the town had a total population of 6,292. Westbrook, Maine, was once part of Falmouth, and the origins of the settlement date back to 1632. Its manufactures include shoes and paper and wood products. An industrial park (opened in 1969) is in Westbrook. Westbrook College is not in the town of Westbrook, but is located in Portland. The college was founded in 1831 as a women’s two-year college.
Westchester Dr: Westchester Dr. was named for the town of Westchester County, New York, or Westchester, Connecticut. Westchester County in New York was one of the first ten counties established on November 1, 1683 in the New York colony and today, a section of New York City has that same name.
Westerdale Drive: Westerdale Drive is named for one of two towns, Westerdale of North Yorkshire in England, or Westerdale of Caithness in Scotland. Very little can be found regarding the founding of these towns, though both are known to be very old and were undoubtedly where many of the settlers lived before coming to Nashua. Westerdale, North Yorkshire, England is known to be an area once controlled by the Knights Templar and the name dates back almost 1000 years.
Westfield St: Westfield St. is named for several towns including three Westfields in England, one in Scotland, and another in the state of Massachusetts that are all likely old enough. Westfield, Massachusetts was named because it was the westernmost town in the Massachusetts colony for 56 years. The four towns in the United Kingdom are all several hundred years old.
Westhill Dr: Westhill Dr. was named for an old Scottish settlement located southeast of Inverness, in the Inverness-shire. Westhill is located to the Southeast of Inverness and southwest of the Culloden Battlefield, the sight of a 1746 battle between the Scottish clansmen from the surrounding highlands and British soldiers under the command of the Duke of Cumberland. The battle ended with a crushing defeat of the Scottish, and was the last battle fought on the soil of the British mainland.
West Hollis St: West Hollis St is named because it leads to the neighboring town of Hollis and is west of Main Street. This western section of the road was made in 1797, but East Hollis St (which lies directly across Main St) was not made until several years later. West Hollis St. is also known as the large majority of US Rte. 111, and leads all the way through Hollis down into Pepperell, Massachusetts.
Westminster Dr: Westminster Dr. is named for Westminster, the central borough of London, England. Westminster is the location of the famous Westminster Abbey, the royal palace, the houses of parliament, Westminster Cathedral, and several other buildings of the British Government. The Abbey is the sight of the coronations of all monarchs since William the Conqueror, and many of them are buried in the chapel. Big Ben, the famous clock, is in the Westminster Tower. There is another Scottish settlement by name of Westhill, near Aberdeen, but it is a new city, founded within the last 50 years.
Westpoint Terrace: The origins of the name of Westpoint Terrace are unclear. It appears to be a part of Jensen’s Trailer Park. The name does not likely have any relation to the famous military academy, and is not even the westernmost point of the city (it is, in fact, on the east side of West Hollis St).
Westwood Dr: Westwood Dr. is probably named for one of the many cities in the United States of that name. Westwood, New Jersey, is one of the older of these cities, incorporated in 1894. Westwood was also the original name of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. There is also a Westwood College, with campuses in several major cities across the United States.
Wethersfield Rd: Wethersfield Rd is named for various towns, including Wethersfield in Essex in the county of Braintree, England. It is an older village and the original home of some American colonists, for which the American towns in Massachusetts and Connecticut are probably named. In more recent times, Wethersfield has become the location of an RAF base, which was also used by the United States Army Air Corps during World War II. The base was established largely for that purpose, in 1944.
Weymouth Dr: Weymouth Dr. is named for the English town of Weymouth, England, which is an old harbor town on the English Channel. Many ships bound for New England began their voyages from Weymouth and it was also the original hometown of Mr. Jonathan Lovewell, an upstanding citizen and military leader of Nashua. The town of Weymouth, Massachusetts is the second oldest settlement in Massachusetts, but was also named for the English town itself.
Wheaton Dr: It is probable that Wheaton Dr is named for the town of Wheaton, Illinois, established in 1838 by Erastus Gary and Jesse and Warren Wheaton. The town’s name came from the railroad companies, who named the railroad depot in honor of the Wheaton brothers. It may be named for Wheaton College in Massachusetts, which was founded in 1834.
Whipple St: Whipple St. is named for George Whipple, a superintendent of the mills of the Nashua Manufacturing Company. Whipple received the promotion to Vice President of Manufacturing in 1936. Whipple St. is a new street, and was originally listed in the Nashua phone directory as being a vacant street until residents decided to settle there.
White Plains Dr: White Plains Dr was named for a city in New York that was a colonial city and a battlefield of the Revolutionary War. The city has some light industries and serves as the headquarters for several corporations and laboratories. The state convention that ratified the Declaration of Independence met (1776) in White Plains. The battle of White Plains (1776), a principal engagement of the American Revolution, followed Gen. George Washington's retreat from New York City. Washington briefly made his headquarters (1738) in White Plains at the Elijah Miller House, which still stands. Other buildings from the Revolutionary period are also preserved. The city is the site of a cultural county center, a branch of Pace Univ., and the New York School for the Deaf.
White Ave: White Ave is possibly named for one of two city officials. William White was the city’s treasurer in 1854 and 1855. George L. White began as a member of the Common Council in 1857 and held a few other positions in the city government.
Whitegate Dr: Whitegate Dr. is probably named for the town of Whitegate, England, which is in located in Cheshire County. Its history dates back several centuries. Whitegate had an active Methodist Church a few years before John Wesley’s death.
Whitford Rd: Whitford Rd was named for the English or Welsh towns, both of which are old villages, known for their history. Whitford Road might also be named for Eliott Whitford, who held the position of city assessor in 1859 and 1861 and Alderman from 1872 to 1873.
Whitney St: Whitney St was named for George H. Whitney, the fifteenth mayor of the city of Nashua. He began as a partner of Gage, Warner, and Whitney Machinists before moving on to politics. His son, George F. Whitney, was also a successful businessman and was involved in city government. Charles H. Whitney also served as city engineer for several years.
Wilder St: Wilder St is probably named for the town of Wilder, New Hampshire, located in Hillsborough County about 15 miles west of Nashua, or for Wilder, Vermont, located on the Connecticut River, and an old mill town like Nashua. Wilder is the sight of the Wilder Dam, a large hydroelectric dam that was opened in 1950.
Wildwood Lane: Wildwood Lane is located among several other streets with similarly nature-related names, such as Forest Park Dr, Fairlane Ave, and Knollwood Ave, and it may be that it is named simply for wild woods. Another possibility is that it is named for one of the ten communities by that name in the United States.
Will St: Will St is located near Yvonne St, Daniels St, and George St. It is possible that these four streets are simply from first names. The name “Will” is derived from a rather common English word.
Williams Court/Street: Both Williams Ct. and Williams St. were probably named for brothers Seth and Charles Whitney, co-founders of the Nashua Iron Foundry. Charles was also a mayor of the city from 1866 to 1867. He continued to manage the company during his term and afterwards until the time of his death, after which the company failed and was closed.
Willow St: Willow St is one of a series of streets on the western side of Main Street that are named for trees. The willow tree is known for long drooping branches, giving it the nickname the “weeping” willow. The flowers of the tree are generally rather small and round.
Wilmington Rd: Wilmington Rd is named for one of several towns. There are four towns in England and another in Massachusetts with the name of Wilmington. One of the wider known attractions of East Sussox County in England is a large drawing of man, which is located on one of that Wilmington’s hills. This is the second-largest drawing of man ever found, and its origins are unknown. Wilmington, Massachusetts was incorporated as a town in 1730.
Wilson St: Wilson St. is named for President T. Woodrow Wilson, the 28th President of the United States. President Wilson was born in December 1856 and died in February 1924, serving as President from 1913 to 1921. His leadership during World War I kept the country out of European affairs until the United States was directly threatened. Wilson was reelected in 1912 because Republican voters split between William H. Taft and Progressive Party Head Theodore Roosevelt. Wilson worked for a fair peace at the conclusion of the war, and the League of Nations, precursor to the United Nations, was largely his idea. His Fourteen Point plan became famous, even though most of the terms were not accepted by all nations.
Wilton St: Wilton St is named for the nearby town of Wilton, New Hampshire or for Wilton, England. Wilton, England is a centuries-old town known largely for the manufacture of rugs. It was also the sight of a battle between King Alfred the Saxon and the Danish. Wilton, New Hamsphire is located near the famous Stonehenge and was incorporated in 1762. The New Hampshire town was named for the English town or for Sir Joseph Wilton, a friend of Benning Wentworth, the former royal governor.
Winchester St: Winchester St. was named for the city of Winchester, England and a Massachusetts town. Winchester is a very ancient English town, dating back more than 700 years and served as the capital city for many years. The city, which was the location of Arthur’s legendary Round Table is also famous for Winchester College, the oldest continuously running college in England.
Windemere Way: Windemere Way is named for the town of Windemere, England, the home of the Beatrix Potter Museum, which honors the author of the “Tale of Peter Rabbit,” “The Tale of Benjamin Bunny,” and several other children’s stories. An alternative spelling is Windermere. The town is located next to the rather larger Windermere Lake.
Winding Lane: Winding Lane seems to be named simply because some may consider it to be a rather narrow, winding road. Ironically, it only has one curve, but this should not necessarily be surprising, as it is a short street that is part of a trailer park.
Windsor St: Windsor St is named for the British Monarchy. Windsor, a town located 22 miles west of London was the site of the large Windsor Castle, one of the residences of the royal family. After the site was chosen, construction began almost 1000 years ago, during the reign of William the Conqueror. The British royal family also took the name of Windsor during the reign of George V due to anti-German feelings during World War I and the family’s German last name.
Winn Rd: Winn Rd is named for the Winn family of Nashua whose prominence has gained them fame throughout the community. Cecelia Winn was an active member of the Democratic Party in the 1960s and 1970s, and a member of the New Hampshire delegation to the Democratic National Convention in 1972.
Winter St: Winter St is thought to simply be named for the season of the year. There are also Spring St. and a Summer Street, but there is no Autumn or Fall St in the city.
Wood St: Wood St. was named as part of the tree street district or for one of two city officials. Theodore H. Wood was a member of the Common Council, and Stephen A. Wood held the post of City Messenger for five consecutive years.
Woodbury Dr: Woodbury Dr is probably named for Levi Woodbury (1789 – 1851), a governor of New Hampshire from 1823 to 1824. Mr. Woodbury was also a member of the United States Senate, Secretary of the Navy under President Jackson, Secretary of the Treasury under both Jackson and Van Buren, and an associate justice of the United States Supreme Court.
Woodcrest Dr: Woodcrest Dr is likely named for one of several towns with that name in the United States. Given the history of the development of the United States, it is likely that the first of these towns was either located in Pennsylvania, Maryland, or New Jersey.
Woodfield St: Woodfield Street is located off of Searles Road. It is probably named after town in England or one of two towns in the United States.
Woodgate St: Woodgate St is probably named for one of several communities in England by that name. It may also be named after a precious ‘wood’ that is located in this area.
Woodland Dr: Woodland Dr. is probably named for one of several towns by that name in England. Woodland, England, located in Kent, is near the Canterbury Cathedral and two castles
Woodville St: Woodville St may be named after Woodville, Massachusetts, or one of the many other towns by that name in the United States. There is also a town by the same name in England and one in Scotland. Also, the Queen of Edward IV of England was Elizabeth Woodville.
Woodward Ave: Woodward Ave was named for Mr. Isaac Woodward and his son Leon. Isaac was one of the co-owners of the rather well-known Woodward and Cory Harness company while Leon was founder and owner of the then well-known Woodward’s Candy and Ice Cream Shop, which remained in business from 1906 to 1948.
Worcester St: Worcester St. is named for the city of Worcester, Massachusetts or the city of Worcester, England. Worcester, Massachusetts is the second largest city in the state, and was first settled in 1673. Worcester, England, is the capital of Worcestershire, and was founded in 50 A.D. by the Romans, and has had a very long, rough history, after surviving the worst of the Middle Ages.
Wright Rd: Wright Rd could be named for one of many people. There was a Nashua Alderman by the name of Samuel F. Wright, who served 1860 – 1861. It could also be named for the famous architect, Frank Lloyd Wright. Another possibility is that it may be named after Wilbur and Orville Wright, the inventors of the revolutionary airplane.
Yvonne St: Yvonne St is one of four streets off of West Hollis Street, which seem to be named for first names. The name Yvonne is the feminine form of a name derived from the Germanic word for ‘yew.’ Fittingly, Yvonne is relatively close to the tree streets.
Zellwood St: Zellwood St is most likely named for the community of Zellwood, Florida. Zellwood is a small town, 20 miles from Orlando. The majority of people in the town are older and close to or at retirement age. The town is only four square miles in area!
|Research on this project has been conducted by the following:
Christopher Anderson, Stephen Charbonneau, Nicholas Cote, Joseph Gustitus, Elizabeth Laws, Jonathan Mayer, Ben Mello, Elizabeth Mishkin, Sean O’Neil, Kristen Rahilly, Renee Reder, Kyle Richardson, Juliana Ross, Tyler Seymour, Laurel Warner, John Wendel, Molly Wild
Special credit goes to:
Renee Reder- Editor
Stephen Charbonneau- Format
Nicholas Cote- Artistic Design
Elizabeth Laws- Artistic Design
Libby Mishkin and Juliana Ross- Photos and design
Ben Mello- Data assembly, stress factor.